We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but a few disappointments”
Review of Sina Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sina Astor
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
True Brit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but a few disappointments”
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Hotel very clean and staff generally helpful. However, there were one or two things that spoilt our holiday. First of all, It was bad enough that there was no outdoor pool or gardens, but the indoor pool certainly didn't make up for this as it was most uninviting. We also had to pay to use a pool at another hotel's beach facilities, and it was only by chance that we found out we could obtain a voucher which enabled us to use their chairs and umbrellas free. The shower fitting over our bath was half way along the bath and the screen was not adequate to stop the water going all over the floor. Our biggest complaint was regarding the food. For instance, one evening the menu said 'roast turkey - oven roasted'. Yes, this conjured up a beautifully carved turkey, but in fact turned out to be COLD wafer thin slices of turkey (like we would buy to put in sandwiches) with gravy. The view from our room and balcony was lovely, especially the fantastic sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunlotion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    232
    116
    31
    16
See reviews for
87
249
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Astor. If you're an American and never heard of Viareggio, you are missing a treat. It's a great beach town. You do have to get used to the idea that you pay to go to the beach, but it's really nice there.

The Astor is a very nice, modern hotel across from the beach. We got upgraded from a Superior room to a Suite, which gave us a huge terrace (every room has a balcony and I think all have some kind of ocean view) with chaise lounges and a panoramic view. I'd have to say that the hotel puts a bit more emphasis on appearance than the nuts and bolts. The air conditioner needed some extensive work when we arrived, and the showerhead sprayed water up and out of the shower until I wrapped a towel around the top of it. The pool and exercise room are not worth using.

Beyond that, I have nothing bad to say. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast was excellent and served in a beautiful, bright room. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The location was perfect. If the cost was 2/3 of what it was this would be a 5 star review.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Review below of Topkoppite pretty much sums it up perfectly. Booked direct with the hotel and they provided a cot in the room for our 20month old son. Room was very spacious with a balcony and was at side of hotel but still a great view of the seafront.
Used the pool on one day, water was cold but it did have toys and floats available. Didn't use the gym but it was small with 1 treadmill and a few other machines.
Breakfast was continental with cold meat, cheese, cereals and fruit which was ideal.
The hotel was just opposite the promonade and the beach. The hotel provided towels and a discount on one of the private beaches opposite for Euro15 for 2 chairs and an umberella for the day.
Behind the hotel is a small pine forest with childrens play areas, bike hire, a cafe and restaurant and makes a great alternative to the beach.
Staff were friendly and helpful, such as printing off train times and they had a high chair ready at breakfast.
Overall very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waveyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Whilst this hotel was good in terms of rooms, cleanliness and breakfast, the indoor pool was a bit like a council swimming baths - very uninspiring with a few rusty pipes and nowhere to relax. Certainly not 4 star.

I would recommend this hotel if you are not worried about swimming and happy to pay to use a beach club instead like we had to!

  • Liked — Housekeeping of rooms
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill1357Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
708 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We booked through Expedia. We choose the hotel because it was the only hotel we found in Viareggio that had its own pool. It is a four star hotel. There are a range of other hotels from 2 star. The Astor is a contemporary and spacious hotel with a roof terrace (small but with great views) and a bar. Best Western operates a 5 star hotel about 200 yards nearer the centre of town. The hotel is situated at the northern end of the promenade with a 20 minute walk to the station and 15 minutes to the bus interchange. The harbour is also 20 minutes away. According to the rates chart in reception our double room was 330 euros per night with breakfast at 20 euros each. We paid around £1500 and therefore enjoyed a discount of around a third. Our room was on the first floor with a sea-view balcony. The views are stunning each morning and at sunset. The room was clean, with what looked like new carpets. Beds are comfortable and linen is changed daily, towels twice a day and there is a ‘turndown’ service. There was a safe in the room and a mini-bar (expensive) but no courtesy facilities. There was a hairdryer. Bathroom had shower over the bath and plentiful complimentary toiletries. The front end staff weren't very forthcoming but efficient. The staff in the breakfast room were fine. The breakfast was continental (Rolls, Croissant, Meats, Cheeses, Fresh Fruit, Cereals, Cake, Juices and Hot Drinks) and you could order Cappucino and was very good. We didn’t try eating dinner in the hotel – the cost was a bit high and we prefer choosing a different venue every night. The pool and gym were a bit limited (Pool is 12 metre x 1.4 metre). Tiles around the pool very slippy. While we were there the pool was closed for 2 days for no apparent reason. We didn’t find the sauna and jaccuzzi. The hotel has two lifts.
A couple of downsides, there are no curtains to the rooms, instead an electrically operated blind which shuts out all the light, which when nearby guests operate in the morning are very audible. The walls must be a bit thin because we clearly heard our neighbour’s conversations, television and alarm calls. Our built in wardrobe was ‘back to back’ with the next room so when they shut a draw, our things fell off!
The hotel gives discount vouchers for 2 private beaches across the promenade. We weren’t entitled and had to pay a ‘discounted’ price of 29 euros for a day on 2 sunbeds. The Pool in the private beach was extra. The ‘beach’ was very clean and the café on the beach was reasonably priced. Be prepared for very regular visits from beach salesmen and several ladies who offer massage!

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbours
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
493 reviews
1.2 km away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 51 in Viareggio
331 reviews
0.4 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 51 in Viareggio
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Astor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Astor

Property: Sina Astor
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,125 - ₹ 31,347
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sina Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing