We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
146
234
124
55
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
234
124
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location active volcano hotel is located booking site nice bar sea facing room small balcony italian hotels short walk from the ferry fresh fruit breakfast room croissants decent breakfast the hotel reception stayed here for two nights boat tour main piazza
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stayed here for 1 night with 18 students and the location was by far our favourite. Feels like a secluded island with empty beaches and gorgeous black sand/pebbles for a beach. The hotel was very nice inside, all the rooms were a decent size and all had working air-conditioning, the only hotel during our week to have that!

We were given a packed lunch for our evening trek up the volcano, a gorgeous ham and cheese baguette with an apple and bottle of water. Breakfast was our favourite of the week, fresh fruit, bread rolls and cereal all on offer.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank GinaC415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

In summary, this hotel was a disappointment and if you're staying on Stromboli for several nights I would avoid it. I note several reviews here highlight the hotel has a superb location. Considering Stromboli is a very small place other hotels are within walking distance so I don't think that location is such a big asset in this case.

Pros:
- Staff with acceptable English skills
- Clean and fairly spacious rooms
- Reliable air conditioning
- Reliable Wi-Fi considering the location, don't expect any high speeds though

Cons:
- Beds are cheap and extremely uncomfortable. You get a thin mattress on a wooden board. In other words you may just as well be sleeping on the floor. To me, a comfortable place to sleep is one of the most important things that a good hotel should provide. Hotel Ossidiana fails miserably at this.
- Rooms are not very sound proof
- Staff needs to improve their overall service level. If you have any special requests be prepared to argue your case.
- Breakfast buffet is limited and has more sweets than actual breakfast food. Though this is normal for this part of Europe I presume.
- Lobby and other common areas are not air conditioned.
- No refrigerator in the room

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank 1travellingperson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Direttore at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Sirs,

thank you for your review, but we are surprised to read this review , because seems to us you never stay in our hotel...

Our Hotel has all rooms with bathroom , air conditionning , safe, hair dryer , television, free wifi and miniba/ refrigerator.
The common area are also with air conditionning and have wifi... we really don't understand .

The breakfast is always very appreciated from our guest. Look the review on BOOKING.COM.
We offer a continental breakfast with fresh fruit , hand made jam , many delicious cakes, a variety of cereals , yogurt hand made, eggs and bacon , fresh tomatoes, cheese, ham , orange juice, caffè cappuccino , etc. and otherthings...... you can look the pictures of buffet on the website .
What do you eat for breakfast at home ?

If you have other suggestions, don't exitate to contact us again.
But please check better , before writing something wrong about Hotel Ossidiana.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Currently staying in room 107 which has a lovely sea view terrace. Reception and bar staff very friendly and helpful, one girl even brought us up coffee last night.
Breakfast is good,the one big downside is the noise first thing in the morning. Around 6.30am scooters/little vans start up so don’t expect a lazy lie in!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Windymiller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Enjoyed the stay. It's convenient for the arrival port. We were placed in an annexe a few hundred metres from the hotel reception. We were two couples together and had rooms next to each other with a shared entry and balcony and an area in front just behind the beach for relaxing and eating.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Positive: good location practical to take the ferry. Negatives: not customer oriented, unfriendly staff (only negative experience in Sicily in a 2 weeks trip), unorganized and sub-standard breakfast (Instant coffee served!).

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank LouiseMarieSo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews