We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
175
133
52
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
133
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pool beautiful garden spa italians castello pleasure valley hill town
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

i have been going to the castello rosso for several years, and it is always a pleasure. the staff changes often, the restaurant goes up and down in quality and in price, but the hotel remains pretty unbeatable for value, beauty, and relaxation. set in a beautiful garden at the top of the hill above costigliole saluzzo, it looks out over the valley below. sadly, the valley gets increasingly industrialized, but what can you do?? the hotel and grounds remain lovely. the spa is good, the staff very friendly, and the rooms are beautiful, in a slightly shabby chic but still elegant way, and remarkably affordable. plus there is a lovely pool for the warm weather. a good address if you are in this part of italy.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tominprovence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

A very cool hotel in an amazing location. The shame is the quality of service and the staff. The staff don't smile and it is difficult to communicate. The bar staff were great though. Breakfast is rather sparse as well. We were a party of 18 cyclists and the food ran out after 10 came down to breakfast

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We spent a weekend in this hotel having received a voucher from our relatives. My wife booked a massage, I relaxed in Sauna. We had a dinner in the hotel restaurant: nice environemnt, very good food, reasonable price.

Room tip: Great view; a lot of green area around; very quite
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Castello Rosso sits atop a hill. The roads up to the hotel are narrow and somewhat steep. If you have a large car, be prepared. We had a lovely corner room, the furniture was antique and in good condition. There was no closet, only an armoire, desk with a chair and one small arm chair. WiFi was not accessible in our room - 301 - but was available in the restaurant, breakfast room, and bar. Our bathroom was large, but the shower was one of the typical European round corner showers - adequate, but you will bump your elbows.

The breakfast was nice, fresh fruit, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, ham, salami, four different cheeses, yogurt, croissants, sweet rolls, breads, juices, coffee and tea. We had dinner both nights at the restaurant. There are no other eating establishments within walking distance. The first night, everything was delightful, the food was very good, the waiter was friendly and attentive and he also spoke very good English. The second night, the opposite. There was only one waiter for the whole room. We felt very sorry for him. He did his best, but it took us ages to finish our meal. My rabbit with eggplant disappointed. The rabbit was very tough; I could hardly cut it. The waiter did not speak enough English to answer our very simple questions, e.g., do we get a choice of items on the tasting menu. Since it is difficult to drive up and down the hill in darkness, I think the restaurant is an important feature of such a hotel. They need to make improvements in this area.

We did not take advantage of the spa services, but the enclosed pool looked very inviting, and the grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Manicured gardens; mature, healthy shrubs; relaxing vistas. The setting is beyond compare. You will enjoy a visit if you are brave enough to drive into town for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice and quiet place close to Saluzzo, beautiful garden and beautiful views, as its on the top of the hill. Nice breakfast served al fresco. Stylish decor and perfect spot to relax. Good place to stop when visiting this part of Italy.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews