We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My family and I stay here most years for a week or 10 days. It's perfectly located for exploring the Amalfi Coast and surrounding area, or it's just perfect if you want to lounge about and soak up the sun (and drinks) all day. The staff are lovely and make you feel very welcome and relaxed.

They let us have their boat (with driver/captain?) for the morning last year too, which was wonderful. Need to get on the waiting list for it though and not everyone knows that they offer it!

Restaurant is nice for lunch, but doesn't get busy enough to create an atmosphere in the evening, so I would recommend that you ask them how many reservations they have on any given evening. Otherwise it'll be your party with 7 staff staring at you.

The view from the pool and from the rooms is breathtaking. I could look at it forever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grattafagiolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for the time dedicated to write us this review. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again this summer and am sure you'll appreciate the cuisine of our Chef Sorrentino again this year since we're always enriching our menus with more varieties of local dishes .
Best regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    147
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
105
526
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

After poring over reviews and photos of Positano hotels we selected Poseidon. Our reward was five wonderful days and nights. My only complaint is that we had to leave. My only concern in posting another rave review is they'll be full when we wish to return.

I won't repeat all the positive points that others have made, but I'll point out that I am, in general, a bit dubious of concierge/front desk advice -- however, all the recommendations and advice from the staff at Poseidon were spot on.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
...and our only really regret was to say goodbye to you. The title of your review summarizes it all and we can't be happier to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations, so thank you.
We look forward to having you again with us. hopefully very soon.
Best regards
Samer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at the Poseidon for 2 nights in early September 2011. Our first 2 nights in Italy after the long flight from the USA and drive from Roma FCO. The staff was very helpful and professional. The room was clean and had a balcony with a spectacular view! Positano is one of the most picturesque places on earth and the view from our room was awesome. We had breakfast each morning on the main terrace overlooking the sea. The food was great and the service awesome. We walked to the beach, and shopped in the stores on the way down and back up to the hotel. The Poseidon is convenient to everything in Positano. You can walk the streets,or take the 350 steps up the side of the mountain to access the hotel from downtown, ask the staff for directions.

Room Tip: Our room had a terrace with 2 lounges which made it a nice place for relaxing with a cocktail and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAJ5655312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are going to the Amalfo coast, definitely go to Positano and stay at the Poseidon hotel. We highly recommend it, after staying 9 nights in October. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful with whatever you needed. The food in the hotel is excellent and the breakfast buffet including everything. The terrace where we ate breakfast was gorgeous with the stunning view looking down to the water and town. The hotel has a wonderful location, high enough up to enjoy the views, and still be able to walk into town and not have to take a shuttle. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, definitely memorable. They even have a motorboat that they take guests out for a three hour trip up the Amalfi coast which was incrediable. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: higher up have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have stayed at the Poseidon on 3 occasions in the last 4 years. On each occasion we have found the style in which the hotel is run very professional, helpful and genuine (not "have a nice day" by rote). This sense of comfort seems to affect other guests in the same way which helps to make the overall effect. The owners and Samer (guest relations manager) set a great standard in being hospitable which rubs off on all the staff. Really enjoyed the whole break and regretted having to leave beautiful Positano.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 km away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.2 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,782 - ₹ 59,754
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing