We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
1,107
405
102
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,107
405
102
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar across the road large swimming pool high ceilings waiter service a sea view room evening meal half board reception staff beautiful building the bus road noise deck chairs sea front wonderful hotel fantastic holiday thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

Superb week in this lovely resort. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and could not do enough to help us, both at reception and in the bar. High standard of cleaning and excellent breakfasts. Bikes freely available. Parking safe and secure. Room had stunning view over the sea and sunsets, nice balcony. Would have liked fresh pool towels every day but that is a minor issue. Overall would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear Guest,
thankyou for your feedback, we are honoured to have had you stay with us and would welcome the opportunity for your return.
Kind regards,
P.s
Just to clarify the point that
"Would have liked fresh pool towels every day but that is a minor issue" we do but sometime guest complain, please see that review:
Then, even I had out sign "do not disturb" because I don't need to change my towels every day, this wasn't accepted for all three days. When I came back to my room, sign was inside, bedlinen and towels were changed. I tried to be eco and save our environment.
So you see, we never win!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

Fabulous stay as always!! All the staff are so lovely and helpful!! Food was beautiful. Loved renting our bikes and riding along the gorgeous coastline with my family. So many great day trips to choose from as well!!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amygE6455DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear Amy,
thankyou very much, hope to see you again next year.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2022 via mobile

This Hotel was very grand and majestic - we were met by a Receptionist who very quickly booked us in and gave us our room key. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it wasn’t for the bathroom - small and cramped but the room was adequate with a very small balcony. There are suites so am assuming these are much bigger.
The food was lovely - a good choice every night - I do wonder why they have a buffet style starter followed by an actual starter, main course and dessert from the menu - obviously you don’t have to have all 4 courses but when one is on holiday …!
The gardens and pool were nice but quite noisy as the pool area backs onto a main road.
The staff were simply wonderful and professional but my special mention goes to Serena who we encountered at breakfast and saw throughout the day serving many guests - this lady is an absolute credit to the hotel - also the man behind the bar most evenings - again very helpful and obliging.
Would definitely return and would recommend to friends - its central to all the wonderful shops and restaurants so good location.

Room tip: This Hotel is located in the centre of Viareggio - the train station is a 15 minute walk and the beach 5 minutes
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyW503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2022

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback following your recent visit to the Royal. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay, and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed in this beautiful hotel looking on to the beach in Viareggio. The staff were really friendly,and the rooms were very nice. The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool as well as an area on the nearby beach.Breakfast was very good although the coffee was terrible. Woul definitely recommend this hotel

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gregory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2022

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand and Royal
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

Wonderful Hotel. 2nd time we've been there and no need to go to any other. Absolutely beautiful. Plenty of character and fine design. Built for people who enjoy fine class dining and luxury.Very Magnetic. Service in hotel was first class and so was the food. Beautiful beach was just across the road and designer shops we're everywhere. The only small gripe was with there being no Jet 2 rep available when you need one. They don't seem to do the tours that used to be possible and what they did was very expensive. You can catch the local bus or train for a lot cheaper.Apart from that l can't wait to return.x

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 156barbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marino Patruno, Agenzia/Consulente at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are very proud of our reputation of excellence and it is always pleasing to hear from guests who have enjoyed this so very much.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews