We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded umbrian villa”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outstanding scenery immediately surrounds the villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Outstanding scenery immediately surrounds the villa
Outstanding scenery immediately surrounds the villa
Outstanding scenery immediately surrounds the villa
Villa Marianna on right of photo
Outstanding scenery immediately surrounds the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Spoleto, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Exetergou...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Secluded umbrian villa”
Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We had a lovely week at the Villa Marianna. The apartment was large - two bathrooms for two bedrooms. It is about 12km from Spoleto and high in the hills looking down over the valley. There are 6 apartments in the building and an excellent large swimming pool. We were welcomed with a nice welcome pack and the owners are friendly and laid back. We didn't see anything of Norma, but according to the literature she is known by everyone in Spoleto.

The best apartment by far is the one with the roof terrace. The others have outdoor seating, but ours was to the rear of the villa with no views whatsoever. Perhaps more could be done to give everyone somewhere nice to sit out, with a bit of privacy as there's plenty of space.

The villa has a sort of restaurant - very informal with no menu. The chef is superb and the adults in our group thought it was the best meal we enjoyed during our 10 day stay in Italy.

The sitting area could have been better equipped. In theory the villa can sleep 6, but there was just a sofa for two, so others must sit on kitchen chairs.

The pool is lovely, but it is shared with guests at other villas owned by the same group, as well sometimes by friends of the chef. We were slightly put off by that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The restaurant below, run by the lovely Leonardo
Liked least: Not enough sofas and sharing the pool
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2011
There are 5 apartments at Villa Marianna, not 6. Our guests must have stayed in APT D, which has the advantage over all the other 4 apartments of being the most private. Its French windows open onto the largest patio area of all the apartments, In a cul-di-sac, thus preventing anyone from walking past, the views are of woods in front and hills to the side. It is true that the other 4 apartments have stunning panoramic views, all the way to Assisi; but, for those of you who like to sit under the trees, quietly, with a glass of wine and a book, APT D could not be more perfect. Just 2 mins walk away, on the other side of the house are many, many communal areas, all with the magnificent views that our guests would have liked to have seen from APT D. The different views are explained on my website, the specific property link of which is sent in response to every enquiry. Our partner, the owner of Villa Marianna and the surrounding mountains, is a very religious man and a devotee of St Francis, reputed to have stayed in our other villa, Vista Del Mondo, just up the lane, where a holy stone has been erected, commemorating his regular stopping point at Vista Del Mondo. The down side of our partner's religious fervour, is his disinclination to "cosy up" the 3 villas on this private mountain, (Villa Marianna, Vista Del Mondo and Posto Del Sole, 1 mile away), since he wants all these villas to be "in the spirit" of St Francis, all 3 of which were restored in homage to this great saint. However, we do not expect you to sleep on rocks ! Consequently, all 3 villas are simply, but comfortably, furnished and this is reflected in their rental rate. Besides, people who stay in pool properties, usually spend most of their time outside, the villa being mainly used as a place to lay one's head. And, many of our guests have said that the beds are really comfortable ! As for the pool being shared, we do offer it to our non pool guests. Nonetheless, many of our other properties have their own pools and our non-pool guests are usually more interested in Art and museums than a pool. Further, from 2012 onwards, we are not offering a private restaurant. Instead, by request of our guests, we will offer cullinary evenings with local chefs, featuring meals specialising in fresh, local ingredients eg truffles, boar etc. This will reduce the use of the pool even more, leaving it even more tranquil for the guests at Villa Marianna !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to try to get chairs by the pool
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suffolk, England
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Cleanliness and noise from the locals
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Aug 2011
We are very sorry that our guests did not advise us that they were lacking kitchen equipment and supplies because we would have remedied the situation immediately. Sometimes, when larger parties stay in more than 1 apartment simultaneously, they move things from 1 apartment to another. For this reason, we always advise our guests from the start to text us if they are missing anything whatsoever.

The pool is available to all our guests, staying in our non-pool apartments. However, more than often the pool is empty because people who stay in non-pool apartments are usually disinterested in the pool but it is a nice option for them. On the occasions that our guests were disturbed by Leonardo's friends (not our friends), we apologise.

Last year, Leonardo, our chef, proved extremely popular with our guests with his wonderful meals and occasional pool parties. But, after hearing about Leonardo's friends' antics, and assessing the situation overall this summer, we have decided to finish with the restaurant and any activity whatsoever that threatens the otherwise wonderful tranquility of Villa Marianna. All too risky. We are returning to total peace at Villa Marianna and, subject to demand by our guests staying there, we will be offering occasional meals, overlooking the pool, at great rates, supplied by local chefs.

Our non-pool guests, who may occasionally use the pool, are usually sedate types, more interested in visiting churches and museums than racing around on dirtbikes, which, thankfully, are rare in the area ! Certainly, they are not allowed in the grounds of any of our villas, apartments and pool properties. Had our lovely guests texted us about this disturbance, we would have been there in a flash and resolved the situation. Sometimes our guests can be too polite and not want to complain about anything. But, we would MUCH rather be informed that something is amiss than for our guests to have been put out at all, as these guests were.

So, to Mel and David, we apologise. But, please, next time, inform us if there is anything at all that you are not 100% happy with. Give us the chance to deal with it. Our sole aim in life is to provide perfect holidays for all our guests !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2011
Anyone with mobility issues can take their car along a special car lane directly to the pool side.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing