We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel Bougainville is an adorable little hotel right in the center of Positano. Perfectly located, a short walk to the beach. The people at the registration desk were very helpful, and super friendly. Breakfast every morning was adorable, with great coffee. We were in one of the cheaper rooms, and it was very small, but clean and cozy. If you have a bit more financial flexibility, the rooms with the balcony and sea view would definitely be worth the extra euros!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    196
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
322
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at The Bouganville. Not knowing Positano, we were worried about its location. Well, do not worry. The hotel is located across the street where the pedestrian area starts. Andrea welcomed us at registration and was very helpful every time we had a question. The room was spotless and we had a balcony overlooking the ocean, the pedestrian area, and one of the churches. Since were there for Palm Sunday weekend, we got to see the town's preparations for Palm Sunday. Our room faced the street and I sat out to people watch. It could be noisy once the tourist season begins. Noise does not bother us.
Breakfast was typical and the cappuccinos were heave. Convenient parking right across the street. Would highly recommend it. Very short walk to the oceanfront. If you like linen clothing, buy from Bottega Brunella, family owned, create their own designs.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 53marialadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this picture postcard town. The staff were genuinely kind and helpful giving us a very warm welcome from the moment we arrived. We had a lovely little balcony with a sea view and you could even admire the view from the window above the shower! The shower itself was wonderful with one of those huge showerheads. The room was decorated in lovely pastel shades and spotless.

Breakfast was excellent and in a bright and airy room with great views. Our stay was to celebrate both of our birthdays and my partner asked reception for recommendations of restaurants - although we didn't know it at the time, we ended up going to the no1 rated by tripadvisor restaurant in the area (La Tagliata I think it was called) and this was all arranged by the lady on reception. It was genuinely one of the best nights we have ever had and cannot recommend it highly enough (and thank the hotel enough for arranging it!).

Overall, a fantastic stay and we will definitely look to return asap! Great location in town and very close to the bus stop. The road outside can be a bit noisy on occasion but this couldn't be heard in the room with the balcony door shut. In any case, we felt it added to the charm of the place as you felt like you were part of the town and really enjoyed watching the world go by.

Very good value for money and thoroughly memorable part of the holiday. Thank you Hotel La Bougainville - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Checked hotel la Bougainville online and this time the pictures shown of the hotel were true to the real thing! Fantastic staff, warm and friendly - Andrea is so helpful and guided us to a nice restaurant by the beach.
We took the room facing the sea and the view couldn´t have been any better..the hotel is located perfectly close to the beach and a bus stop. Love the big shower and overall very clean.
Breakfast was good too and the breakfast room so quaint and airy. We have never been so relaxed!

Room Tip: Room with a beach view is worth the investment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnaz_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived in Positano, having been in Rome and Naples. We had booked for three nights and decided to stay for three more. The hotel is really pleasant, really bright confortable room. We did not have a sea-view and we were looking up at the mountain behind. They serve a lovely breakfast in an airy dining room. We had a hired car and we stored this in the agrage directly opposite the hotel. It costs about €25 per day and there is no alternative. Car journeys around the Amalfi coast are slow and require careful driver attention. Anyway the hotel is in a very good location in Positano and it's a really good base for the Amalfi coast. The staff are excellent and Marella and the others provide good advice on local restaurants, the little villages high above in the hills etc.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.6 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 km away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.4 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 16,403
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing