We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Arriving to a 2nd home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa la Rocca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa la Rocca Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Casa la Rocca
Double bedroom
Kitchen area
Looking out from the double bedroom
Twin room
Shower room
The pizza oven on a summer evening
Casa La Rocca in June
Sun loungers on the apartment patio
Val di Gizio from the apartment
Rocca Calascio - best view in Abruzzo
Chamois in the Maiella National Park
Oranges from Sicilia
Local produce on a roadside stall
Sulmona market
Lago di Barrea - swimming amongst the mountains
Pettorano sul Gizio
Sagittario valley
The Gargano peninsular
Campo Imperatore
Gran Sasso National Park
Winter above Scanno
Adriatic waves at Vasto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
karst2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Arriving to a 2nd home”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We planned our holliday carefully, we enjoy walking in the Abruzzen very much and liked to stay in a place that gave us the opurtunity to visit several national parks, old cities and villages, privacy when we wished so and a day at the beach to recover from hiking and read a book. We found our place in Casa la Rocca. Surrounded by the view of the national parks and and nearby beauttyfull hikes. When we arrived whe had a very warm welkom from Stuart and the 2 dogs Max and Florance. (my wife is afraid of dogs but became good friends with them after a short while). Unfortunately Hillary was in England and we met her later. The appartment was proper and private with our own terras, everything needed was available. During our stay we had all the help we needed when asked for to make some beautufull walks and visits in the area. Actually the only unpleasant thing for us was to leave. Thanks again Stuart and Hillary for a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayGee377
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - a home from home”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Casa La Rocca is a perfect, comfortable little apartment, and well equipped. Has it's own terrace and own outside area. Hilary and Stuart were very welcoming and relaxed and offered advice and suggestions for the walking I was planning on doing for the 3 days I was there. Stuart even lent me one of his rucksacks and his map, and Hilary brought me fresh vegetables from their garden!

It's very peaceful but yet still only a 5 min drive from Sulmona and any facilities you may need, supermarket/restaurant etc. It's located between the Majella, Abruzzo and Sirente Villino National Parks so makes it an ideal base if you are trying to visit all three but from only one base. The southern edge of the Gran Sasso National Park is also less than an hours drive away.

A wonderful short stay and as a solo traveller felt safe in the knowledge that Hilary and Stuart would only have been a telephone call away if I needed them. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pim_and_C...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“A place to be”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Last June we stayed in Casa la Rocca for 2 weeks.
We had a wonderful time: cycling in beautiful surroundings, enjoying mountains, typical Abruzzo villages and Sulmona in the near neighbourhood. The apartment was very comfortable and Casa la Rocca offered every opportunity to relax and unwind. We would often climb up to the roof to watch the sun set.
We experienced Hilary and Stuart's kindness and hospitality with the greatest of pleasure.

We hope to come back one day...

Pim & Carina, the Netherlands

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D x
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Green Heart of Italy”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently revisited Casa La Rocca and again enjoyed new walking routes in the local hills whilst admiring the abundant profusion of wild flowers and late snow. La Rocca is an ideal base for the entire Abruzzo area with ready access for the required day visits to the excellent coastal beaches. Once again many thanks to Stuart and Hilary for their advice and suggestions. This remote area is a must for early season walking combined with good Spring weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a wonderfully secluded and peaceful place to stay! The accommodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen and bathroom are well equipped with everyday materials. The apartment faces almost due south and the french doors from the kitchen and one of the bedrooms open on to the terrace which is bordered by a garden area and some trees (which in the hotter months provide some welcome shade). Beyond this there is simply farmland and countryside. You really can't feel much closer to nature than this and still enjoy the comforts of your own home! When we were there some long-eared owls had nested in one of the trees and for a couple of days we watched them learning to fly.
Hilary and Stuart are such a hospitable and knowledgeable couple. They are a mine of information about the area and are helpful in every way possible. Stuart booked us a restaurant one evening and they gave us lots of ideas of places to visit, although we spent most days using Stuart's book of walks and local maps. We had discovered the day before we arrived that we had long lost relatives in the area and Hilary went to great lengths researching the family name and possible locations where they lived.
This place is for people who love the countryside and the great outdoors. Don't go there if you want nightlife or to be lazing by the pool all day. The spectacular countryside of Abruzzo is jaw-dropping. When we were there we walked across hillsides carpeted in wild flowers with snow capped mountains hanging on the horizon. There are still bears and wolves in the area, though these are rarely seen. On the days we walked we rarely saw more than a couple of other people, and even the villages clinging to the cliff faces seemed deserted. There are few tourists here, and those we saw were Italian. Not much English is spoken, so take a phrase book. We also took our Sat Nav (GPS) with us. This was useful every day, and proved invaluable when we missed the exit to the airport from the motorway on the way home and found ourselves driving through the centre of Rome!
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and countryside
Liked least: There is nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing