We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was our second trip to Hotel Caruso - this time to join friends for a fabulous birthday celebration. What a wonderful time we had - whether it was lounging at the pool, enjoying room service, or simply wandering through Ravello. Cooking lessons with executive chef Mimmo at the pool (with wine of course) was a wonderful experience. The view from the infinity pool must be the best in Italy and the Bellini's are a must. Attending the piono recital in Ravello was a special treat. The staff were amazingly attentive and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 464 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our Daughter and new son-in-law held their wedding reception at the Hotel Caruso at the begining of June and what an experience! It is the most stunning hotel with 'out-of-this-world' views.The staff were wonderful,they were very attentive and excellent at their jobs.They made every effort to make the wedding something to remember and all I can say is that they certainly managed it! Everything was wonderful,food excellent and dancing by the pool ended the day perfectly!A big thank-you to everyone at the Caruso.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgirl190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

My family and I have just spent 7nights T the caruso, the rooms were very clean with fantastic views. The staffs are very attentive but not too much. The front desk staff are always ready to help and assist make your stay perfect. The restaurants at both the pool and main building are very good, nothing phases them. Yes it's expensive, but you do get what you pay for. The Caruso has a feeling of being a guest in a private villa, not a tourist hotel. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussex_Ashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The view from our room at the Hotel Caruso was stolen from a James Bond movie. Vineyard covered mountains crashing into the azure sea. Ancient villages, rich with mystery, clinging to the peaks. German sedans racing impatiently up narrow cliff roads slamming on the brakes when a shepherd leads his flock into their path. Billionaires’ yachts crashing through sun splashed waves, helicopters and hired women clinging to their sides. Hags hawking the jumbo sized lemons of the Amalfi Coast snarling at the glitterati swooshing past. I could happily drink in this view for hours. Even more happily when room service arrives with my double espresso!

The breathtaking view makes the Hotel Caruso special. The Hotel perches atop a narrow limestone ridge, so guests enjoy a mountaintop view of the Amalfi Coast and the Italian peninsula beyond. Atop this ridge is a small infinity pool that takes full advantage of the view. While the ridge offers unlimited views, it only has room for a limited number of deck chairs, so I suspect that there is competition for them at busy times.

Apart from the view, the Hotel Caruso is a nice enough place to stay, but not in the top leagues of luxury resorts. Here’s why:

1. The room was comfortable and well appointed but not the showpiece that I expect for the price charged. The furniture was standard expensive hotel stuff: similar to what you find in any Ritz Carlton. The in room artwork was mass produced junk with cheap frames that did not line up properly. The television was small. The sheets were rough linen and bothered My Dearest's delicate elbows. I did like the colorful tiled floor. The U.S. voltage plugs kept my iPad powered up without any difficulty.

2. Apart from the view, the Caruso restaurant was tired. I yawned reading the menu. Ceasar salad with optional grilled chicken? People!!! I could get that at Olive Garden or even the Outback! The fish was über fresh, simply prepared, and delicious, but I expect more creativity and choice from the principal restaurant at a hotel of this price and pretension. Dinner service was competent, but not exceptional. Service at breakfast was inept. My advice: walk a few steps next door to the Palazzo Sasso Hotel and have dinner at Rossellini’s (two Michelin stars and so deserving of them). Tell them to bring breakfast to your room.

3. The bathroom featured many nice touches, including his and hers sinks, an illuminated make-up mirror, and one of the best selections of product that I have ever seen, including Bulgari, Molton Brown, and Penhaligons. However, the plumbing was dated: the handspray in the shower had a big squirting leak. The marble was of indifferent quality, and there were visible screw heads on the lights next to the mirror. The fake ancient Roman art bolted to the wall above the bathtub cheapened the tone.

Lunch at the poolside restaurant was a delight and not to be missed! Daniello, the animated head waiter, arranged robust salads, pasta cooked to order, and all the limoncello I could drink.

Bottom line: Hotel Caruso charges much more than other high end Amalfi Coast resorts, but apart from the view it fails to deliver more than its competitors.

Ravello is an attractive village perched atop a hill. But it gets old fast when the narrow streets jam up with sweaty tourists and the sun beats down on the steep pathways.

Hotel Caruso attracts a largely American crowd, many of whom entirely lack manners and rave loudly about the pizza. At dinner one night, the overweight bald guy at the table next to me announced to the waiters that he was rich and that they should get rich too, because being rich is much better than being poor in his experience. To illustrate his point, he gestured at the food in front of him and his blonde dining companion and explained: “Because I am rich, I enjoy gourmet food, fantastic wine and beautiful women.” Yes, he compared his consort with the food on his plate. And he did refer to “women” plural. She didn’t hit him but I almost did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tarrytown54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Hotel Caruso is a really special place, but what makes it remarkable is its famous infinity pool, kept exactly at human body temperature. I will upload some photos

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anricb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 km away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
3.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
2.4 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
4.6 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
10.9 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: ₹ 38,089 - ₹ 1,57,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing