We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel for a 3 star price!”
Review of Hotel Rex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riccione
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rex
Ranked #5 of 291 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This hotel is a great place to spend your holiday in Riccione! There are many hotels to choose from here, but not all of them are kept up-to-date inside and outside. It is hard to believe this is only a “3 star” hotel; the service is top-notch. The Rex is over 70 years old but looks like new, inside and out. The staff are incredibly friendly and do speak English. The Rex has a prime position in the first row of hotels, so you have a great ocean view from here. Of course, the beach is just across the street. In the lobby there is a bar and a lounge with a great view of the beach, a perfect place to hang out when you’re tired of being in the sun but still want to enjoy the view. There is plenty of parking here, which is frequently a concern at other hotels, especially those in busy tourist locations like Riccione.

The restaurant here is also very, very good and of course you should be ordering seafood! One of the dishes we ordered was spaghetti with prawns; the pasta was made there and cooked perfectly; the prawns were fresh. Very tasty! We also ordered grilled fish, salad, and dessert. Everything was exactly as good as one would expect. They also have an abundant breakfast buffet that is very impressive. All of the food, especially the seafood, was very fresh. If you just need a lunchtime snack, make sure to order a piadina. It’s a local specialty that is what we Americans would call a tortilla with some cheese and meat in the middle, usually heated. They can do this, too, if you don’t want anything fancy. We’ve stayed at other hotels where the meals have ranged from OK to mediocre, and I’ve come to expect that any restaurant in a hotel is probably goint to disappoint; I can honestly say that the Rex matches some of the best non-hotel restaurants we’ve dined at. The rate we paid, we thought was really quite reasonable considering the quality of everything from the location to the room to the staff to the food.

The hotel does have wifi and it works well and is fast. We’ve stayed before at hotels that advertised wifi but it did not work very fast or at all at times.

The location of the Rex is ideal for enjoying the shopping available in Riccione. There is a lot to do here, this is not one of those tired seaside towns whose glory days were 50 or more years ago and everything is decaying or rundown and the retail is limited to shops selling cheap beach gear and no-name clothing and shoes. Riccione is a trendy place - sort of the Miami of the Italian Adriatic coast - with discos, a waterpark, and always something going on during the weekends such as street fairs. In addition to this, the Republic of San Marino is close by and due to its tax haven status, there are many stores there belonging to the finest designer houses like Gucci and Prada where one can go shopping for luxury goods at a reduced price. San Marino is also a really interesting place to visit, just plan ahead because parking is scarce; it’s not necessarily a place you would want to just drop in on, on the spur of the moment. For instance, weekends during high season are impossible because everyone goes there. Make sure to ask the Rex staff about visiting there so you can plan appropriately for when to go and how to get around.

Make sure to also ask the staff about the fascinating history of the Rex.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firenze_italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I will start this review by stating that this was the first time we (me, wife and 11 month old daughter) were in Riccione, so my review will be based solely on what this hotel had to offer.

BOOKING STAGE (5/5)
I booked hotel directly through their website, and was in contact with Sign. Vanucci. Communication by email was very fast and cordial. A deposit to book room for 6 nights was required.

ARRIVAL (5/5)
As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by staff who helped us carry our luggage up the dozen or so steps that take you to the reception. Receptionist gave us the basic details one would expect. This was done in a professional and friendly manner.

ROOM (5/5)
Our room (316) was on the third floor. It had a big balcony with a sea view. Room was big enough for the 3 of us. Room was cleaned twice daily (morning and afternoon). Room had a 32inch (i guess) tv with Sky Italia service. A side note for parents... Baby TV is available and can be switched to English. Our room didnt have a safe, so valuables had to be locked in luggage. Air condition worked with no issues. Linen and towels were soft. Bathroom was adequate size and we never felt that we needed more space.

FOOD (5/5)
We opted for an all-invlusive package, which meant breakfast, lunch, dinner, 2 sundecks and 1 umbrella at Beach 93/94 (just in front of hotel). The all-inclusive package is not what you may be used to i.e. Alcohol and non-alcoholic drinks 24/7 but it simply meant that we could have water, wine, and Coca Cola during or meals.

Breakfast...Ample selection (cotto, crudo, salami, cheeses, bread, biscuits, pastries, jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc) was served from 7.45 till 10.00

For lunch and dinner you need to see a menu at the receptionist and choose from a selection of 4 primi and 4 secondi. Both selections included fish and vegeterian options. Meals started with a buffet of antipasti (mainly grilled vegetables - fantastic - occasional piadina, focaccia, and lettuce tomatoes, carrots, etc). To conclude meals, a daily dolce (sometimes sorbet - coffee, apple, watermelon, etc - other times cakes) was offered. Besides this there was a selection of ice creams and fruits.

For lunch you had to be seated at the restaurant between 12.45 and 13.30, and for dinner 19.45 and 20.30.

Can't complain about food, which was exquisite, and you could taste the freshness of the products. Staff were extremely helpful with our 11 month old daughter, and all our food requests for her were met without hesitation. So parents, no worries, your little ones will have plenty to eat.

HOTEL FACILITIES (3/5)
Hotel lacks own swimming pool, and you need to pay an additional Euro6 (per family) daily to make use of the pool on Beach 93/94. We did so, and were happy to use the pool. However, pool was open only between 10.00 and 12.30, and 15.30 and 18.30. Although pool regulations stated that you were not allowed to play with balls or jump into the pool, the staff there didnt stop kids from doing so. Our daughter was almost hit with a ball on a number of occassions, and even though we complained, nothing was done by the pool attendant. We paid to use the pool for 6 days, and in the end we ended up using it only on 2 occasions.

Hotel also lacks a proper cafeteria or bar. There is a small bar close to the reception, and although there are 8 (didnt count them) sofas there are only 2 tables.On a particular evening it rained and there wasnt any room for us and ended up staying in our room. Suggestion... Breakfast room could easily be converted into a cafeteria/bar. I assume that this would give more life to the hotel.

Hotel provided
- Free wifi in rooms. Wifi was good and didnt disconnect.
- Free use of bicycles (useful to go to nearby mini markets)
- Free use of umbrellas whenever it rained
- Free use of strollers (we used ours)
- Children play area within hotel, and babysitter service during meals

LOCATION (5/5)
Depending on how fast you walk, hotel is about 10-15 minutes from Viale Ceccarini, and 1-3 min walk to Viale Dante. We prefered Viale Dante to Viale Ceccarini, mainly because of the numerous cafeterie, bars, and gelaterie (particularly La Dolce Vita). Both roads have a wide array of clothing shops. Hotel is literally on Lungomare della Costituzione, which although not as new as the other Lungomare, still provided a very nice walk. A taxi from Riccione train station to hotel costs around Euro12.

STAFF (5/5)
Professional and at the same time friendly. Met all our requests without hesitation.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Would we return? We really enjoyed our stay here, and although we can easily oversee the lack of a proper cafetria/bar, we cannot say the same about the lack of a private pool. As I said before, pool on beach is too chaotic and crowded to enjoy. If you dont intend to use the pool, then yes I would recommend this hotel, however, if you intend to make use of the pool regularly, Imay have to suggest some nearby hotels that have their own private pool.


Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We had an unforgettable stay at the REX hotel. This is a 3 star hotel with 5 star standards!
Prior to arriving to Rex our email correspondence with Franco, the owner, was extremely cordial and accommodating. We were going to Riccione to attend a 3-day sporting event. With our early evening arrival we noticed that Rex is located right on the beach front with a pedestrian area, no busy road to cross, no noise and ample parking. We were warmly greeted at the front desk, an airy entrance with views. Our 3rd floor sea view room, was neat and extremely clean, including the bathroom with hair dryer, toiletries, soft thick towels. Comfortable cotton sheets too! Plenty of closet space. Breakfast is buffet style, served downstairs, with a wide selection of fresh sweet and savory options also including plenty tasty fresh fruits, yogurt, muesli etc Any type of coffee you request is made for you and served at your table by two friendly and efficient attendants who are at your service and replenishing the buffet. Although we did not have young children, there is a play area conveniently located off breakfast area so the it never gets too busy or noisy. During our stay there were all age families and couples. Lunch and dinner are served upstairs in a large luminous room, if you don't want to bother with going out the cuisine at Rex is delicious. Our stay was so comfortable that we opted for the half board option on the second day. In addition to the menu options it offers a large salad bar as well as fresh grilled and roasted veggies. The Rex is a real 'find' in an otherwise touristy area. It is a self sufficient gem of a place driven also by it's family history, it's not just any hotel, this is visible by the care, attention and friendly expertise of the staff. Franco's great grandfather started the Rex hotel, there is a well done picture book of the the Rex story, and an exquisite display of wall photos of it's history. I think that is why they genuinely care for the customer at Rex...friendly professional service, fresh food and comfortable accommodation. Hospitality and high standards in service, have been part of their family culture. When we go back to Riccione it is the only place we would stay and recommend. Feels like we have family there.

Room Tip: Front and side rooms have seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 774nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I stayed here for a week with my husband and son. The position, right opposite a well-kept beach is perfect and the distance from the promenade and shopping areas is also very convenient. The hotel is, I think, old but has been fully refurbished and everything is modern and well-kept. The owners, reception and waiting staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food was really excellent (we are all good food lovers) with a varied buffet antipasto which included all sorts of cooked dishes and fresh vegetables and the menu was very varied with lots of fresh fish and some creative as well as simple dishes. Breakfast is perfect in terms of variety - with some organic offerings and a good selection of cured meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, jams and ESPECIALLY lots of fresh fruit which is extremely welcome. Our compliments to the chef who really was careful about what and how he served it. There was some dust under the beds but the chamber-maid resolved the problem directly when I mentioned it to her. The only real down side was the fact that for three of us a double room was a bit tight and there wasn't really enough cupboard or drawer space. Other than that, we really had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gastrobologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Excellent Hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Right on the beach and close to all the restaurants and shopping area. Epic cake selection, pastry, cold italian meats, cheese ect.
clean room with free sky sports, exactly as shown on the website.
We will be returning to the Rex Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor with no sea room {this was made clear on booking} it was nice and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vale r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riccione hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#2 of 291 in Riccione
2,141 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#14 of 291 in Riccione
1,957 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Dory
Hotel Dory
#12 of 291 in Riccione
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Fantasy
Hotel Fantasy
#7 of 291 in Riccione
435 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#6 of 291 in Riccione
406 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Consuelo
Hotel Consuelo
#4 of 291 in Riccione
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Lungomare della Costituzione | Via Puccini, n°1, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riccione
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
Price Range: ₹ 4,056 - ₹ 6,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly by the sea, in the centre of Riccione and just a short stroll from Viale Ceccarini but in a quiet area, the hotel is refurbished and air-conditioned throughout (and with free wi-fi connection), combining experience and style in all services offered to guests. The Hotel Rex, with the experience of half a century of management by the Vanucci Family, is the ideal place to spend memorable holidays packed with atmosphere and emotions. Our hotel is proud to be an Ecological Hotel, and thanks to Legaambiente and the Riccione Hoteliers' Association we and other hospital structures on our riviera are in the front line in our commitment to Environmental Protection, and in 1999 we were awarded the "Energy Saving Prize". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing