We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Wonderful Stay, Super Suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2008

-My wife and I spent 4 wonderful days at the Grand Hotel Majestic in late September 2007. The stay included dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent, as was the service.
-The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful especially Fabiana Acciaioli and Francesca Marcia. Any time we had a question about a restaurant, Esselunga, or any shop. The ladies brought out a map of the city and diagrammed the direct route. Both the resident manager Monica Cardoli and the front office manager Caterina Framba were most helpful and professional.
-Our room, actually a junior suite, was outstanding! A corner room on an upper floor. Two small balconies allowed our enjoying evening cocktails while enjoying the beautiful views.
-I am constantly amazed at reviews that complain about hotel rooms that are not like hotel rooms and facilities that visitors from other countries are used to. Yes, some Italian baths have no shower curtains or perhaps they are smaller than you're accustomed to. I don't see that as a problem. If the Italians have no problem with it, why should we?
-Parking was no problem at the hotel. Free parking is literally just outside the front door.
-We had a 5 star stay at the Grand Hotel Majestic, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvlbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2007

The quality of the hotel does not match the location which is stunning. My room was huge but faded. The shower attachment was fitted to the side of the bath and as there was no shower curtain or screen it couldn't be used as a shower. .
The mechanism to change the water outlet from shower to tap was broken so the only way to fill the bath was from the shower. A colleague staying on a different floor had exactly the same problem. The hair dryer was ancient. There was one small plastic bottle containing orange liquid called 'bath gel and shampoo'. I don't usually wash my hair with bath gel.
One of the curtain tie-back hooks had long since fallen out of the wall and the shutters on the balconies were either difficult or impossible to open.
I was relieved to learn that the hotel was due to close the following week for refurbishment but then told it did so every year!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank phoebeskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was categorically not a 4 star hotel and it makes one wonder how the star system works in Italy. Service was poor, particularly in the dining room although the front desk tried hard, A complaint to management met with the response “Well what do you want me to do about it? The rooms were not what I would expect from a 4 star with small bathrooms . The dining room is a great barn with absolutely zero in terms of ambience, the food was poor and the comparative room rate (330 Euros) was outrageous. If it were not for the position on the edge of Lake Maggiore it would rate 3 stars at best. This hotel is long past its use by date and is living on past glories, certainly not up to the mark.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tandems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

where to start? we booked the hotel for my mother's 60th birthday. we e-mailed the hotel in advance to inform them of the special occasion. For the prices they charge and the look of the website, we expected a week of luxury.
How wrong could we have been. We arrived with heavy bags after the exhausting drive from bergamo. Absolutely no door man or help on arrival. Our rooms were dark,small and a double room meant 2 single beds pushed together. The shower was a hose in the bath! For 200 euros we felt totaly cheated. They made no effort for my parents occassion and duly gave us the worst rooms. the soap, shower gel etc were never replenished in the microscopic bathrooms. TV comprised of 12 italian channels with no satelite options.
After we all unpacked we went down to the lobby for lunch. We were told all we could have was ham and cheese sandwiches. 8 of these plus 8 beers came to 120 euros. That was the last time we had food from the hotel, and by the look of the restaurant at night, it was the same for all the other guests.
Breakfast was sparse and to order eggs or porridge was extra 9 euros each! service was slow and the used plates were never cleared away so piled up in the middle of the table.
The 'wellness centre' looked impressive but infact, the pool was cold, one had to walk through the rain outside to get to the indoor pool. To make matters worse, there is only one lady who does all the treatments so there was a 2 day waiting time! overpriced and over rated. do not bother. You can get the same for half the price elsewhere. Interestingly it was an italian who reviewed the hotel for the small luxury hotels book, mmmm....

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank chrismed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dcribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
3.9 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,385 reviews
3.9 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,449 reviews
3.9 km away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
442 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
3.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range: ₹ 12,241 - ₹ 26,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star superior hotel located directly on the lake. Built in 1870, on the elegant west Piedmont shores of Lake Maggiore, the Grand Hotel Majestic is a fascinating exemplary conception of La Belle Époque. The Grand Hotel Majestic is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and since 2007 is recommended by Legambiente Turismo for its commitment in the environmental protection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Verbania
Grand Hotel Majestic Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing