We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room”
Review of Villa del Lauro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa del Lauro
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We arrived late at the Hotel and when we entered the room (number 2) we were blown away with the amazing decor! It was the most unusual room we had ever stayed in, very spacious with a large bed, desk with a mini bar, a sofa and a dining table. There was a large glassed door leading off into the garden an pool area. It sounds strange, but there were no windows in the room, but that wasn't a major problem, the stonework made up for that.
Due to our late arrival they had kindly left us some snacks and Prosecco in our room, there was also juice, water and Campari Sodas in the free mini bar too.
The main breakfast room was beautifully decorated, there was a smaller room with garden views too. There was a really good selection of breakfast items and the coffee was to die for! The only criticism I have is that the fruit (apart from the melon) was never very ripe, which was such a shame as there was always a lot to choose from. There were also cheeses, meats, cakes, toast, and lovely jams/honey. I did hear someone ask for an all white omelette one day and that request was carried out without any fuss.
The reception was very good with a lovely area where you could sit and incidentally I found the best wifi reception there, although is was ok in the room, just rather slow.
We found that the staff, without exception were all very helpful and efficient, but special mention should be made of Valeria and Antonio on the reception desk who were a credit to the Hotel and also spoke perfect English
We had pre-booked the Inspector Montalbano tour, which was the main reason for our choice of destination, and were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had a luxurious Mercedes estate taxi all to ourselves at our disposal for the whole day. The driver Elena was very competent but her English was extremely limited, as is my Italian, but we managed to get along ok. We were on the tour for 6 1/2 hours and saw some lovely sights, stopping for a snack lunch and drinks along the way.
Ragusa Ibla was lovely, but we needed a taxi ride there from the hotel as the walk is very steep, the cost was 10 euros each way. We could walk from the hotel to a square where there were some restaurants, bars and a great pizza place, this was quite an uphill walk there but easily manageable. There was also the main shopping street there, with a good selection of shops, but not that many!
We stayed in Ragusa for 4 nights and in hindsight, we should have perhaps moved on to Taormina or Palermo after a couple of nights, because Ragusa was quite small and not that lively in the evenings, even though it was not out of season.
On our last day, we had a late flight and so were at rather a loose end for the day, we enquired about getting a taxi to Modica, not that far away, just for a change of scene. The only taxi company there quoted 40 euros each way which was really disappointing as it was not a long distance and we believe not worth that expense. So we stayed in Ragusa for the day instead, but it was so quiet we couldn't even get a pizza at lunchtime to finish off our Italian holiday!
The Sicily people were very friendly and we will go back, but will choose somewhere with more going on.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eternaloptimist-327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights and used it as a base for exploring the area where the TV series, Montalbano, is filmed. Our room was very pleasant and roomy with a verandah and views of the lovely garden and pool. We were exhausted after the journey so used room service who brought in pizza from a local pizzeria and red wine which was quite acceptable. However, the buffet-style breakfasts were a little disappointing, for example, sometimes the meat looked a bit tired and very often the fruit was so hard you couldn't eat it. The waiting staff were generally pleasant but didn't appear to be interested in improving things. The reception staff were pleasant and generally helpful but unable to advise on the confusing timetables of the local bus service to Ragusa Ibla, the extremely picturesque part of Ragusa. It's quite a trek back to the hotel from there because of all the steep steps so this would have been very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was not split level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Breakfast was ok, but the worst part of this hotel is the position. It is in a steep street and to go to the centre of Ragusa it take about 10 minutes of nearly climbing. At the end of the holiday I finished up with swollen ankles for about a week.
No lift, the room was like a studio apartment (which) we had not requested. It has a sofabed on the ground floor of the room which is really uncomfortable, and you have to go up a flight of extremely high steps to get to the actual comfortable bed. Imagine when you need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and going down those steep steps (and you are half asleep).

Also whent the Catamaran did not work due to heavy rain, they did not help us find another hotel to stay for 1 night as the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Connie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Really pleasant hotel with helpful staff. Used as a base to explore up and downtown. Lovely room overlooking the pool which is a great place to relax. Only down side was on the third floor with no lift.

Room Tip: We were fine on the third floor but if you have difficulty climbing ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Villa del Lauro for 3 nights. Pleasant hotel but soon realised that the biggest part of the attractions of Ragusa was in Ragusa Ibla and we were in Ragusa Superiore. Basically the wrong side. Loads and loads of very steep steps to get to the interesting bits.

When we got to the hotel, the taxi that they arranged to pick us up from Catania airport dropped us off at the bottom of Via Ecco Homo so we had to drag our own cases up a very steep hill to the hotel. Fortunately one of the hotel staff happened to come out of the hotel and saw our predicament and helped us out. He also took the luggage our to our room. It was the only help we received in traction to the luggage whilst staying at the hotel .

Our room was on the top floor ,number 11, up more very step steps. The room was ok but with a very comfortable bed though. However the bathroom was really small and the light was in all the time day and night . We did ask for it to be sorted out but to no avail.

The breakfast was enjoyable.

Other trip advisor comments referred to the free mini bar. What minibar! We didn't have one , free or not. We certainly felt a bit that we were second class guests - now we know.

When it came for us to leave to go on to Siracusa, we were undecided whether to go by train or taxi. When we asked some questions about the trains, the responses were very vague indeed. Despite asking them to make further enquiries about the train service, we received no further information.

We also asked about help with the luggage - down the very steep steps in the hotel. The comment was that ' we don't have a luggage porter' so my husband had to carry them down himself. Although we are very sprightly we are NOT VERY YOUNG . I was very concerned that he would fall carrying the suitcases down the stairs.

There is no lift in the hotel and the building is not conducive to one being made available.

The staff were very young and no-one appeared to be in charge which made it difficult if not impossible to complain. However, a couple of the staff were more approachable than the others but as they did not have name badges , we have no idea who they were.

It appears that the treatment guests receive can be very 'hit and miss'. It is quite apparent that other trip advisor reviewers were extremely pleased with the hotel and services they received. In our case, it was sadly lacking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
11.5 km away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#3 of 37 in Ragusa
491 reviews
6.1 km away
La dimora di Spartivento
1.5 km away
Villa Boscarino
Villa Boscarino
#15 of 37 in Ragusa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
14.6 km away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#18 of 37 in Ragusa
283 reviews
0.5 km away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#6 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lauro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lauro

Address: Via Ecce Homo 11, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: ₹ 8,841 - ₹ 17,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Lauro 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Lauro is the best place for even the most demanding tourist. It is a very peaceful place for a stay where you can have every type of quality service and comforts together with a culture and art experience. Everyone has the feeling of being in a place out of time, thanks to smell and colours of the garden and the swimming pool with its spa zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Villa del Lauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lauro Ragusa, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing