We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Partly tragic, partly mocking

The fountain is also known as the Fonte di San Simone, due to the former name of the square... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
Borzov
,
Rijeka, Croatia
Fountain

We happened upon this whimsical face in a fountain in Spoleto. The water is fresh and clean so you... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2017
lollygal
,
New York City, New York
Read all 75 reviews
  
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
19
37
19
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
37
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cool drink mask op human fountain stone
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We accidently came across his lovely fountain and was pleased we did as we needed to refill our water bottles. The water is very fresh and natural so make sure you fill up! There's also a smaller fountain next to it which doesn't look quite as intimidating- just think how many travellers today and in the past have relied on quenching their thirst thanks to the ingenious person who designed and sculptured these fountains.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank TanyaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Charming fountain that we saw a few times. It was fun to see the kids playing around it in the afternoon and with no one around in the early morning. The details of the mouth and the façade are worth the look.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank kathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The 'fountain of the mask' is located in Piazza Campello not far from the Rocca. The fountain features a large mask of a man-like creature craved out of stone with water pouring out of its mouth into a large trough. I wouldn't necessarily go out of way to visit but we were passing by on our way to visit the Ponte delle Torri and stopped for a look.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

According to the locals, the water from the fountains are great, but don't choose the ones with pigeon poop on them! The pigeons loved the top of this fountain! The little piazza was charming. Nice place for a pastry and coffee while you watch the food market and people.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Peacenplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Stop for a cool drink of water and read the inscription. A nice spot for a break from the hot weather.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Lori3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews