We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Luca
Nearby Hotels
La Fattoria(Spoleto)
US$ 95
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albornoz Palace Hotel(Spoleto)
US$ 120
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Clarici(Spoleto)
US$ 85
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 114
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 149
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arca(Spoleto)
US$ 96
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Charleston(Spoleto)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 95
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 126
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Villa Cristina(Spoleto)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
302
130
23
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
130
23
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely courtyardthe entire hotelold townparking on sitepotted plantshotel stayour home away from homecute hoteltop rategarden viewshort walkpeople moverplan to returnhome made cakespleasant atmospherechirping birdsvarious levels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2006

My husband and I have just been in Spoleto for the weekend along with a couple of friends. We stayed at the San Luca because of its excellent Trip Advisor reviews, which now I am glad to confirm. The staff is really nice as they say; the rooms, either standard or superior, were well equipped with comfy large beds, marble bathrooms with bathtub and shower, windows or balconies with a nice view. The hotel is also well based in a quiet and very silent area quite near the city centre which we coul reach on foot, while the rest of wonderful Umbria is well at hand with Assisi at only 1/2 hour by car or by train.
But the really outstanding feature is the hotel atmosphere, so cosy though elegant and calm that makes you really feel at ease, surrounded by unobtrusive care. After a long walk around Spoleto a good tea cup near the hall mantlepiece is something not to be missed; if you are fond of reading there are books in various languages all around, even at the room floors. If you are a china pottery lover have a look at the china tureens collection, its astonishing!
I guess I must have fallen in love with the owners' cat who has got style and is kindly welcoming but, unfortunately, not to be seen as often as I would have liked.
Spoleto is nice too, though it is undergoing a big plan of repair so some of the monuments are still with scaffolds.
There was a little Christmas Market , a bit poor and disappointing in itself, the city centre instead was charming and very Christmaslike with all the enlightened little medieval shops and lively taverns, so full of Xmas cakes and gorgeous bric à brac!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We spent a week here in October 2006 and didn't want to leave! We had a very comfortable, quiet room on the top floor overlooking the charming interior courtyard. As other reviews have mentioned, the bathrooms are of generous size. The breakfast room is warm and cheerful, and the offerings were varied and delicious. The staff on all shifts and days were extremely helpful and outgoing and their restaurant recommendations were outstanding. Although there is garage parking (at additional cost), we had no trouble finding parking on the street.

One of the things we most appreciated about this hotel was its location as a base for exploring the area. A few simple turns in one direction or the other, and we were on a highway leading out of town. Day trips were easy to almost anywhere in Umbria and parts of Tuscany.

We'd love to stay here again and explore more of beautiful Umbria.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sempre39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We stopped at this hotel after 4 days in Rome and the contrast could not have been starker. From hustle and bustle and everything on our doorstep, we entered serene calm.

They have a useful locked garage at the property if you're driving and a welcoming from desk who, as with our other stops, were tremendously helpful arranging visits, especially to the local vinyards. One tip - try to visit the Caprai winery; it is much the best in the area, as is the wine and its easy to find on the road out of Montefalco.

The hotel itself in common with others we stopped in does not serve evening meals but it is simple enough to get in to town to the local tavernas though if you're not very fit its definitely a cab ride as the hill up in to the town is very steep. Some wonderful local restaurants though and the town of Spoleto is very charming and medieval and has many nice churches, a castle and a wonderful bridge to no-where.

We had a junior suite and while it was very large and clean, it suffered from an odd oblong shape and from odd heating (air-blowers that dried out contact lenses).

By the way, don't bother with the cashmere factory shop that there is a discount offer with. The products there are very high end and even with a discount do not offer good value for money. Nor could we really find anything we liked. Unless conservative costly knitwear is yout thing, give it a miss.

In summary, excellent staff, easy to get to by car, nicely decorated and in a beautiful and interesting town.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank gibster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

Our third stop in Umbria at the Hotel San Luca in Spoleto was everything we could have hoped for. We had requested a specific room with a terrace overlooking the rose garden and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is stylish and full of interest, the brochure and website are accurate in every detail. But perhaps the best point to note is the attentiveness and caring nature of all the staff. Breakfast was delicious! The hotel does not serve dinner, but with so many good restaurants close by and with the help and knowledge given by the staff, good local food was easily found. An added bonus was the use of the swimming pool at the sister hotel, Villa Zuccari nearby. An exquisite country hotel with again style and warmth. The staff as before were so helpful. We can't wait for our next visit.

Tony and Trish Betton
Scottish Borders
United Kingdom

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2006

This hotel is a must for visitors to Spoleto! You cannot believe how warm and friendly they are - a lovely couple with a small son and another on the way run this hotel like a home. Efficient, caring, clean, beautiful and reasonably priced for the area. The breakfast is beautifully presented in a setting that is serene. Also, the owners parents have another hotel Villa Zuccari outside of Umbria that we visited and would have loved to combine our stay with visit to Umbria using the San Luca as our base and then relax a few days at the Villa in the country. Also, they engaged for us a driver, GianLuca Siena of Umbria Driver, who was GREAT. He speaks English, is personable and made our trip so very enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel and feel our stay there in Umbria was enriched by getting to know the people who own this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 466bruced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews