We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel Marincanto Was A Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hotel Marincanto Was A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We enjoyed many things about this hotel but in some areas it did not live up to my expectations. First of all, the lemon terrace was stunning and the main lobby area, breakfast area, pool and lounge area were all fabulous. In the extremely hot weather that we experienced it was so nice to have the pool to jump in for a cool off. When I was lying on my lounge chair overlooking the ocean and Positano, I had to pinch myself to see if I was dreaming. The views were out of this world. Breakfast was great and some of the staff were great as well.
The hotel did not meet my expectations in the following areas:
-beds were extremely uncomfortable
-shower was terrible and impossible to control water temperature
-the rooms were just basic
-if you did not have a view, the hotel would not be anything to get excited about.
-When we first arrived at the hotel, we were given a room off to the side that overlooked a walkway. I had booked the hotel 12 months previous and had contacted the hotel numerous times to confirm that I would be given a room with a great view. I was very disappointed with the view and when I asked for another room, they did try to tell me that the hotel was fully booked and that I could not be moved. When I explained that I was staying with them for 6 nights and I had booked 12 months in advance, Enza did move me to another room with a much better view. I was very happy with the new room and I was satisfied with the way she handled the situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    206
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
152
764
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

A more spectacular setting, accommodation and location I could not imagine. The Hotel Marincanto occupies the best location in Positano, from the spectacular views of the Mediterranean, beach and Positano to the gracious, gracious and knowledgeable staff, the Hotel Marincanto is a very difficult place to leave. My only disappointment was that we had to leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterBravmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Hotel was clean and the room was spacious. The staff was friendly (Enza, Antonella, Franco at the front desk were always there to help, Raffaela was the lovely lady who served dinner, Gianni was the friendliest man in Italy). The view is postcard perfect. There are 296 stairs to the beach but it wasn't that bad and besides you need to work off the gelato! Hotel was close to the city center, you can walk to the main road and to the bus stop. I would recommend this to friends and family and would stay there again!
Advice- skip the massage. It was terrible.

Room Tip: 202.. awesome room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marincanto for our honeymoon. We absolutley loved the hotel from when we first arrived. The service is impeccable and they cater to your every need. We had an amazing room overlooking the beach and all of Positano. Tip: The villa rooms all have amazing views and are not attached to the main building of the hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and has a pool overlooking all of Positano. You will not regret booking this hotel.
We have no complaints about this hotel, and we definitley plan on returning one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CUTHERE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent five nights in a standard room with a terrace that had an amazingly beautiful full view of the sea, the coast and the town of Positano. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the bathroom very clean, but the main attraction was the view from the terrace. The hotel is located a little bit out of the busy part of town/harbor but we thought that was a plus. It was quiet and felt like a retreat. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace filled with lemon trees, overlooking the sea. We also sat on the terrace each evening to have some pre-dinner wine. The pool is beautiful and Gianni at the pool anticipates your every need. We also took the steps down to the beach and the water there was wonderful. Everyone on the staff at the Marincanto is so helpful and pleasant. No matter what you ask, they help you with a smile. They make dinner reservations (La Tagliata and Il Ritrovo are musts), help you with ferry schedules and take care of all your needs. While in Positano, we visited Amalfi and Ravello and took a motorboat excursion around Capri (see Capri Whales di Wendy). Our five days at the Marincanto were wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony with an unobstructed sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.3 km away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,974 - ₹ 52,719
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing