We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stay”
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of Riva Del Garda. It is clean, well run and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite basic (some might call it minimalist) and there is no view of the lake other than if you have a room with a balcony on the top floor over looking the rooftops.
I thought the food was very variable. Breakfast was a good buffet choice with plenty to choose from (nice selection of pastries and fresh bread etc) We were on a half board deal and the evening meal varied between a very interesting cold buffet selection for starters to some really very good pasta courses, then the main courses (mainly meat) were definitely no more than average, they seemed to cook most of the flavour out of it somehow. The sweets were just a bit odd to be honest...a real concoction of things, but quite good.
The 'bar' was a little counter in the reception area which was quite noisy and too brightly lit, so we tended to go out and about.
Riva Del Garda, in keeping with the whole lake area, was a very nice place. It has a nice buzz about it without being too busy (this was the end of March mind you) and the boat trips to the lovely little towns of Limone and Malcesine are just fabulous. Also worth a visit is the museum in Riva. A huge and beautiful building that seems to go on and on and on inside. Excellent value at 2 euros each., worth it for the marvellous views of the lake from the roof alone. Riva is right at the north end of the lake and takes a long time to get there but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank streets585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here on a KGB deal and although it took us a while to find the hotel, once we got there we were warmly welcomed by the desk staff. We were taken to our room and advised of when the evening meal would be served and when breakfast was. We decided to explore Riva and left the hotel to find it was very close to the lakeside. There are lots of little streets and cafes and shops in close proximity to the hotel. The staff are exceptionally helpful and courteous. The room (210) was spacious enough and very comfortable. Odd that when you put the room key card in the slot in the room that the lights go out after a few seconds and you have to fumble your way in the dark to switch them on. The tv comes on too which was a little annoying. No tea or coffee in the room but a great bar service and comfortable sitting area at reception and exceptional value for money. Wi Fi available in reception. Buffet breakfast is excellent. Hotel has been done up to a very nice standard and has a roof terrace that you can take drinks up to. There is also a running machine up there to work off the calories from the delicious Italian ice cream! If you fly to Verona, avoid the airport transfers to the hotel as they can be very delayed. We took the airport bus (buy tickets inside the airport) to Verona station and then took the ATV bus (stance 10 to the left of the front of the church). The journey is 2 and a half hours but so scenic. Only costs 12 euros each too! All bus tickets should be purchased before boarding the bus. Hope all this helps you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

perfect location, great standard of a hotel, rooms lovely and comfortable.
Food is definatly not up to scratch, we had half board with our stay, but could not eat any of the meals, they where very bad. Plus side is that their are loads of lovely italian restaurants in riva del garda with great food, and cheap great wine. these are just around the corner from the hotel. i would highly recommend to eat out. Also staff seem nice there at the hotel but dont really care, they put on a fake smile. We booked with hotels.com and holidays.com which are the same uk company, i would highly recommend to stay away from these as they are a shower of waster, and nearly got us killed with the company they used to transfer us from airport to the hotel, i also think the transfer company are part of the hotel.

Room Tip: great rooms, but bad food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Perfectly located in the pretty town of Riva, with staff who are more than willing to meet all your needs. Clean, large and stylish rooms. Half board provides a filling and tasty breakfast whilst dinner is amazing value! Three delicious courses with an all you can eat buffet beforehand! Even the roof has a solarium, with showers, an exercise bike and treadmill, as well as amazing views. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent hotel all of the staff are welcoming and friendly. My partner and I stayed for 5 nights half board and would have loved to have been able to stay longer. We were lucky and hired a car at the airport as others found it really difficult to hire a car in Riva del Garda this meant we were able to do a bit more expolring around the area and Venice is only an hour and 45mins away by car. The hotel rooms are spotless. The food is different but there is plenty of it. Would definitely consider staying in an italian Blu hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 40somethingBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
413 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,240 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
303 reviews
0.1 km away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
461 reviews
0.9 km away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: ₹ 6,537 - ₹ 16,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing