We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellissimo!”
Review of Hotel Da Salvatore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Da Salvatore
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Biddenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Everybody will say how beautiful, wonderful and magnificent the Amalfi coast is, however finding the right place to stay to explore and enjoy the coastline was difficult and I was recommended to stay here by a friend of the family.

My partner & I were looking for some quiet time away, and this proved to be truly magical. The restaurant was superb serving fresh, simple ingredients in local Italian dishes which exploded with flavour and even the homemade pastries were gorgeous - so much so that I brought some back to the friend that recommended we stay there.

You will not regret organising a trip to the area and as a small hotel, the level of service, attention and welcome is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilmarinaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We were in Ravello for a wedding and stayed at Hotel Da Salvatore for 5 nights. It is definitely the view that sells this hotel, just amazing! The location is perfect too, as it’s very near to the centre of town. The hotel rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The terrace was a nice size, the perfect place to take in the views of the Amalfi coast.

On the negative side, the hotel is let down by staff and service. They weren’t very friendly or welcoming. Luckily I speak some Italian, as not much English was spoken. Breakfast was also very basic and sparse, don’t miss the fresh bread in the corner of the room (we didn’t realise it was there until day two). If you aren’t on a budget stay elsewhere (eg Giordano, Villa Maria)

It was suggested that the bride and groom have a pre-wedding pizza and drinks night at Da Salavatore but the fixed 1000 euro seemed steep for a few pizzas, even more so considering that we had all of their hotel rooms reserved. Due to the expense and the attitude of the staff, they decided against it. We all ate in the centre of Ravello and had a pre-wedding drinks party in the terrace bar of the restaurant next door – to the right of the hotel - they were very friendly and helpful.

Pizza in Da Salvatores is actually rather good. However, avoid the main restaurant. Four of us ate there and not one person was happy with their meal. Not great value for money.

Restaurants to recommend in Ravello – Vitorios, near the town square. Good menu and friendly staff, good English spoken. Villa Maria, good place to have lunch but avoid the pizzas –great salads and paninis. For a few drinks or a coffee, go to the small bar to the right of the church entrance, very friendly staff. The seating is opposite in the square.

If you need a wedding planner, Mario at Wagner Tours! The wedding that he organised at Villa Eva was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank najemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Small Hotel/restaurent vith 6 rooms on a budget side. I was transfert here as Pallazzo della Marra overbook his place...

Price: In peak season, we pay 90 euros for 1 nignt with very very basic breakfast.
Location: right in the town (Athough Ravello is very small town)
Room: basic with confortable bed (firm), all the room have a small terrasse and sea view ( worth a million with the view of the "golfo di Salerno" and the little town near by, Minori)
Bathroom: shower only, clean
AC: working OK

I would go back again if I'm on tight budget...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapinroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Da Salvatore for 6 nights in late July/early August 2009 and had an amazing time. We were in Ravello for a wedding which the couple getting married had planned to coinside with the festival honouring the patron saint of Ravello (26-29th July) so there was a super buzz about the place. The view from the Da Salvatore was second to none in Ravello... absolutely breathtaking. The night before the wedding the couple held a "Pizza & Pasta Party" at the restaurant at Da Salvatore and this too was fantastic, the best Pizza I had during my entire stay in Italy
The location of the Da Salvatore is excellent just outside the main tunnel which you walk through to get onto the main square which is less than a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickie_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

For the price this is great value. The rooms are well furnished and the view from your balcony like other reviewers have mentioned is mind blowing. However, the noise from the restaurant above and the other rooms was just too much for it to be relaxing. Our ac went off one night (we had kept the balcony door closed because of the noise) and there was nothing that could be done about it as the 6 rooms they had were full and the person who could repair it could only be called the next day. All in all it was this place was just ok, we would definitely spend extra and stay elsewhere to avoid the noise factor.

Ravello , the town itself is gorgeous and a not to be missed. If you are not on a budget stay somewhere else and eat at the restaurant to get the great views. If you are on a budget get ear plugs along.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.0 km away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Amore
Villa Amore
#18 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bonadies
Hotel Bonadies
#13 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Da Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Salvatore

Property: Hotel Da Salvatore
Address: Via della Repubblica 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,332 - ₹ 8,655
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Da Salvatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Salvatore Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing