We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely large air conditioned apartment close to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Viareggio, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Explore25...
1 review
“Lovely large air conditioned apartment close to all amenities”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We are happy to recommend this lovely apartment. Massimo and Antonella, who are very charming, helpful people met us at the apartment and explained how everything worked and gave us a booklet of very useful information for our stay in Viareggio. The apartment was very clean and well fitted out with everything you could need. It is very centrally located for the railway station, supermarkets, pretty wooded walks, restaurants and the beach . We look forward to returning in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Ringraziamo Joanna e Brian per la loro gentilezza, siamo contenti che si siano trovati bene nella nostra casa a Viareggio e gli aspettiamo ancora a Viareggio per una bella vacanza. Siamo molto felici di leggere queste belle parole e ricambiamo con gioia i bei complimenti. Ciao da Antonella e Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weeprice
Chillychucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The real Italy!”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Was met by the owner on arrival and we had everything we needed (I was slightly apprehensive as this was our first venture as a family to a rented apartment) Suitable for a married couple and 3 young children. Close to railway station if you plan day excursions (We went to Lucca, Pisa and Florence). Park and beach a short walk. We were thankful for air conditioning as it got quite hot. Supermarket, cafe and ice cream bar close by. Enjoyed our stay in the real Italy as opposed to a package deal resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2018
E' bello avere ospiti educati e piacevoli come la famiglia di Ollivier Zingraf. Spero di averli ancora come ospiti nel mio appartamento, sono contento che siano stati bene ed abbiano trascorso una bella vacanza a Viareggio. Un abbraccio ai vostri simpatici ed educati figli, un caro saluto e vi aspettiamo ancora Antonella e Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful host, comfortable apartment & super location. Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

.We had a wonderful 2 week holiday, Massimo was very helpful, meeting us earlier than arranged when our trip was quicker than expected. He went to extraordinary lengths to return a purse to Switzerland that we left behind. I look forward to dealing with him again. The next time in Viareggio we will definitely stay at the same apartment.

The open plan lounge kitchen area was spacious with plenty of seating. The air conditioner was a treat when coming back from the beach on hot days. On cooler days it was great to sit on one of the balconies and eat lunch or enjoy an evening drink.

The bedrooms had plenty of cupboards. Being a bit heavy at 100kg, I would have preferred a thicker mattress.

The parking space was big enough for the car and 4 bikes. The apartment was on the first floor, so we only used the elevator on the first and last day.

There was plenty of crockery and cutlery in a well equipped kitchen. There are many many restaurants in walking distance. Our best meal was at La Contea on Via Fratti..

Along the beachfront there is a long promenade, with plenty of shops and restaurants. Between the apartment and the harbour there is a market area and pedestrian zone with loads of restaurants as well.

Having a washing machine was very useful. There was soap supplied.

After a misunderstanding on another holiday I was worried about the walk to the beach, I need not have worried. The walk takes about 10 minutes, most of it through a beautiful shaded park. The park is big with many activities and restaurants.

We hired Bicycles from Burla in the park opposite the tennis club, very reasonable €32 for 2 weeks. We were all sorry to give the bikes back, they were so comfortable, and the area is very flat so we went everywhere on the bikes. The service was impeccable. We will definitely use him again.

The people at the tennis club were very friendly, we were able to hire a court at €20 per hour.

There are several supermarkets nearby, the biggest was about 5 minutes away on the bike.

In Viareggio most of the beaches are private, meaning you hire an umbrella and chairs. Rates vary according to the season and the operator. €250 got us an umbrella, 2 chairs and 2 loungers for the 2 weeks, the people at Gabriella's made us feel like family. We also had access to showers, a toilet, a shaded area with tables. We had some lovely meals at the tables. The sea is shallow and you can walked out 50+ meters without the water getting higher than chest height.

We traveled by train to Pisa (€7 each way, about 50 minutes) and Florence (€9.10 each way, about 1 hour 40 minutes) We had delicious street food served by a wonderful man, the chickpea pizza (Checci I think). A place called Pizza e Zozta near Church of San Matteo and National Museum. A block away from Borgo Stretto. 4 meals 2 cokes, 2 huge glasses of Chianti for €30.

There was no wifi, which turned out to be a blessing, We used portable wifi device €82 for the 2 weeks. Small portable device which we stuck in the backpack when touring. Meant we could access maps etc when in Florence and Pisa at no extra data charges, was very useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location, the host and the aircon
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks Craig for the excellent review, I thank you and I hope to have you again as a guest in Viareggio, Greet all your family and I wish you a fruitful summer Hello Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glorialat...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The apartment was spacious and had air conditioning in the living/dining/kitchen which was a blessing as the weather during our stay was very very hot. The bed was very comfortable .
Massimo was there to welcome us and show us where everything was.
There was a lot of traffic noise due to the location which was on the corner of roads and just opposite a bus stop, However this is only a problem when you are in the apartment.
The walk to the beach through the pine forest offered welcome shade.
Our days on the beach were spent at the Gabrielle which we highly recommend.
A visit to Lucca is a must. We went by train . The station is very convenient.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thanks Gloria and James has been a pleasure to have guests, thank you for the nice review will look even in Viareggio early Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela H
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
Ich danke Daniela und ihrem Mann für die Wahl der Toskana für ihre Sommerferien. Es war mir eine Ehre, nette und nette Leute kennenzulernen. Ich hoffe, ich habe noch Gäste für eine nette italienische Vacabnza. Grüße von Antonella und Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing