We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hotel Mediterraneo is a little piece of heaven on earth. We have already booked our 8th visit to this wonderful hotel. Our first visit was in 1995 and we have enjoyed 7 wonderful holidays there over the years. There have been many changes to the hotel since our first visit, all for the better. However all of the things we love about this hotel have remained exactly the same, the fabulous location with stunning views across the bay of Naples, the friendly attentive, efficient staff –nothing is too much trouble for them- and the immaculately kept garden and pool area. We are always warmly greeted like old friends and then treated like VIPs.
We always book half board, as it is excellent value for money. There is a huge choice of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit and cooked eggs, bacon etc for breakfast, which we enjoy on the terrace overlooking the superb views of the bay. The evening meals are also excellent with a varied choice, and again the views from the 5th floor Vesuvio restaurant in the evening are stunning – especially at sunset. We especially enjoy the meals by the pool twice a week. Last year the food on the Neapolitan evening was outstanding.
The hotel is the perfect base for exploring the beautiful Amalfi coast. It is perfectly situated for day or overnight stays in the eternal city of Rome where we enjoyed an unforgettable weekend, the highlight of which was a nighttime tour of the city in all its floodlit splendour. We have enjoyed trips to Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia, Ravello, Pompeii and Herculaneum.. The reception staff- Francesco, Francesca and Ianello are happy to provide detailed information on any of these trips and more and will happily book them for you.
You can have as busy or as restful a holiday as you choose as the hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Sun beds and shades are plentiful and the pool is beautiful. Lunch is served in a shaded area beside the pool and the menu includes the true and traditional Neapolitan pizza made in the hotel’s own pizza oven. After a relaxing day, there is a happy hour with Arturo or Daniel mixing cocktails and happily chatting to everyone.
The hotel provides a frequent shuttle service for the short journey into town. In our view it is well worth being a little way from the busy centre of Sorrento as the views are amazing from the hotel’s cliff edge vantage point. The rooms are spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need for your stay. There is free Internet access in a designated area.
Last year the wow factor was the new White Bar, which is very stylish. We also like to sit in the lovely gardens at night with a glass of wine.
We are so looking forward to our next visit this summer when we are meeting up again with friends we first met at the hotel in 1996. We know it will be another magical stay.

Room Tip: Although the sea view rooms are good ,you can see the sea views at breakfast and when having your e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lillianmwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    289
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
262
676
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels, as it has the most fantastic, romantic views you could possibly imagine. Eat breakfast looking out at the coast and Mt. Vesuvius? YES PLEASE! The restaurant directly across the street is really yummy too (dont know the name) but the view is just as awesome. We really enjoyed the pool and the hotel restaurant is also very good! The location was really nice because we could just take the free shuttle into Sorrento but enjoy the quiet and tranquility of Sant'Agnello. Loved every second!

Oh and the rooms were nice and clean, but who cares with a view like this!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HeavenAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We did need to take a taxi from the train station to the hotel but it was so worth it. The view was spectacular. Hotel lobby and bar is very crisp and modern. The staff was accomodating. The bar items were a bit pricey. We had a room overlooking the Gulf of Sorrento that had a nice but small balcony. There was a mini bar in the room (although we did not use it). There was mention of a fee for putting your own items in the fridge. There was laundrey service available but quite expensive. The 5th floor restaurant was wonderful. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. Dinner was excellent. Everything gets put on your room bill. That was good except when 3 people want to split it and we needed to itemize.
There is a neat key that gives you access to the room, safe,electricity and the lift to the beach.
The shower was strange in that the glass partition only covered 1/4 of the tub and the shower head is positioned strangely. We saw that throughout our stay in different Italian hotels. As Americans, I guess I am just not used to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMB-9-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo in November 2011, and we LOVED it! We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, with an ocean view and a little balcony with 2 chairs. The room was nice, a comfortable double bed with a TV and a private bathroom with a toilet and shower. We had included in the notes when we made our booking that we were traveling to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, and when we arrived in our room, there was a beautiful little sketch of the hotel with a note saying 'Happy Anniversary' from the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful (the Circumvesuviana workers were on strike just after we arrived there, and the front desk was helpful in answering our questions and helping us find alternatives!) There is also happy hour every night at the bar, which had great drink deals, free hors d'oeurves, and a very friendly bartender. The hotel also provides a free shuttle into Sorrento, which was very convenient...but the hotel is only about 25 minute walk away from the middle of Sorrento. Our room rate also included breakfast, which was definitely worth it. It had a really large assortment of cold cuts, eggs, yogurt, breads, cakes, pastries, bacon, fruit, etc, etc... We got a great value for having an ocean view, it wasn't the least expensive place around, but ABSOLUTELY worth the money to stay here (and also worth the money for the upgrade to a sea view room!)

Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing place to put your feet up, drink lemoncello, and look out over the Mediterranean!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABmeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

1. Booking & price: we reserved directly with the hotel (it was handled fast and professionaly) a superior sea view room with balcony, at a steep price of EUR 285/night, breakfast included - quite a lot for a 4 star (but hey, what is cheap on the Amalfi coast in full season?). Balcony was not charged (usually it is, at EUR 20/night), as we booked 7 nights. However, this is useless, as it is very, very small and you can only stand in it. No place for chairs and table.

2. Room: size was medium but definitely sufficient, and amenities were ok (large flat TV, good speed and free internet, powerful aircon - there were 40 degrees Celsius outside, mini bar, safe etc.). Room was clean and kept clean every day by maids. There were two let-downs however:
- the less important was the bathroom, not at all up to the four star and this price level standards; although clean, it was dated and cried for an upgrade: tiles, sink, practically everything....
- the most important negative was the noise: although facing the sea, what you actually face is first a busy street (buses, motor bikes, etc) and second a small square where in the evenings large crowds of children and teenagers were gathering, playing, screaming, shouting, until 1-2 AM! I don't know what the italian laws say about such noise disturbances, but for sure the management needs to find a solution for this.

3. Breakfast: it was just fair, nothing fancy, with same usual stuff every morning. I noticed a strange tin cup marked for "staff tip", not usual in breakfast rooms (everybody was ignoring it). There were few tables on the terrace, with lovely sea view and, if you were not lucky enough to get one, you were stucked in the main room which was very hot, as all curtain windows were open and aircon not working. As a separate note, staff had the bad habbit to largely open common space windows during that heat wave, that raised in some parts of the hotel the temperature to unbearable levels.

4. Parking: it was free of charge and apparently large, but in fact very, very crowded, especially in the evenings when apparently locals were coming to dine by the pool. Was not uncommon to not find a free space and then we had to park in the middle, leaving car keys with reception.

5. Location: although on the sea front, the hotel had the noise disadvantages mentioned earlier; nothing much to do around, except a little restaurant in front of the hotel. Town center quite far, but there is a bus stop plus a complimentary shuttle. We used bus only once (tickets can be purchased at reception) to get to the port for our trip to Capri, as there was no parking there. At our return no bus showed-up so we were forced to take a taxi back to the hotel, which costed no less than EUR 20 (for only a few kilometres drive)! Beware.

6. Beach & pool: pool access is through hotel's private elevator and you can get discount tickets from reception, but still some extras for chairs/umbrella need to be paid on the spot. Otherwise, beach is public and very crowded with locals. You can choose either a small strip of black sand or the platform. Although first line chairs on the sandy beach were free, we were denied taking them, being told that are "reserved", but nobody showed up. Anyhow, communication with beach attendants is difficult, as their english is very poor. We preferred to spend more time by the pool and its own bar...You could even get lunch there. Towels were provided, there was no shortage of chairs and air was cooler, from the natural shade of the trees. Pool was a big plus and in the evenings al fresco dinners were thrown there.

7. Sorrento: lively and great little town, with action starting after sunset. Plenty of narrow streets with shops, cafes and restaurants, stunning sea views from the cliff (you can go down to the sea and beach with an elevator). Just stay away from touristy restaurants, busy and with poor service. Just grab a guide from hotel and you'll figure out which are really for you.

Overall, Mediterraneo is a good hotel but I give it only an average rating, as they charge too much for what they offer. They really need to put some more effort to bring it to better standards.

Room Tip: For silence and good sleep better get a room with pool/back view. After dinner music stops it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 km away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,716 - ₹ 69,163
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing