We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average expectations not met”
Review of Vecchia Marina

Vecchia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

An evening meal for a family of nine, on arriving it was obvious that this would be Peschiera Del garda’s version of a pub meal, which was fine as we weren’t looking for more.

It was pleasant to sit outside although the benches were a little uncomfortable, they catered for gluten free which we needed.

The menu was quite limited although we all found something to order.

The comments from the guests at the of the meal were mixed between ‘it was ok’ to ‘not nice’, we even had a ‘warm salad isn’t pleasant’

The lasagna was small, dry and bland. The tortellini had a tasteless gritty paste inside. The meatballs were very small and the tomato sauce was very basic.

On the ‘ok’ side we had the pork escalope, the sea bass and a gluten free pasta bolognese.

Not one of the best, not one of the worst, however the meal cost very similar to one of the nicer restaurants around the canal

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rich-Sarah678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Like always you can trust the quality and service
We love it since many years
Drinks service and of course the food and the family taking care of us and making us feel like friends!
Grazie Giovanni!
Renate et Tim

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Mimi0470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We took the advice of fellow reviewers and book ourselves in for the dinner. We were seated outside on a warm evening. Had a glass of Dry Prosecco while we studied the menu. We decided to have the Selezione Vecchia Marina at 32 Euros per serve. We were treated to 7-8 dishes some raw and cold and others hot beautifully handled by the Chef. These dishes are all about taste and texture and it is obvious that the ingredients are fresh and full of flavour. Ordered a bottle of La Regia Specula Montepulciano 2013 vintage that drank beautifully and was an absolute steal at 13 Euro. I decided to have Mezzemanichi Crostaci and Calamari (rigatoni and seafood) that was 12 Euros and my wife settled for Linguine alla Scoglia (Seafood Marinara) Again both of these dishes were excellent. As it happened Louis Gaetana the current owner of Verrigni Pasta was at the restaurant with a group of friends and it was his pasta that was used in the Linguine. He came over to our table and shouted us a drink. The exchange with Louis and the Chef added to our most enjoyable evening.
I did manage to squeeze in a delightful Tiramisu Cappacino 5 Euros but the highlight of the night was undoubtedly the food, the friendliness and the ambience of the restaurant the serves we were afforded. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Have been here twice on successive years and can't say enough about the place. Service is professional and friendly and the food is top quality at a reasonable price. 32 Euros for the Selezione Vecchia Marina is the way to go. You can add a Pasta or some more seafood if you are still hungry but it would be rare. Wine list has a nice selection of wines from all over the country but I'm partial to the Champagne. Can't wait to go back

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank ufcgooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The best restaurant in Abruzzo. In fact one of the best on the Adria coast. In my over 10 years here it is really the best. Bravo Genaro and the team

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Paradise649928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Marina also viewed

Roseto Degli Abruzzi, Province of Teramo
Roseto Degli Abruzzi, Province of Teramo
 
Montepagano, Roseto Degli Abruzzi
Roseto Degli Abruzzi, Province of Teramo
 
Roseto Degli Abruzzi, Province of Teramo
Roseto Degli Abruzzi, Province of Teramo
 

Been to Vecchia Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing