We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with the sea view”
Review of Hotel Il Gabbiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a small hotel with good sea view. Rooms are quite small but has a terrace and good sea view. Breakfast was basic but acceptable. Have to walk down to the sea and pub area. But personally I prefer this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or a terrace. Then you can get a really good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Great views from the hotel and a nice place to relax and enjoy peaceful views. The staff are warm and friendly. Plus breakfast included everyday. The internal drinks and snacks are very affordable as well.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We booked with Air Transat vacations. We were supposed to stay at another hotel but unfortunately got changed to Il Gabbiano. The reception was not very welcoming. There was a mixup with vouchers and we didn't get them emailed to us. Lady at reception was not very helpful. She was annoyed. Our room was ok but had no privacy on patio. Our breakfast was very minimal compared to the hotel in Sorrento that we had just spent 4 days at. I would not hurry back here. The day of departure, we had a pick up time of 7am. Breakfast started at 8am. There wasn't even an offer of coffee. Very cool send off. Better places to stay I'm sure!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I have to say having read the reviews after we had booked our 3 night stay I was starting to worry !! Well no reason at all our room was basic but so very clean , the view was just breathtaking ok the beds were slightly on the firm side but certainly not hard .breakfast was adequate, we slept really well especially having walked so many steps around Positano . The staff were all very friendly and helpful . For our first visit in Positano we were all delighted and will be back

Room Tip: Go for the room with balconies and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayClackworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We booked this hotel due to the promise of a terrace with sea view. The terraces are not really private as they are only separated by some wrought iron fencing and wicker fencing. At the end of these are ropes that do not provide any privacy and you can look along all the terraces. Our particular room was at one end of the run and did not have a sea view unless you stood up. Couldn't see anything from the lounger or chair. This was due to the concrete planter obscuring the view. All other rooms had the said wrought iron railings that you could actually see the sea through.
The room itself was basic. It did not have an in room safe so beware. I would have thought these would be standard by now. Beds were rock hard.
Our booking agent, Booking.com, advertised a minibar. I would expect this to be in the room however all we had was an empty fridge that basically stopped things getting warm but didn't chill anything. One day I asked for ice and was sold a disposable ice pack for 1 euro which started to melt about 2 minutes after putting in fridge.
The breakfast was pretty basic and the coffee was bitter. maybe that's the way they like it.
As it was August and we didn't book until June we paid what I think is a premium price for what is a modest 3 star at best, 200 euros per night (@£170).
On reflection, I'd have paid more and stayed at a 4 star (but hey, no guarantees there either!)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
805 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
294 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#37 of 38 in Positano
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
453 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gabbiano

Address: Via Pasitea 310, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Price Range: ₹ 11,401 - ₹ 20,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gabbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Il Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabbiano Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing