We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 1,102
US$ 1,067
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Albertina(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 456
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 558
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 718
US$ 586
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 688
US$ 658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maliosa d'Arienzo(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 289
US$ 257
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Gabrisa(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$ 402
US$ 383
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 559/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 2,383
US$ 2,307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 2,215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
85
51
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
51
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta croceevery hourpath of the godsthe busmini marketroad endspay lotamazing viewsamalfi coastcarrying luggagehiking trailpaid parkingpiece of paradiseworth the effortclean roomslocal busesthoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Before you read any further you need to know we loved this place and this review will show that. Just loved it.
My wife made the booking and told me it was on the hillside above Positano. It is. Way, way, way above Positano.
The villa is fabulous. We were on the top (3rd) floor. All rooms have amazing views, and I really do mean amazing. I can't begin to do a description justice of how beautiful the views are from the patio or the rooms. You can see miles and miles of coastline and Positano is visible way below Nocelle. Our room was comfortable, clean and quite spacious. We slept with our curtains open and the deck doors open just so we could wake up in the morning and look directly out at that view. No one can see into the room so that was not a problem. The breakfast each morning was excellent and the hosts were very nice. We traveled southern Italy and Sicily for just over a month in May and June of this year (2017) and this was one of my/our favorite places. Positano and Amalfi are beautiful and great to visit but at the end of the day it was great to be back up the mountain enjoying the views and the peace and quiet. We bought bread, cotto ham and drinks at the little market one night and ate on the patio of the Villa. Another night we had dinner at the Santa Croce restaurant in Nocelle and that was excellent.
I have seen one or two negative reviews about Villa la Quercia and I just can't understand that. It must have been an off day or those reviewers are hard to please because my wife and I can't say enough good things about our stay. It really was that good.
We had a car so we drove there. The road from Positano up the mountain to Nocelle is very narrow (way narrower than the Amalfi coast road) but do not be afraid. Just be careful. Nocelle is where the road ends. There are no roads in Nocelle, just pathways and stairs.
Villa la Quercia is in the heart of Nocelle approximately 150 stairs down and a short walk on the pathways from the parking lot. If you have a car you need to know that the parking lot closest to the village is for residents only. The other lot just above it is for anyone (only about 8-10 spots) but it is a pay lot and if you are staying in Nocelle it will be expensive. One and a half (1 1/2) euros per hour, however you can park on the tiny mountain road anywhere there is a white painted line. We were able to park very close to town after unloading our luggage. The bus down the mountain to Positano runs approximately every hour and is very entertaining because the road is so narrow. New tourist arrivals who ride this bus are always gasping as the bus rounds a corner and comes head on to a car or truck. Everybody stops and they all shuffle around until the bus can get by. It's a great experience and I am still alive to write about it. You will have guessed by now that we would recommend staying here. We found it very enjoyable and good value for the money. Hope you like it too.

Room Tip: Every room has a fabulous view!!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This villa is a piece of paradise! We drove here along the Amalfi Coast and were lucky to find a free parking space along the road. Otherwise the very few paid parking spaces are expensive. Other than that, we loved it here! The villa is beautiful, the views stunning! We could barely take our eyes away from the views of Positano and the Coast from both the terrace and the balcony of our room. The bus ride to and from Positano is terrifying but entertaining. And yes, there are stairs everywhere! This is not a place for anyone with mobility difficulties. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful, best cappuccinos in Italy by Salvatore! We spent over a month on a driving holiday in Southern Italy and this was our favourite place. We walked only an hour on the Path of the Gods, had a picnic on our terrace with bread, ham and yogurt from the mini market, had a very good dinner with breathtaking views at the LaCroce restaurant (definitely make a reservation) and took a ferry to Amalfi from Positano. Very very busy villages, it was fantastic to return to our serene, peaceful Villa. We would happily return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We flew from Boston to Frankfurt to Napoli and were met by our driver (recommended by a friend) and driven along autostrade, through tunnels, and along the winding coast road, arriving somewhat blitzed at the Nocelle parking lot about three o'clock in the afternoon, having been en route for 26 hours by the clock (20 hours in real time). Staggered down the steps to the village. Asked our way and learned that the name was pronounced Ker-cha. Along came a handsome young woman who grabbed Sally's duffel and my roller bag and set off down more steps at a great clip. She was the sister of Carmela Cinque, our hostess. Half the people in Nocelle were related to Carmela and Salvatore! What a wonderful family.

We had a balcony room on the third floor (American usage; secondo piano for Italians). It was clean, commodious, and quiet. The bathroom facilities of course were rudimentary, as always in Europe; I mostly just bathed at the sink rather than fight the shower-snake. I once picked up the wrong key and found it worked just fine, so I am not sure how secure everything is. Incredible view!

The breakfast is generous. One can take a beer (€2) or a bottle of water (€1) from the refrigerator on the honor system at any time of day or night. Wi-fi in the breakfast/common room only.

Nocelle is a world away from crowded, tourist-packed Positano. There is no entertainment and only two places to eat, a white-tablecloth restaurant and the Mini Market where Maria or her daughter-in-law will sell ham, a bit of produce, bread (with luck), and cheese to eat on the patio or take away for a picnic. Also the Kiosk just west of town, on the Path of the Gods.

We walked to Bomerano, taking a taxi back, and otherwise walked down to Montepertusso and shorter walks on the Path of the Gods. Very crowded for a hiking trail! (It was a three-day weekend, with May Day falling on the Monday.) Had some wonderful encounters, including with two newly minted doctors from the University of Kentucky who were carrying their entire possessions on their backs. Also three men carrying bicycles, and another man, stripped to the waist, who was RUNNING the path with a boom box on his shoulder which served the double purpose of amping him up and warning people of his approach. And a grandmotherly goatherd. Altogether, great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cubdriver06h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

This is just wonderful as long as you are ok with steps...they are everywhere in the village of Nocelle, where this B&B is. Not the place for people unable or disinclined to use their legs , as you can't avoid the steps. (However, you can rest all you like whilst looking at the sublime views of the coast)!

Family run by a lovely couple who cannot do enough to help you, whether it be carrying luggage/ organising luggage carriage; local buses; local walking.

Accommodation is lovely, and the balcony view is beyond words. Very clean rooms, and there were some lovely original features.

Breakfast is leisurely, and is served by the proprietors. In in warm weather, it can be taken on the terrace.

The village offers just one place to eat, which can be variable in quality of food and service, but has amazing views, if you lucky enough to be seated by the window. (Early booking does not necessarily ensure this, so beware)!

For walkers, the Path of the Gods goes through the village, so it is an ideal place to stay from that respect, too.

Buses to Positano do run, to link with the ' Sita' service to Amalfi and Sorrento. It is well worth this ride, as the views are amazing! If you have travelled from Sorrento/ to Amalfi, you know already how wonderful the journey is. But, buses do get really busy, even in April, so be warned.

Purchase tickets from tobacco shops where possible, as it speeds up boarding. Do validate your ticket on boarding, via the machine behind driver.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolinesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a holiday around the Amalfi Cost and it's a fabulous place. Some of the other reviews are accurate in that it is in a quiet village and off the beaten track but the views and accommodation make it all so worthwhile.

Positano as a place is beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone, it's stunning with so much to see and do. But it is busy, it was still really busy in September so can't imagine what it's like in the height of summer. That makes it all the nicer to stay somewhere like Nocelle and get away from the hustle and bustle.

It's also perfect if you have a car, staying in Positano itself with a car would be tricky as parking is so limited but in Nocelle you can park easily.

We read all the reviews on how many stairs there are and the vast variations in people's stories so we decided to count! There's 161 but they're broken up into two lots so if you're carrying luggage you get a bit of a break.

The views are unbelievable, the best we've ever had, the hosts are lovely and helpful and the rooms are clean and well equipped. All rooms have sea views, you honestly can't go wrong with this place.

There's one restaurant just up the path, Santa Croce, it's nice enough, the food is good but we ate there a couple of times and the service isn't great so just be prepared to enjoy the relaxation and be in no rush.

The bus from Nocelle into Positano is good, can be really busy but, again just enjoy the experience of being in a fabulous country.

There's also a lovely little square with a church and a drinks stall a few steps down from the gates to the Villa, don't leave without popping down.

It takes about half an hour to walk down the Path of the Gods steps....there's around 1700 (we didn't count those ones!) and then you can go down a few more and you'll find yourself on a lovely little beach with a nice bar and restaurant. You can spend the day here, have lunch and pay €5 for the boat to take you to Positano beach then just get the bus back to Nocelle....a way better idea than getting the steps back.

All in all a great place, we would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lblufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews