We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Skiing, Lovely resort”
Review of Ciampinoi

Ciampinoi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Skiing, Lovely resort”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went for a week skiing and thoroughly enjoyed the varied terrain of runs and the way all the lifts were joined up to make a fabulous ski area - the highlight being the Sella Ronda.
The village itself was very clean and the hotels and bars were immaculate. Not cheap to eat and drink, but there was a great atmosphere everywhere in the resort.

Would go again

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    51
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Skiing Was Amazing”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Skiing was amazing all over Val Gardena, this was one of the best ski resorts.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt_likes_surfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opatija
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“About Val Gardena in general”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Since I've skied all my life, I've also visited quite a lot of ski locations-mainly in Italy. But Val Gardena is by far the most beautiful of them all.
First, the three little towns-or villages- Ortisei, Selva and St.Cristina are beautiful, just like in a fairytale. I couldn't tell which is the most charming.
In Ortisei you have the pool complex, the old town-pedestrian area and lots of little shops. As for the skiing, from Ortisei you can climb to the Alpe di Suisi which is, for me, the best area in Val Gardena to ski on.The slopes are numerous, wide, neat and not crowded at all. There were some points where me and my boyfriend were the only ones skiing! Recommendation- The Mount Piz hotel and restaurant- nice, cosy, helpful staff and..I don't know why, but had kind of the best vibe.
From St.Cristina you can connect to Sella Ronda complex of ski slopes, which is, for me, overrated. The slopes are narrow, a lot of walking with skis on your shoulder is required and very crowded. But, if you go to Val Gardena, you must make at least one round of Sella Ronda. It lasts around 3-4 hours.
In Selva there are more fancy shops and hotels.
As for the apres sci, there are a couple of bars, but work only from 4-7p.m. The delis and all the shops as well. So, you have to rearrange your time very carefully and plan everything because after the skiing you have only 2-3 h to shop the souvenirs, have a drink at the bar and buy the groceries.
And the restaurants are open only from 12-3 and again from 5,6-8,9. So, if you wanna have a lunch at 2-tough luck :-)
Also, they have a tourist info in St.Cristina which supposedly works 24/7, but doesn't really. The gas station as well.
And all the hotels have wellnesses only for the hotel guests. But in Ortisei there is the pool complex with sauna and indoor and outdoor pool.
All in all, beautiful, charming, people polite, talk a bit strange but that's their dialect, wonderful skiing and- what else can you ask for?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Paty006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Place for intermediary skiers”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in Val di Fassa and went couple of times to Val Gardena. The first time we did green Sella Ronda so Ciampinoi was at the end of the trip. We selected to go thru slope 5 (red) and it was definitely wrong choice and a disaster. The slope was completely broken. My girlfriend is the beginner and at the middle of the slope she had to take skies off and slide down. We observed a lot of people around us struggling and experincing the problems. So try to avoid slope 5. The second time we crossed the place on the way to St. Cristiano. We were passing on the lift above the slope 5 in the morning and it was already broken too. Then we used first half of slope 3 (black) - that was not bad and after we had a choice to select A (black) and B (red). Both of them used for World cup competition. We selected B - it was fine on the beginning but became very narrow and broken by the end. Lately we have heard the comment to select A regardless it is black as it is less broken. On the way back to Val Di Fassa we selected slope 6 (red) instead of famous 5. That was fine. Overall the place is for intermediary skiers. Have fun!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely snow”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were there when the weather was very cold (-20c at night, -5c by day) but it was clear and sunny and the snow was exquisite. Its a great mountain for intermediate skiiers (and down the back to Seceda a little more challenging). Plenty bars and 'rifugi' for breaks and a fast chairlift.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VeteranTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciampinoi also viewed

Selva di Val Gardena, Val Gardena
Selva di Val Gardena, Val Gardena
 
Selva di Val Gardena, Val Gardena
Selva di Val Gardena, Val Gardena
 

Been to Ciampinoi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing