We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tommaso

View from terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from terrace
View from terrace View from path leading to the studio apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View from terrace
View from terrace
View from path leading to the studio apartment
terrace
Studio flat
steps to the flat
Praia Beach
Walk from Praiano to Vettica - panorama Positano
Positano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jessicaem...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had the most wonderful time at Casa San Tommaso.

Despite a disappointing beginning of the trip trying to reach Praiano, due to unforeseen bushfires in the area and therefore an extremely expensive taxi ride to Praiano, our host Pasquale was kind enough to assist in trying to get us to Praiano. He made up for any disappointments we had by cooking a delicious meal for us that night with a bottle of home-made wine so that we didn't have to go out or cook ourselves.
The room was immaculately clean, with the most sublime view of Praiano. It was so good that we found ourselves staying at home cooking and drinking wine on the balcony most nights rather than going out.
It is within walking distance of the best beaches on the Amalfi - Marina di Praia and One Fire Beach, and within a 5 minute walk was the most wonderful local store which had a huge supply of fresh fruit, vegetables, pasta, meat and a big selection of great wine.
Praiano is a beautiful quiet town - the locals extremely friendly and hardly a hint of the tourist buzz in nearby places like Positano.
Although it was quiet, there was still a good selection of great restaurants and things to do.

Pasquale made us feel so welcome our entire stay - from greeting us with food when we got stuck in a storm, and drinking limencello with us on our departure.
He was so charming and warm, and his hospitality along with the location made this an incredibly memorable stay for us.

We couldn't recommend this place more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Praiano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HOME FOR A MONTH WITH STUNNING VIEWS”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Praiano the town and the people captured our hearts. Casa Tommaso was our home in all sense of the word regardless that we had very limited Italian and 'our family' had limited English. Although the owners lived in England, their relatives lived in Praiano and were there whenever we had queries or needed help - for example, an English-Italian translator to go to the police with us. The apartment was welcoming from the start. Bed made, place so clean, towels hung, flowery toilet paper waiting, books to be read, music to play and a sunset over the sea whilst we stood on the terrace in awe. The unit had all we needed to live comfortably. The town and it's neighbour Vettiga, provided a supermarket, butcher, grocer, ATM, tourist office, shipping service, police, gym, hairdresser, barber, bar, restaurants and beaches. The local yellow bus ran regularly around town and to Positano as a 20minute loop. As well the SITA bus service that ran up and down the Amalfi coast meant that Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento provided markets, pharmacies (carrying gluten free products) banks, post offices, shops, art galleries etc. Yes, Praiano offered an Italian life experience in a community without mass tourism but all these tourist trappings were available from 30minutes to an hour. Praiano was in the heart of the walking tracks, Ravello music festival (April - October), Path of the Gods music festival (May), Positano street festival and Easter Celebrations of pagent and spiritual experiences. What more can we say.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula1963...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location and fantastic views”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled on my own to Praiano and was delighted when I say the apartment, the views and the terrace are just like the photos, fantastic.
The apartment has everything you need and you just need to be prepared for plenty of steps, which are part of the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise_an...
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is exactly as it appears in the pictures! BEAUTIFUL. We stayed four days here in Praiano. Nice little coastal with good restaurants. The location is perfect to visit Amalfi and Positano., only 25 minutes away on the local bus ( recomended way to travel). The owner Pasquale is extremely kind with a great sense of humor.
You need to be aware that there is quite a bit of exercise involved in your stay here. Lots of stairs and hills. We enjoyed the fact that we could indulge in the great pizzas knowing we would work off our meal.
The only thing missing for a five star rating was softer mattress ( it is FIRM) and a Welcome Package. The package varies but always includes the basics to get you started on your stay. It is an offering that we look forward to when travelling, especially after a long day. It includes trial size soaps, teas, coffees, milk, bread, spices, etc and in some places a bottle of wine. You will need to bring all toiletries, hand soaps, shampoos etc along with coffee, tea and the like.

Note. The directions from Rome, be sure to follow them, and not your GPS. We were directed and extra 90 minutes out of way.
However the directions after parking at the Hotel Marguarita can be simplified by walking till you see the grocery store, approximately five minutes, then walk up the ramp to your left. Continue a minute or two till you see the playground on your right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The views!!!
Liked least: Dissapointed there was no Welcome Package
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“These hosts are professional - and much much more.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Everything you would expect from a seriously professional organization, but that's just the beginning. They live below the studio, and are readily available to happily assist with any question or concern. We had many questions during the initial booking process - our first holiday in Italy - and they were impossibly patient, with personalized, detailed and prompt responses every time. They amazed us with their flexibility to accommodate our special needs. Many of the reviews laud the location and the scenery, and there is no exaggeration in any of them. Bonus! The studio comes with a fitness program! (I refer to not just the steps, but the entire gruelling topography of the place. There is considerable research as to why Italians have such low rates of heart disease - I know! It's because they climb cliffs to go home!) TA doesn't list much to do in the area, but there is. Side trips to Capri and Pompeii, boat excursions, hiking trails, cooking lessons at local restaurants, and of course many gastronomical offerings from the many nearby restaurants. Hard to improve on a holiday at Casa San Tommaso.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality!
Liked least: Only 1 comfy chair!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words (and your medical conclusion!), we are delighted you enjoyed staying with us. We pride ourselves in making sure that all who visit enjoy their stay and if needed, we are at hand to help in just that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing