We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond your wildest imagination.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il San Pietro di Positano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beyond your wildest imagination.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stumbled across this jewel in the crown of the Amalfi Coast by accident and ended up staying for two nights in their largest suite. The views, the pool, the private beach, the bar built into the cliff and the lift shaft bored through solid rock in front of the beach were all an absolute stroke of genius. All of these aspects contributed to an incredible stay. The staff were all professional and courteous.

The only downside was the Michelin star restaurant which wasn't up to our expectations. The service was great however the quality of the food was less than ordinary. Nonetheless this didn't dampen our enthusiam about the hotel and the experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Stay in room 59 or at least ask to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoeMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    48
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
89
515
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a very beautiful restaurant and the food is very good. However, the evening that we were there, the service was terrible. It took a long time for anyone to come to our table to ask us if we wanted a cocktail to start. The waiter did not seem to be that interested or accommodating. He never asked whether we liked our food or asked us if we wanted anything else. He forgot our pasta course altogether and just brought our main course. We were so disappointed that we left and had our cheese course and dessert at another restaurant. It's really too bad since it was our last night in Positano and we wanted to end on a high note. Go to Al Palazzo or La Sponda if you want to go to a special place for dinner with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glen ellyn
Level Contributor
360 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The views are incredible. The restaurant excellent. The most amazing thing about this place is the flora. Blooming flowers and plants are everywhere, giving off incredible aromas. Somehow they've managed to get the plants to grow through the walls and thrive inside the hotel. The prettiest place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just left after six days there on the way to Monaco for the F1...what a delightful find. Scenery, scents, wonderful atmosphere. Wish I would have traveled across from Sorrento much earlier in life. Don't miss comp yacht trip 1130-130 pm up e coast past Amalfi and dip in sea near the grotto. Go north to one of the restaurants on the hilltop...we found via trip advisor and they pick up and deliver...expect a personal relationship after a 3 hour meal.

Kayaks tip in rough current off beach in mid may...or maybe it was the cosmos. Elevator through mountain rock opening into dripping cave.... Priceless.

Don't miss this 5 star...Really. I though I was sick of travel and I want to move in. With their 13 yr old dog :)

Room Tip: All rooms completely different. Inetersting/Wonderful. Cliff over ocean to surround by flower cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
319 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Another mythical hotel (such as the Splendido) where time stopped in the fifties (but everything is modern with wi-fi)
Attentive if a bit overbearing service, tradition, elegance. This is not your casual place, style matters.
The views on the Amalfi coast are wonderful, the food is excellent. The shuttle to go downtown is the best solution in view of the crazy traffic.
Rooms are comfortable and elegant.
Very expensive, all this service has to be paid for...

Room Tip: All have ocean views, you may want to request a view on the Positano side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
1.6 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.8 km away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Property: Il San Pietro di Positano
Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,846 - ₹ 1,42,051
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing