We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Pedra Residence(Stromboli)
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
US$ 211
US$ 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 137
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Casa Carlotta(Stromboli)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
139
227
120
52
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
227
120
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationactive volcanohotel is locatedbooking sitenice barsea facing roomsmall balconyitalian hotelsshort walk from the ferryfresh fruitbreakfast roomcroissantsdecent breakfastthe hotel receptionstayed here for two nightsmain piazzafree of charge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Be wary of booking at this hotel. They offer FREE CANCELLATION on Booking.com, but when you cancel your booking they still charge you the full amount. I am still waiting for a refund, and they claim I simply did not show up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank lailafamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Direttore at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Guest, we are very sorry that you couldn’t stay in our hotel.
Unfortunately we had to apply the penalty as written in the reservation of Booking.com: cancellation is free of charge up to 15 days before date of arrival and in case of no show or late cancellation of arrival will be charged the total amount of your stay.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Director, Hotel Ossidiana of Stromboli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

First of all, it's literally a few hundred feet from the port, so you can easily walk here once you get off your ship from the mainland. I had a sea-facing room with a small balcony, A/C, plenty of closet space, and a queen and single (twin-size) bed. The bathroom was small, with no bidet (who knew you would get used to this luxury!), a small (by US standards) shower (30"x30" maybe?) and non-potable water running from the faucets. Plenty of individual soap and shower gel although i like to travel with my own. The A/C worked well, which is very important to me when returning from the brutally hot, Sicilian afternoon sun. Nice, clean room, towels and bedsheets. Wifi signal was super strong; excellent for kids wanting to stream movies during the hot afternoon break time.

We had breakfast included which was very nice. Tasty scrambled eggs, well-done bacon and all the other typical, cold Italian breakfast items were included; sliced deli meats and cheeses, cookies, cereals, bread, pizza, mini rice balls, cornetti (Italian croissants) filled with pastry custard or jams, coffees and juices, etc.
The hotel has a bar/restaurant serving coffee, drinks and light meals, discounted for hotel guests. We enjoyed a complimentary aperitif drink served with potato chips, peanuts and a tiny pizza, the way many bars throughout the country serve their drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed this.

Right out front from the hotel there is a row of local boat excursion guides who offer trips around the island etc. I chose the captain right out front (let's just call hime A.C.) who knew the islands well and is an experienced sailor with a lovely small covered boat. Then there's the main strip, Via Roma, a few hundred feet behind the hotel. It's a narrow street strewn with shops and eateries that leads to the main piazza in from of the church. What a beautiful view of the town from there!

It's a beachfront property, but the black, sandy and lavic-stone beach is loaded with all kinds of boats of all sizes that either belong to locals or are rentable. Plenty of tractors on the beach also to load and unload the larger vessels. The black sand is not volcanic ash, but black sand. It looks dirty on your feet and skin, but it's not. The water is clean and clear and gets pretty deep right away as this volcano rises out from the sea. there's a beach area on the other side of the port with hardly any boats on it, and various other beach facilities on the island.

We enjoyed our hotel stay here very much. The service was friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Front room with the sea view may be too noisy because of the ape-cars, tourists, and you're above the bar-cafe outdoor seating area.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salEdawgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Proprietario at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your nice review. I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us . The team are thrilled about your comments as they all work extremely hard to ensure you have a fantastic time. They are always on hand should you need anything from restaurant bookings to maps of the area, or simply directions of the local area.
Thank you for your compliments towards the good position of the hotel and our service.It is our pleasure to have looked after you.
This morning , I have shared your review with my team and they are all delighted with your amazing feedback.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect. The views are amazing. The beds are comfortable. But, as is so often the case with the largest hotel in a small destination, the visitor experience is awful. Breakfast is terrible. Coffee is undrinkable. Service in the restaurant is slow and without any enthusiasm. Overpriced. Not recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ScotFish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Proprietario at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear guest,



Thank you for having chosen our hotel in Stromboli. It is with pleasure that we acknowledge the positive review related to the location of our Hotel and of the comfortable rooms with sea view.
We don’t understand what of our buffet breakfast was so awful. We receive daily compliments from our guests for the breakfast which we offer with a large variety of products. We always pay attention that food and drinks are topped up so that our guests are satisfied.
The coffe’ we serve in the breakfast room is provided by an automatic dispenser but is possible to order an espresso to our Staff which is always available for any request.
We do not agree with your review of our Lounge Bar snack service as we offer fast dishes, like salads, “maxi bruschetta”, sandwiches, pasta and pizza with special prized to hotel guests that at the check-in receive a discount vouchers for all meals and drink the plan to have in the hotel.
In reference to the slowness of the service, we apologize for the wait and will consider your review as a reason to further improve our service.
If you would have told us about your complaints on site, we would have assisted you in all way so to satisfy your expectations. Our guests’ satisfaction is our first priority.
We work hard daily with enthusiasm and passion and hope to see you back in the future and receive a better review from you.
Best regards , Tiziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend the hotel's restaurant (Amore Mio) to celiacs, since delicous gluten-free pizzas are on the menu. In addition, the view is great, the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is nice and relaxed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alva96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

It is a mix of good and not so good. On the good side- the hotel is in a great location, right next the jetty for ferries etc. It is also spotlessly clean , and breakfast was good.
However, people come to Stromboli for two reasons - for a day trip ( no hotel) or to climb the volcano. If you're doing the climb , then you get back c 11pm. This hotel closes at 11pm , and the extra entrance we were shown did not work , the keys would not unlock the back gate!. Secondly, wifi was useless, as in really non existent. Thirdly, our room had no fan control on the Aircon, so you either had no Aircon, or a really loud full speed fan, which stops you sleeping, even after the climb. These three thing should are basics of hospitality nowadays, on Ossidian needs to fix . I suggest searching for a cheaper alternative, at least you aren't paying for stuff you don't get.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ukiwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Proprietario at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear guest,
thank you for choosing our Hotel and having appreciated its great location, the spotlessly clean and the buffet breakfast.
Stromboli is a worldwide known tourist resort visited by people that stay night to climb the Volcano, and others that choose to stay more days to rest, discover and appreciate the quietness of the island, relax on the beautiful and uncontaminated beaches, observe the beauty of its wild nature, admire the sunrise and colors or the sunset and taste the local products of this land.
Tourists that stay in our Hotel for one night, generally request a fast check-in so since they generally get back not before 11:00pm, after climbed the Volcano. These types of guest, unfortunately do not benefit of all the services, of the comfort of our rooms and the human relationship of our staff.
We strongly believe that our guests, should have the key of the back entrance which grants them an independent access to the rooms.

We have already fixed the AC problem with our technician in your room and can confirm that it was not working because not correctly setup on the remote control.
We are very sorry that you did not inform us promptly about this issue or we would have immediately fixed the problem but since you were in a hurry because of the climb to the Volcano, you preferred to access the room after 11:00pm.
We also apologize for the WI-FI not working. Unfortunately these unpredictable events can occur.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay and hope to see you soon!
Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews