We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The winding roads, the orange terry cloth cushions on the twin engine mahogany speedboats, incredible people in gorgeous discos, grottos and beaches all spotted with bougainvillea and potted spilling geraniums in bright urns and clay pots make this spot on Earth extra special. But this hotel is carved into the side of a mountain and as you enter off of the aforementioned winding road to get to its lobby and terraced restaurant in the belly of the mountain (and to its private beach of rock slabs) one must drop down an elevator! And now I can hear the lava-pebbled beaches' baby rocks roll and grate against each other in the tide. I'm cliff diving into the aqua blue working up an appetite for... and the food... Go.

Room Tip: Aim for the room(s) with the jacuzzi against the bay window overlooking the Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlogetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    49
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
90
520
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

There is no doubt that this is the best hotel we have ever been to. After staying a week in Rome attending a Cardiology conference and a very long winter working at my hospital in England it was the best remedy for a tired doctor. Il San Pietro is absolutely fabulous, I fully understand why the actress Julia Roberts and Sting, the english singer, consider this italian hotel one of the best in the world.

We arrived late in the evening. The head of reception gave us the opportunity to choose our room out of two different ones, both of them extremely beautiful. Once in our room a member of staff brought us a cocktail, a bottle of champagne and wonderful fresh local fruit. These were all free of charge and it was not even mentioned in the hotel website when we did the booking. Maria, my wife, had a bath in the most amazing bathroom. The bath edge is a large window which is straight on the cliff with the most beautiful view of the Amalfi coast with the village of Praiano opposite to us, We have never been seen anything like this before.

Our room was very ample, spotless with a walking wardrobe, lots of light, combined modern and 1800's replica furniture with a lovely balcony with very similar views to the bathroom.

The hotel is located just in the outskirts of Positano, a village in the heart of the Amalfi coast, with its houses perched on a cliff and a beautiful beach . Many painting artists live locally and sell their work outdoors. The history of Positano goes back to Roman times and this is reflected in archaeological findings which are visible in the local church. Il San Pietro has its own private shuttle which can be used anytime with its own chauffer which will take you up and down the village as many times as you wish and free of charge.

The hotel is placed on the top of the most amazing cliff and its foundations are excavated in the natural rock which is visible in several areas inside the San Pietro. The common rooms have all very large windows with all around views of the Amalfi coast, from Positano to Praiano including views of the island which was once privately own by Nureyev, the russian, worldwide known dancer. The common rooms are surrounded by a very large patio with the same views, absolutely covered in flowers, lemon and mediterranean trees. The patio's benches are made out of the very colourful local pottery. The outdoor infinity type swimming pool is spectacular and extremely well looked after. The hotel has its own private beach,..... yes as you read: own private beach right at the botton of the cliff. The only way to access this area is through a private lift totally excavated in the rock and the access to it is through a cave, The trip down takes forty seconds !!!. The private beach has a bar also excavated in the rock, restaurant in and outdoors. From May onwards there is the possibility to use the hotel's private yacht which is a beautiful wooden style good size motor boat which can take you all the way to Capri from the private beach itself. The place is breathtaking and the waters some of the most transparent I have seen in the Med.

Breakfast was included. This took place in the main hotel's restaurant, another very large room with very similar views to our balcony. The buffet was simple but all the products were extremely good quality and homemade by their chefs who ran the one Michellin star restaurant. The bread was cooked in a Pompeii roman style outdoor oven and this was visible to the guests. During our breakfast during our last day at the hotel which was this last Easter Sunday, the head waiter brought us two presents which were a local cake made for this festivity and a table arrangement made out Easter eggs and a little figure of a lamb made out of sugar.

The staff were some of the best I have ever met even comparing them to other hotels own by Relais & Chateaux or to other chains such as the Ritz Carlton. They were extremely friendly and professional. It was lovely to see the lady owner walking around first thing in the morning looking after the wonderful flower arrangements, chatting to guests and staff. She must be a very proud lady !!

From the hotel you can access Pompeii, Vesuvious, Naples and Herculeum within one hour traveling through the most amazing winding roads and cliffs.

The hotel as you all know is five start GL. Our room daily cost was from 460 to 530 euros. This may sound a lot but I can assure you that this was extremely good value for money when you think that this is the closest you can get to paradise on Earth.

i hope you have found our comments useful and that if you choose the San Pietro at Positano you will enjoy it as much as we did last week. May I take this opportunity to congratulate and to thank the San Pietro's lady owner and staff for giving us the most remarkable holiday.

Charles & Maria Avery

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Armaniexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed at this property a couple of times. Impeccable service, amazing food and views.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHG1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Il San Pietro for 5 days in September 2011, and we LOVED every minute of it!

Right from the moment we arrived, we were very impressed with the graciousness of the staff. We felt so welcomed by everyone, and this warm hospitality continued throughout our entire stay. They have perfected the art of flawless service. We were simply amazed at their understated, yet highly-focused attention to every detail. Everything was done with a touch of elegance!

Highlights included ~ receiving a handwritten note and welcome drinks on our arrival, admiring the breathtaking view from our balcony, enjoying Bellini's on the terrace, eating dinner each night at their fabulous restaurant, lounging in the sun at San Pietro's private beach, shopping for hand-painted pottery in Positano, watching the gorgeous sunset each day, going for a romantic boat cruise along the Amalfi Coast, walking through their garden built into the side of the cliff... this list could go on and on! We were even lucky enough to see a fireworks display for the Festa del Pesce when we walked out on the terrace one night after dinner. The timing was so perfect, we almost believed the fireworks started just for us!!!

Overall, this was more than "just a vacation" for us. This was a magical experience beyond our wildest dreams, and we are so grateful for all of the wonderful memories that we will cherish forever! We have already made plans to return in September 2012!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hotel was recommended by a friend of my husbands who also happens to be one of the top travel agents in the US. When we arrived we were in awe. This is the most amazing place ever. Our room overlooking the water with a wonderful balcony. The welcome bellini was delicious. The staff warm and welcoming. The food absolutely fantastic. It was so good that we had dinner there every night. The views were spectacular. No matter where you were. Romantic and peaceful and just the best hotel experience ever. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
1.6 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
881 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
872 reviews
7.6 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,166 reviews
1.8 km away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
709 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Property: Il San Pietro di Positano
Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,101 - ₹ 1,01,530
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing