We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Hotel Sole Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sole Mare
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Spent a week in Solemare, on a holiday break. First of all, I would not call it a hotel since it is in an apartment building with some rooms on different floors. Reception and dining room are on the 4th floor. For me, that cannot be called a hotel!
Rooms are ok, simply furnished, with a/c, nice sea views, which was a plus. Bathrooms is small but kept clean. Food provided for breakfast or other meals if you opt for hb or fb are ok, not plentiful but in most cases tasteful. Those were the positive sides.
Negative: most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in (backpain every morning), small shower tab and even smaller shower curtain (flood in bathroom everytime you have a shower), no proper towels but something like a table cloth, almost no english speaking staff (apart from the owner) so it was difficult to communicate what you wanted.
Location is ok, but mosr hotels are in the vicinity and Sanremo is a small town, so location does not make a big difference.
Prices are reasonable and that may be the only reason why you should consider this "hotel". If you are not on a tight budget, you can choose from far better options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

I LOVED this hotel!
The desk staff was wonderful, our room was marvelous with a balcony and we could see the Mediterranean while we were lying in bed! The only negative was that it had really weird towels, and they only replaced them every other day.
The hotel is very convenient to shopping, the beaches, the casino, dining, etc. Since I had bad back pain, ti w as helpful to be able to get back and lie down from time to time during the day.
One caveat- the info says it's near the train station. Not so. That's the old train station they refer to. It's at least a mile from the new one, not unwalkable, unless you have lots of luggage, or back pain.
Also- breakfast is 8 euro each. OK, but you can do much better at the cafes nearby.
Don't hesitate to stay in Sole Mare.

Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Good central location on 4th floor of an apartment block. Lift takes you directly to reception area. Bit tricky to get to due to one way system. Parking is on street and payable but free between 20.00h and 08.00h. Voucher available at reception to put in car for the following morning. Double room was comfortable and had balcony with lovely views. Bathroom was adequate but had very noisy extractor fan. Good buffet breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful.Plenty of restaurants all within easy walking distance. Would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

You get what you pay for.......This 2* hotel does what it says on the tin, it's very clean with friendly staff. The room was very small with the bathroom even smaller. I had arranged for
private parking (additional cost) which i soon discovered was the alleyway down the side of the hotel which was very tight......drive in reverse out. Overall i can't complain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

We were travelling from Bandol, Provence to Sestri Levante and wanted to break the journey somewhere we'd never visited before. We didn't do loads of research but San Remo sounded interesting and we got a good deal for a night in this hotel. We've stayed in some pretty dreadful 2star hotels over the years. This is not one of them. We had a lovely, light and spacious room with a large bathroom (always a plus) that was immaculately clean and maintained. We even had a sea view.

As far as we could tell in our brief visit, the hotel is well placed and in a busy area, so probably quite safe. There's limited on street parking outside and a large car park a couple of minutes walk away, along the sea front. We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pandachris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
358 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#21 of 43 in Sanremo
803 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Europa - San Remo
Hotel Europa - San Remo
#30 of 43 in Sanremo
130 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Globo & Suite Sanremo
0.7 km away
Alexander
Alexander
#9 of 43 in Sanremo
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole Mare

Address: Via Carli 23, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: ₹ 4,459 - ₹ 11,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sole Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemare Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing