We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stromboli adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at hotel ossidiana, it's well located near the main port and is easy walking distance to all sites on the island. The hotel is good with comfortable beds, bathroom facilities and a fantastic al fresco bar out the front of the hotel. Breakfast was well catered and was enjoyed by all. Overall would be happy to return and stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AJH_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Be wary of booking at this hotel. They offer FREE CANCELLATION on Booking.com, but when you cancel your booking they still charge you the full amount. I am still waiting for a refund, and they claim I simply did not show up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank lailafamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Direttore at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Guest, we are very sorry that you couldn’t stay in our hotel.
Unfortunately we had to apply the penalty as written in the reservation of Booking.com: cancellation is free of charge up to 15 days before date of arrival and in case of no show or late cancellation of arrival will be charged the total amount of your stay.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Director, Hotel Ossidiana of Stromboli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

First of all, it's literally a few hundred feet from the port, so you can easily walk here once you get off your ship from the mainland. I had a sea-facing room with a small balcony, A/C, plenty of closet space, and a queen and single (twin-size) bed. The bathroom was small, with no bidet (who knew you would get used to this luxury!), a small (by US standards) shower (30"x30" maybe?) and non-potable water running from the faucets. Plenty of individual soap and shower gel although i like to travel with my own. The A/C worked well, which is very important to me when returning from the brutally hot, Sicilian afternoon sun. Nice, clean room, towels and bedsheets. Wifi signal was super strong; excellent for kids wanting to stream movies during the hot afternoon break time.

We had breakfast included which was very nice. Tasty scrambled eggs, well-done bacon and all the other typical, cold Italian breakfast items were included; sliced deli meats and cheeses, cookies, cereals, bread, pizza, mini rice balls, cornetti (Italian croissants) filled with pastry custard or jams, coffees and juices, etc.
The hotel has a bar/restaurant serving coffee, drinks and light meals, discounted for hotel guests. We enjoyed a complimentary aperitif drink served with potato chips, peanuts and a tiny pizza, the way many bars throughout the country serve their drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed this.

Right out front from the hotel there is a row of local boat excursion guides who offer trips around the island etc. I chose the captain right out front (let's just call hime A.C.) who knew the islands well and is an experienced sailor with a lovely small covered boat. Then there's the main strip, Via Roma, a few hundred feet behind the hotel. It's a narrow street strewn with shops and eateries that leads to the main piazza in from of the church. What a beautiful view of the town from there!

It's a beachfront property, but the black, sandy and lavic-stone beach is loaded with all kinds of boats of all sizes that either belong to locals or are rentable. Plenty of tractors on the beach also to load and unload the larger vessels. The black sand is not volcanic ash, but black sand. It looks dirty on your feet and skin, but it's not. The water is clean and clear and gets pretty deep right away as this volcano rises out from the sea. there's a beach area on the other side of the port with hardly any boats on it, and various other beach facilities on the island.

We enjoyed our hotel stay here very much. The service was friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Front room with the sea view may be too noisy because of the ape-cars, tourists, and you're abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salEdawgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Proprietario at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your nice review. I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us . The team are thrilled about your comments as they all work extremely hard to ensure you have a fantastic time. They are always on hand should you need anything from restaurant bookings to maps of the area, or simply directions of the local area.
Thank you for your compliments towards the good position of the hotel and our service.It is our pleasure to have looked after you.
This morning , I have shared your review with my team and they are all delighted with your amazing feedback.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect. The views are amazing. The beds are comfortable. But, as is so often the case with the largest hotel in a small destination, the visitor experience is awful. Breakfast is terrible. Coffee is undrinkable. Service in the restaurant is slow and without any enthusiasm. Overpriced. Not recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ScotFish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssidianaStromboli, Proprietario at Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear guest,



Thank you for having chosen our hotel in Stromboli. It is with pleasure that we acknowledge the positive review related to the location of our Hotel and of the comfortable rooms with sea view.
We don’t understand what of our buffet breakfast was so awful. We receive daily compliments from our guests for the breakfast which we offer with a large variety of products. We always pay attention that food and drinks are topped up so that our guests are satisfied.
The coffe’ we serve in the breakfast room is provided by an automatic dispenser but is possible to order an espresso to our Staff which is always available for any request.
We do not agree with your review of our Lounge Bar snack service as we offer fast dishes, like salads, “maxi bruschetta”, sandwiches, pasta and pizza with special prized to hotel guests that at the check-in receive a discount vouchers for all meals and drink the plan to have in the hotel.
In reference to the slowness of the service, we apologize for the wait and will consider your review as a reason to further improve our service.
If you would have told us about your complaints on site, we would have assisted you in all way so to satisfy your expectations. Our guests’ satisfaction is our first priority.
We work hard daily with enthusiasm and passion and hope to see you back in the future and receive a better review from you.
Best regards , Tiziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend the hotel's restaurant (Amore Mio) to celiacs, since delicous gluten-free pizzas are on the menu. In addition, the view is great, the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is nice and relaxed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alva96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromboli
0.8 km away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
279 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
222 reviews
164.8 km away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Hotel Cincotta
Hotel Cincotta
#1 of 9 in Panarea
286 reviews
164.7 km away
Residence Aquilone
Residence Aquilone
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
200 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Petrusa
Hotel Villa Petrusa
#9 of 11 in Stromboli
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli

Address: Via Marina, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Price Range: ₹ 3,525 - ₹ 12,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Sicilian home-from-home overlooking the crystal clear sea of the island's Aeolian archipelago: this is Hotel Ossidiana. With a beautiful location directly on the beach of Stromboli, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the sea, the volcano, and the ancient fishing village of Scari. The bedrooms of this Mediterranean retreat, some of which have their own private terrace, are simply furnished using natural wood and soft colored drapes. Guests are unlikely to forget the fabulous views of the sea and the Volcano, visible from their room at Hotel Ossidiana. Taking pride of place in the peaceful internal court yard, the hotels thermal bath with waterfall, has been built using local lava stones. Other spa facilities at guests disposal include a Turkish bath and thermal showers. Hotel Ossidiana is the perfect Sicilian seaside hotel. The beaches of Scari and Ficogrande, with its black volcanic sand, are just a few steps away. A short boat ride takes guests to the enchanting little village of Ginostra from where to admire a spectacular view of the Aeolian islands, Mount Etna and the coast of Calabria. Hotel Ossidiana is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the volcano and witness the eruptions of lava, which often light up the night skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossidiana Hotel Stromboli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing