We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Partly tragic, partly mocking

The fountain is also known as the Fonte di San Simone, due to the former name of the square... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Borzov
,
Rijeka, Croatia
Fountain

We happened upon this whimsical face in a fountain in Spoleto. The water is fresh and clean so you... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2017
lollygal
,
New York City, New York
Read all 74 reviews
  
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cool drink mask op fountain human stone
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fountain is also known as the Fonte di San Simone, due to the former name of the square Bernardino Campello. It owes its name to the strange face or a mask, with some human and some feline characteristics, placed at the center of the upper basin. It is carved in stone and crowned with laurels with a partly tragic, partly mocking expression. The fountain was probably restored as a part of the construction of the ancient aqueduct of the city. Anyway, it is an interesting point of the city, worth the attention.

Thank Borzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Our days were very hot and we made it a point to stop by the fountain for a cool drink of spring water.

Thank elizabeth5272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We walked past this fountain every day on our walk. It's interesting, once. The water is very good, safe, and cold as it comes down off the mountain through the old Roman aqueduct. It is an excellent photo op though and very easy to get to.

Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We happened upon this whimsical face in a fountain in Spoleto. The water is fresh and clean so you can drink from it as the Romans did.

Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed this little piazza and the fountain. The children were able to throw coins in the water and make wishes. Great pizza restaurant on the corner.

Thank John-Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Very pretty fountain centrally located in Spoleto, which I discovered it is an attraction a minute ago.

Thank happytraveller575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We accidently came across his lovely fountain and was pleased we did as we needed to refill our water bottles. The water is very fresh and natural so make sure you fill up! There's also a smaller fountain next to it which doesn't look quite as intimidating- just think how many travellers today and in the past have relied on quenching their thirst thanks to the ingenious person who designed and sculptured these fountains.

Thank TanyaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Charming fountain that we saw a few times. It was fun to see the kids playing around it in the afternoon and with no one around in the early morning. The details of the mouth and the façade are worth the look.

Thank kathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The 'fountain of the mask' is located in Piazza Campello not far from the Rocca. The fountain features a large mask of a man-like creature craved out of stone with water pouring out of its mouth into a large trough. I wouldn't necessarily go out of way to visit but we were passing by on our way to visit the Ponte delle Torri and stopped for a look.

1  Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

According to the locals, the water from the fountains are great, but don't choose the ones with pigeon poop on them! The pigeons loved the top of this fountain! The little piazza was charming. Nice place for a pastry and coffee while you watch the food market and people.

1  Thank Peacenplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews