We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
917
356
88
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
356
88
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewacross the roadlarge swimming poolwaiter servicehigh ceilingswide corridorspool barevening mealold world charmplenty of sunbedshalf boardsalad buffetlovely hotelreception staffwonderful holidaydeck chairstea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had two weeks half board on a Thomsons holiday from which we returned on 7July. We found the Grand Hotel Royal an excellent hotel in a good location on the seafront. The room was clean and very comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities. We were a little disappointed with the view from the window as we overlooked the flat roof of the dining room from the first floor, but as we had booked online and hadn't been able to make any special requests on Thomsons website regarding a room preference, this is a chance you take as we did not want to pay a supplement for the sea view.

The food was excellent. For breakfast you have a choice of both continental and 'english' and the evening meal gave you a wide choice of starters, mains and dessert. We especially enjoyed the excellent fish dishes available each evening and the service was excellent. A special word of thanks to our waiter Vittorio who served us most evenings. For our first week we dined in the actual dining room and for our second we dined 'al fresco' under a canopy'd area adjoining the garden.

The hotel is located right on the seafront and you have the opportunity to use the dedicated beach facilities across the road. Two deckchairs and an umbrella are free but sunbeds are extra at 10 euros each. The hotel pool is very pleasant although there is not really a shallow end. We used the pool on three or four occasions and always got sunbeds in the area we wanted.

The hotel is reasonably close to both the bus station and railway stations. We travelled by train to both Lucca and Pisa and took a bus to Forte del Marmi, a nice but expensive resort along the coast as well as booked excursions to Florence and to Siena and San Gimigano. Another excursion we can recommend is to an area along the coast called the Cinque Terre, a trip that combines coach, railway, walking and a boat along the coast. An excellent day out.

Viareggio is a pleasant resort but there is not a lot of night life. The main activities that we found were along the seafront walk but there is no access in the evening to the beach. The seafront mainly consists of restaurants and very expensive designer shops. (take PLENTY of euros if your treating yourself to an outfit!)

A very pleasant holiday at an hotel that we would certainly return to.

Room Tip: Try and specify an upper floor room overlooking the garden pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LutonPhil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
P.s
Vittorio send his thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We only stayed one night on our way to Tuscany and loved it. The marble bathroom was opulent, loved the black and white decor with the red chairs. No need to leave the hotel, everything is there. We went to the bar for pre-dinner drinks, restaurant for a meal, the steak was cooked perfectly, buffet breakfast was good also. The reception staff and everywhere else, although they didn't speak much english were very helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best Wishes
P.s
English lessons next winter for all the Front Office staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked two weeks at the Grand Hotel Royal as a surprise for my husbands 80th birthday. we stayed there from 30th June until 14th July and thoroughly enjoyed it.The hotel is lovely with high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows with shutters and a really grand staircase leading from reception.The staff were friendly, helpful and polite and the food is plentiful and absolutely delicious.Dany the Citalia concierge is charming, helpful and very well informed about the local area and always happy to help. My husband and I agree this was our best holiday ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We always appreciate feedback as our customers’ comments are greatly valued.

We continually work hard to achieve high standards to provide an individual service to each and every guest. .

We are pleased you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We returned to the Grand Hotel Royal to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. OK it has seen better days maybe but it has so much charm and the staff are all so friendly. We had a side sea view room which was quite adequate, The bathroom was new.
As we we were there on a package with Citalia we were on half board. There is a comprehensive buffet breakfast which is served in the beautiful dining room, but our evening meal was served under a large canopy adjacent to the garden. With the candles lit it was a most romantic setting. The food was good with a fair choice which you selrct at breakfast time, if you so wish.. There is a good pool area and bar to relax in.
As mentioned in other reports evenings are quiet affairs but Viareggio is good flat strolling country.
We visited Pisa, Lucca and Pietrasanta using the local buses. I suppose Pisais a must but Lucca is beautiful and full of character. I wish we had had longer there and hired bikes and rideen along the old historic walls Pietasanta.is a pleasant little town with long connections to e marble quarrying. There is an excellent museum of statues made of plaster that were made as models for the final marble figures. We also hired bikes and to our surprise cycled to Forte dei Marmi and back. No great feat for cyclists but wewere quite pleased (There is a cycle lane all the way).
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanky-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal
The old (like the Hotel) General Manager would like to thanks for your positive comment and is very pleased you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We are just back from two weeks in the Grand Royal Viareggio. It may not be Grand but it is very spacious , clean, has a great pool, perfect for the beach, really nice staff, good food, great atmosphere. Slight down side Viareggio does not have a lot to offer at night. Perfect for a stroll after dinner but with no access to the waterfront and a lack of any nice bars or entertainment it does lend itself to a quiet evening. A ten minute walk to the bus station and a twenty to the train station means that getting out and about is very easy eg Pisa and Lucca. We did organise trips to Portofino, Cinque Terra and Siena as getting there is not so easy on your own. Bike hire is available at a reasonable charge and with the area being flat it is worthwhile getting out and about for a couple of hours. Try the wooded area behind the hotel. Nice and cool on a hot day and there is always something going on day and night. There is also a good supermarket through this wooded area on the next street rather than the one recommended in the town area. The pool area is a big bonus as shade is available any time of day, the bar is very pleasant for drinks/ snacks and Giuseppe will look after you.

Room Tip: Avoid lower garden-view rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie-Jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmiro58, General Manager at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, Giuseppe ask me to give his love to you
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews