We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
328
254
83
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
254
83
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun terrace hot tub amazing views carry your luggage the hotel staff lovely hotel walk up bottle of prosecco the main road steep steps superior room private balcony our honeymoon beautiful town the bus fornillo beach sea view
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 713 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Where on their website doesn't it say that in order to get to this hotel you need to climb 85 steps - answer nowhere! Rooms are tiny and sparsely decorated - restaurant extremely limited menu - no pool- 500 steps (yes 500) to the rocky beach! Once you're up there you never want to come down and back up the 85 steps! Needs to put that on their website- I'd give it a zero if I could!

Room Tip: No tip - don't stay here unless you want to climb 85 steps whenever you return to the hotel
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank internetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arianna65, Direttore at Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests,
many thanks for your feedback.
We are sorry you was not informed enough about the steps. Positano is not a flat place and wherever you will find them.
This is the Vertical city, its caratteristic are the steps and probably is unique for that.The room you booked was the basic room.
If you are looking for the best view you need to book superior or the deluxe on the higher floor.
The hotel offer restaurant service from 12 to 11.30pm with differents menu:a la carte menu with various courses for lunch and dinner time,
and the daily menu with three courses and two different choises.Out of the lunch and dinner time,you can have snack menu as pizza, starters,salads, lasagna, gnocchi and some other hot courses. We are sorry if it will be not enough .
We hope to do better next time if you will give us the opportunity.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel does have an amazing view and porter service. For the price neither the room nor the amenities were that great. We even had to pay extra for beach towels. As mentioned in other reviews there was poor customer service as the staff was not very friendly. The curtains in the room were sheer and let all the morning sun in. The furniture was outdated and the sheets appeared unwashed. My wife and I even got rashes after staying in the room! The wifi is non existent. For the price point find another hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arianna65, Direttore at Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Mr Bryan,
we are very very sorry to listen your review.
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel location and the gorgeus view you can enjoy from here as the hard work of our porter service
to help our guests with their luggage.
Our staff work with passion and entusiasm to do the best for all our guests ,we regret that you have not felt welcomed enough.
The room furnisher are new and well daily cleaning.Every day you have fresh towels and bed sheets .If you got rashes and we are sorry, be sure was not take from the room.
We hope the complaint was not moved for the opinion of the expensive life of Positano.
warm regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Hotel Conca d'Oro has beautiful views of Positano and the Amalfi Coast, but the hotel itself is highly underwhelming.

Pros:
- Unbeatable views of Positano, situated high up on the cliff

- Convenient access to Fornillo Beach (less crowded / less expensive beach)

- Friendly porter service to carry suitcases up to hotel

Cons:
- When we went to check-in, we were told there was a delay and our room would not be ready until the next day. While the hotel offered to transfer us to a nearby hotel for the night, they did nothing to compensate us for the inconvenience - no discount, no additional amenities, etc. When I asked the front desk to speak to the manager about this, they looked at me like I was crazy and I was told they would and get back to me - but they never did and never satisfied our request.

- Furnishings in the room are outdated and did not appear to be very clean (e.g., the comforter in the room looked unwashed and had multiple stains on it, the bathtub in the bathroom was outdated and stained, etc.).

- As mentioned above, service was not very friendly - especially considering the price being paid (~$330 / night). Front desk staff did not seem to want to be bothered with our questions / concerns.

- The breakfast included in the hotel price does not include typical hot breakfast items - e.g., eggs, sausage, etc. Only cheese, croissants, toast, etc. are included which seems inappropriate given the expensive hotel price tag and other experiences in Italy.

Overall, the views of Positano from this hotel truly are beautiful and breathtaking. However, I would not recommend the hotel for the reasons mentioned above - look into other similarly-priced hotels and/or AirBnB's in the area instead.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SteveD1772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We came to Positano for a wedding and had the most wonderful experience at this beautiful hotel. The entire staff was great! We had a room with a terrace as requested with lounge chairs, it was an amazing view to relax to!! The room was clean and comfortable, housekeeping does a great job. Breakfast was delicious with a large variety of sweet and savory items to choose from. Dinner on their terrace was delicious, with a view to mezmorize.. The pasta con vonglole and the veal were excellent! Thank you very much for just an amazing vacation! We will be back!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We recently spent the final 5 nights of our European adventure staying in this lovely hotel. After reading previous reviews we held some reservations about our stay, but after our introduction at check-in and then being shown to our room these concerns quickly changed to relief. The staff could not be faulted, for two people who could only say "Hello" and "Thanks" in Italian it was a great relief to know that almost all of the staff spoken very good English, could help with any questions we had and were willing to assist in making our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was not over the top but had everything we needed, and after all when you are staying somewhere as beautiful as Positano why would you want to spend all day in your room anyway. The view from our room was spectacular, however then we went to the solarium deck and were blown away, One of the best nights we had in Positano was simply sitting on this deck with a bottle of wine and pizza and watching the sun setting. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi was really hard to get good range, however I found that a problem throughout Positano so I don't think that is the fault of this beautiful hotel. All that meant is we couldn't post more photos of our amazing stay.

The breakfasts were great, provided plenty of choices and the pastries were always fresh. A great selection of Italian wines, which was great for a couple from the Adelaide Hills, renowned for their wine selction.

Some reviews have been critical of the steps to get into the Hotel, while they were unwanted after an evening of eating pasta and drinking wine they were always a good way to work off a day of overeating. Remember the Hotel has porters who will bring your bags up and down the steps at the start and end of your stay.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arianna65, Direttore at Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear David,
no words enough to thank you for you so nice feedback.
We are very happy to enjoyed your stay at Hotel Conca d'oro and you appreciated the work of all the staff, our food
and the splendid view you can have from here.
Sorry for the WIFI. The geographical position of Positano could have slowed down the signal for WiFi, especially
during the greater turnout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews