We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Stromboli Volcano
from US$ 4,743.00
More Info
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
274
48
23
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
48
23
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip hiking boots lava flow hard work pizza head torch amazing experience mother nature one night once in a lifetime top deck worth the effort black sand three hours walk up euros per person coming down
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This might've been my best experience yet. Although it was raining almost on the entire climb, when we got up the skies cleared a bit and we got to marvel the frequent eruptions from several of the volcano's fissures. Good physical condition is needed, and don't forget your headlamps and hiking gear. If you do though, you can borrow your whole gear from the trekking shop next to the old church in the settlement. They have good English and are very helpful people.

1  Thank Gergely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a tour to the crater, sadly we didn't see anything because of the fog. But the day after we had a wonderful view (and good food and wine) from the Observatorium, with spectacular eruptions every few minutes.

Thank PhilipO983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a boat trip from Tropea and went in search of an erupting volcano - we saw no activity but was an interesting place. The black sands are amazing

Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

This was sensational. We got our excursion from Lipari. The group sizes to the top are 20 people (ish), and trust me.... there are a lot of people who do this! The seas had been rough the few days beforehand, so the trip hadn’t run for a few days so there were a few hundred people snaking their way to the top. As you are at the top for about an hour, it is definitely a good idea to bring warm clothes with you. Heaps of people around us were freezing. We also brought our paninis which we could enjoy at the top, between the volcanic excitement! It certainly did not disappoint. Bringing a bandana or buff, or face mask wouldn’t be a bad idea, as, depending on the wind, the gases can blow up towards you. Bring lots of water because it is very dry and dusty. Because you are in groups, the pace up to the top was pretty gentle. We certainly would have gone faster if we could do it at our own pace, but of course the groups must stay together. There is a spot midway where people can turn back on their own if they’ve found it too taxing. But after that everyone needs to be committed! It takes about 2.5 hours up, an hour at the top, and about 1.5 hours down. You can rent boots, poles, torches at the base. Everyone is given a helmet to wear.
It was really cool (or warm actually) to sit down at the top, as the ground is warm. As our guide said “our main goal at the top is not to die”. Ha ha. It was fantastic

Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

OK I appreciate I’m contributing to the problem but realistically far too many tourists descend on the island of Stromboli. What they come to see is the eruptions which can only be seen from a boat and does not actually need you to set foot on the island. We took at boat from Milazzo via the island of Panarea and then on to Stromboli. This is a full day trip and much slower than it need be. If you are in a hurry I recommend seeking out a direct boat to Stromboli. Be aware that even though this is the Mediterranean the sea can be rough and on our boat everyone on the top deck had to vacate their seats for safety when the weather got up on the return. But yes we did see some eruptions so maybe it was worth it.

Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

It takes 6 hours to go to the summit and back. Experience not to be missed when you are there. The walk is a bit strenuous but the pace is slow and most people people can do it. Seeing eruptions every 5 to 10 minutes, when red lava is thrown out from the crater is something I will never forget.

1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Felt so privileged to view Stromboli on the night boat tour from Panarea. The sunset was simply superb whilst enjoying a glass of wine in the small town of Ginostra. Back in the boat we enjoyed the magic of a full moon rising over the volcano whilst many lava flares launched into the night sky. The sound of lava crackling down the volcano into the sizzling sea was incredible. This is a must do when visiting the Aeolian Islands.

1  Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

powerful and magnificent! We've climbed with Magmatrek and it was amazing.
It's worth it. One of the most beautiful things I've done travelling.

Thank Mathilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Crazy nature experience! Rates among the best I’ve ever seen....... exploding lava WTF! Downside a lot of people on the volcano, a little touristy.... BTW you forget all about that the second you feel the earth rumble and the volcano spray rocks in the air.. did i mention you get to see 3 crates of exploding lava!!!!!!

Thank Rasmus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Decided to book the boat trip to the islands including Stromboli as part of our holiday. Although it was a rather a long trip starting at Cefalù harbour and then jumping from island to island couldn’t fault it. The staff in the boat were friendly with reasonable prices on board for food and drink. Once docked at Stromboli the small island is great to look around and a walk up to the church is quite easy going. However if you’re struggling a little there are taxis ( golf buggies) to help. Liked the idea of boot hire if you want to take the hike up to the crater. Beautiful scenery everywhere. Finished the day off with a nice meal over looking the harbour but be mindful of added service charges on the bill these do range from €2 -€8 per person. Finally as we left went around The lighthouse with the famous ‘sea horse’ and then just as we left and it started to get dark watched the erupting crater which made our day. Be mindful if you’re thinking of going with small children as the boat trip coming home is 3.5 hours.

Thank N2198HRseans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews