We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property with terrific owners”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2007

I stayed at the San Luca on March 1 and 2. I arrived very late due to missed connections and lost luggage. The gentleman on duty at the front desk could not have been nicer, making a late dinner reservation, etc. The town of Spoleto is charming; yes, it is a smaller city, but filled with culture and typical Italian life. It's a great base for exploring many of the towns in Umbria. The hotel is well-located to either walk to town or drive out of the city. It has a big plus--a closed parking garage for guests. The hotel itself is a little gem. Each room is decorated differently but with a consistent theme...the owner has added her touch to each room with her artistic hand, painting vines, flowers, etc, in a very charming way. The bathrooms are also top notch, and the hotel is very quiet. I was happy to wake up to the chirping birds. There is also a beautiful courtyard for breakfast or just relaxing. The breakfast was wonderful. Federica, one of the owners, makes all the baked goods herself each day. The management of the hotel is excellent; Federica and her husband Carlo take pride in their town and hotel and it shows in the details. They are a delightful couple who welcom guests with warmth and kindness.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Italypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Luca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2007

I stayed at the Hotel San Luca as a short excursion from Rome. The hotel was very nice--beautiful cozy lobby, large room with lovely terrace, large bathroom and tub, and a wonderful breakfast buffet with homemade cakes and fresh juice. Overall, I very much liked the hotel, although for Spoleto, a small town, I found it a bit overpriced, especially for January, notably a non-touristy month.

My main complaint, other than the high price, was the location. We did not have a car (nor would we want one in historic Spoleto as the streets are quite narrow!) and found the hotel, based at the bottom of a large hill heading up to the historic center, to be quite inconvenient.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, owner at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2007

We all thank the TripAdvisor Member for submitting this good review, although we don't agree some complaints.
Considering "the beautiful cozy lobby, large rooms with lovely terrace, large bathroom and a wonderful breakfast buffet" we don't think that our hotel is overpriced, as in January our rates start from 110 Euro for a classic room to 160 Euro for a superior one.
We are located in the lower part of the historic centre of Spoleto, town not known for being flat as other Umbrian places, such as Assisi, Spello, Orvieto, Perugia. So, walk up and down is quite normal and sometimes inconvenient but well worthing "the effort" to enjoy the beauties of a wonderful medieval uphill town.
We are 5 minutes walking away from the main pedestrian/shopping area of the town and all the main monuments and churches are walking distance (10-20 mnts).
Plus, the Hotel San Luca has a large garage connected to the lobby with an easy street access, so driving it is not difficult at all (we are the only 4 star hotel in the historical centre with a private garage).
We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and we hope that many people will come and see.
Warmest Regards,
Daniela Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2006

My husband and I have just been in Spoleto for the weekend along with a couple of friends. We stayed at the San Luca because of its excellent Trip Advisor reviews, which now I am glad to confirm. The staff is really nice as they say; the rooms, either standard or superior, were well equipped with comfy large beds, marble bathrooms with bathtub and shower, windows or balconies with a nice view. The hotel is also well based in a quiet and very silent area quite near the city centre which we coul reach on foot, while the rest of wonderful Umbria is well at hand with Assisi at only 1/2 hour by car or by train.
But the really outstanding feature is the hotel atmosphere, so cosy though elegant and calm that makes you really feel at ease, surrounded by unobtrusive care. After a long walk around Spoleto a good tea cup near the hall mantlepiece is something not to be missed; if you are fond of reading there are books in various languages all around, even at the room floors. If you are a china pottery lover have a look at the china tureens collection, its astonishing!
I guess I must have fallen in love with the owners' cat who has got style and is kindly welcoming but, unfortunately, not to be seen as often as I would have liked.
Spoleto is nice too, though it is undergoing a big plan of repair so some of the monuments are still with scaffolds.
There was a little Christmas Market , a bit poor and disappointing in itself, the city centre instead was charming and very Christmaslike with all the enlightened little medieval shops and lively taverns, so full of Xmas cakes and gorgeous bric à brac!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We spent a week here in October 2006 and didn't want to leave! We had a very comfortable, quiet room on the top floor overlooking the charming interior courtyard. As other reviews have mentioned, the bathrooms are of generous size. The breakfast room is warm and cheerful, and the offerings were varied and delicious. The staff on all shifts and days were extremely helpful and outgoing and their restaurant recommendations were outstanding. Although there is garage parking (at additional cost), we had no trouble finding parking on the street.

One of the things we most appreciated about this hotel was its location as a base for exploring the area. A few simple turns in one direction or the other, and we were on a highway leading out of town. Day trips were easy to almost anywhere in Umbria and parts of Tuscany.

We'd love to stay here again and explore more of beautiful Umbria.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sempre39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We stopped at this hotel after 4 days in Rome and the contrast could not have been starker. From hustle and bustle and everything on our doorstep, we entered serene calm.

They have a useful locked garage at the property if you're driving and a welcoming from desk who, as with our other stops, were tremendously helpful arranging visits, especially to the local vinyards. One tip - try to visit the Caprai winery; it is much the best in the area, as is the wine and its easy to find on the road out of Montefalco.

The hotel itself in common with others we stopped in does not serve evening meals but it is simple enough to get in to town to the local tavernas though if you're not very fit its definitely a cab ride as the hill up in to the town is very steep. Some wonderful local restaurants though and the town of Spoleto is very charming and medieval and has many nice churches, a castle and a wonderful bridge to no-where.

We had a junior suite and while it was very large and clean, it suffered from an odd oblong shape and from odd heating (air-blowers that dried out contact lenses).

By the way, don't bother with the cashmere factory shop that there is a discount offer with. The products there are very high end and even with a discount do not offer good value for money. Nor could we really find anything we liked. Unless conservative costly knitwear is yout thing, give it a miss.

In summary, excellent staff, easy to get to by car, nicely decorated and in a beautiful and interesting town.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank gibster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
556 reviews
0.5 km away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.9 km away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 29 in Spoleto
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#8 of 29 in Spoleto
155 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
555 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: ₹ 7,067 - ₹ 10,921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing