We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Londra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Londra
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“History?”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel must have had its days in the past, though in the year 2011 it just felt old. We had a great view from our room which had an enormous bathroom and the hotel was just 2 minutes walk from the beach, but these few good things might not be enough to comfort yourself if you expect more from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TolgaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    98
    72
    41
    34
See reviews for
61
123
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A very nice old-fashioned hotel, probably 4-stars when it was built some decades ago, that still deserves these stars for the service and the feeling of "grandeur" they offer. They have to make some serious restoration though, and reject silly practices of the past, like the charge of 7 Euro/person for the use of the pool (they say they just charge that money for the use of towels in the pool area, but ...it's ridiculous). The rooms are spacious, tall and very welcoming. The garden of the hotel is almost as nice as the well known municipal gardens of San Remo, and Villa Ormond, a former private property that now houses some of the San Remo Festival concerts every summer. The pool area is excellent, and the parking facilities in the garden can be almost adequate for all the guests of the hotel. The breakfast has excellent quality and quantity, and the behavior of the staff is excellent too (I read the customer reports dated back at 2004, and think they had an attitude problem at the time). We hope we stay again in that hotel, when we are around...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank takitsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked two nights at this hotel and stayed only one. San Remo is a horrible place with few beaches and few nice spots, and this hotel is nowhere near 4 stars. We booked via a special offer website, and I sincerely hope no-one ever pays full price for these rooms. The first room we got was without air condition (at 32 degrees) and looked out on a pidgeon net in a back yard. I managed to get a room higher up with air condition, but it was small and run down - not at all comparable with other hotels we had booked at similar conditions. The staff was friendly, but I had to insist on parking for our car - I have no idea where else we should have put it. The pool is very small and wasn't clean, and we found out after our arrival that both towels (4 EUR) and sun-beds (7 EUR) were at extra cost. The breakfast was the worst of all of our 2-week Italy trip, especially the instant coffee from coffee machines. Other guests wearing wifebeaters to breakfast didn't help, either. Don't go there, don't even go to San Remo. Just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a very big hotel that was probably a very nice place to stay . . . back when San Remo was the holiay destination of the rich and famous. Eighty years on the place looks like it has barely been touched since. The room was dated and cluttered (it also smelled rather fusty), and had furniture that really belong in a Poirot episode.

Adding to this we had breakfast served in an astonishingly large ballroom, a bar that shut before 11pm and a lift that was possibly the slowest man-made moving object I've encountered, and all in all this is not a hotel I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We booked online and we got a really good deal. I was initially worried because the reviews I read online were not great. We stayed two nights at the end of June. Our room had a view of the sea looking towards the centre of San Remo. Our stay was really lovely for the price. The staff were all more than helpful, the room was really comfortable. The breakfast was sufficient and the lunch we had by the pool was tasty. Yes, they charge for the chairs by the pool, which I have a small gripe because I think if you are going to charge the pool area should be a bit cleaner, getting a steamer and cleaning it properly ALL around the pool would be a good idea. Aside from that I liked the hotel, it has a certain old world charm about it which gives it character. If you are looking for everything to be absolutely perfect in every way, here is not for you. It was about a 7 min walk to the casino. The old town is definitely worth a look and there was a lovely restaurant on the sea front down the road opposite the hotel. We also visited the famous Paolo e Barbara restaurant in San Remo which was really amazing food. San Remo is in a lovely spot. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 506, was lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibugirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#16 of 45 in Sanremo
719 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
123 reviews
0.7 km away
Nyala Suite Hotel San Remo
0.9 km away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Londra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Londra

Property: Grand Hotel Londra
Address: Corso Matuzia 2, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,340 - ₹ 28,436
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Londra 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished hotel dating from 1890; set on the Promenade Imperatrice, surrounded by palms and flowers, near the casino and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Londra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing