We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
1,082
342
61
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
342
61
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar sea view floor restaurant white bar top floor pool area bay of naples free shuttle beautiful hotel pizza our honeymoon amazing views shuttle service private beach hotel shuttle hotel guests the bus
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

dissapointed on arrival, had requested sea view room, which we got, but the site I booked with didn`t advise that not all rooms have balconies.... ours didn`t.The reception staff were very good and we did manage to change rooms the next day, (although this did cost us 30 euros extra per day.) Shower and bath are on the small side, and shower head difficult to get to stay upright when the water is on. Balcony as it was was tiny, but a balcony none the less. Rooms cleaned daily by very pleasent staff, with nice smiling faces.
The view was good, although slightly obscured by the building opposite, (not shown on the hotel brochure) and unfortunately six of the seven days we were there the road infront of the hotel was being dug up, not the hotel`s fault I know,.... they gave us a complimentary drink at the bar for the inconvenience,though I would rather not have been charged the full 30 euro per day for my change of room.
We didn`t eat at the hotel outwith breakfast, though I must say what we had was very good. Anything you could possibly want for breakfast was there and plenty of it, restaurant staff were pleasant and attentive, the view from the dining room was excellent. Happy hour at the bar was nice, discounted drinks and free nibbles to enjoy before dinner. Regular bar prices were very reasonable and the bar staff, (except one young guy who I am sure was drunk acouple of times when he was working!!), were fabulous...Dani we hope you are doing Okay.
The courtesy bus was helpfull (as is the bus driver) if you got fed up walking into Sorrento, which takes a good 15/20 mins. only down side is that if you`ve been on the go all day and start heading back about 6ish....there is no bus, there is one around 4.30 and I think the next one is around 7.( Don`t take a taxi!!!! 20 euros, give or take for a 5 min. journey.)
nice pool area with plenty loungers, and always quiet, there is so much to see and do I don`t suppose people spend there days sunbathing! Concierge is a lovely man and on the whole the desk staff are very helpfull and attentive, although was a bit miffed no one actually asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we were checking out, almoust as if "your leaving now so we don`t have to impress you anymore". as I said we enjoyed our stay, it just lacked something. We loved Sorrento and the amalfi coast, who wouldn`t? but if we returned we wouldn`t use this hotel again, for the money paid it just didn`t tick all the boxes.

Room Tip: not all rooms have balconies, you have to request this a time of booking
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AyrshireBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and had a great time. The staff was very courteious and helpful. The shuttle to downtown Sorrento ran on time and was very convenient. For the price, you can beat it. Breakfast was fantastic, beautiful setting and delicious food. From here we visited Capri and took the train in downtown to Pompeii. Also, parking was available for our rental car, which we barely used. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay. Definitely recommended if you want to stay at a beautiful and typical mediterranean looking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall, overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I choose this hotel because of the reviews it had received and I was not disappointed. Everything about it was superb. Spotlessly clean, fabulous site overlooking the bay, rooms were excellent, panoramic restaurant on the roof was magic. Staff were always cheerful and helpful. Minibus service into local town was great. Great variety of food in restaurant in which the staff were just wonderful. Weather was warm and sunny. This hotel is to highly commended and recommended.

Room Tip: We were on first floor - just great because we did not need the lift.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in mid October and overall had a brilliant stay. The weather on the first few days wasn't great (rain on the first day), it stayed mild and the last four days were more like the sunshine we had hoped for! We managed to spend a couple of days round the lovely pool, we braved a swim but be warned - at this time of year the water is freezing!

We booked via Expedia and arrange our transfers direct with the hotel (€100 each way, plus €15 for late night/early morning pick ups). The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging this via email the week before we arrived. We arrived after midnight and were check in and shown to our room by the night receptionist, who was very welcoming. We also had an early morning departure and they arranged a take away breakfast for us which was unexpected and a really nice gesture.

Our first room was downstairs at the back, on first arrival it looked fine but we were woken at 6am to the sound of next door's toilet flushing! We discovered we could hear everything from their bathroom which wasn't the best start to the holiday! We went and told reception who were really quick to offer an alternative (second floor, over looking the pool), they helped us move and from then on everything was great. There was no argument or debate, they just moved us straight away.

We were on a B&B rate, breakfast was buffet style in the top floor restaurant (there are 6/7 tables for 2 on the outside balccony over looking the bay of Naples). The choice was good at all times, with juice, continental and bacon/eggs. The view was stunning! We also had lunch by the pool one day and the pizza was really good.

The hotel bar is very modern, Danielle the barman is great company and helped recommend local restaurants. They have happy hour with reduced drinks and snacks early evening which is a good place to wait for the free shuttle bus into Sorrento. The bus runs throughout the day and evening, reception will give you a timetable and you need to book the trips. The service is definately needed as the roads aren't really safe to walk on and it would take 20/30 minutes on foot.

During our trip we booked excursions to Capri and Pompeii/Vesuvius via the hotel. These are part of Goldentours and overall good value for money, we would definately recommend them. You could do these cheaper yourself but these include the ferry crossing to Capri, and a bus tour of the island, with plenty of time to do your own thing too. We'd recommend a tour guide for your first trip to Pompeii, although you only see a smallish section it's good to know what you're looking at! Pompeii is enormous, you'd need 2 or 3 days to see everything. We also got the train to Naples, the trains were overcrowded and we didn't enjoy Naples so I would advise anyone against bothering!!

Overall we had a great stay, the decor, food and service were great. Huge thank you to all the staff who made it such a good holiday. Our only small negative was that the sound carries between some of the rooms, even so we would definately recommend it and hopefully will go back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a great place. Exceeded our expectations. Pure white lobby very very clean. Staff was very helpful. We would return gladly. The garden and pool area are great and very clean. Sorrento is a very friendly town.

Room Tip: Sea view superior with balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews