We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palazzo Murat....... Simply the best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Palazzo Murat....... Simply the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from beautiful Positano and its #1 hotel: Palazzo Murat.
Last year we had spent a few wonderful days there. This year, being our 40th wedding
anniversary, we wanted something extra special. And we couldn't think of celebrating anywhere
else except Palazzo Murat.
.We had stayed at other nice hotels in Positano, but none compare to Palazzo Murat. It has the best location, with beautiful views of Positano. The rooms are kept in perfect condition. The buffet breakfast served in the courtyard is indeed wonderful, with smiling servers. The garden is an oasis of peace and beauty, where they grow their own vegetables & herbs. Our room had a huge terrace where we spent many magical hours.
Vito Attanasios and his family own the hotel and keep it in excellent condition.
The manager, Antonino, is a specially nice person who treats his guests like family, with respect and always with a smile. We consider him a friend. Carla, Concetta, Filomena, Nicola,
and the rest of the staff are all wonderful people who made our stay so memorable.
Now that the hotel will be opening their new pool, Palazzo Murat will be an even more special place that we hope to come back to next year!
Our thanks to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geniemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    114
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
158
562
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

From the moment we walked into the hotel we knew our stay was going to be great - the location was perfect and the views over Positano could not have been better. Our room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the grounds and over the city. The beach was very close. Breakfast was served in the beautiful courtyard and the choice of food was extensive and delicious. We also had a group dinner in the restaurant, excellent wine and food. We had the pleasure of meeting one of the family who owns and runs the hotel and she was a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SareyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is an overdue review. We had a sublime 5-day stay here with our 2 daughters last July. The location is perfect, the courtyard where breakfast is served was beyond beautiful, our rooms connected and were spacious and comfortable. Delightful! Hotel parking was even convenient!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This has to be one of the most beautiful and charming hotels we have stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from Hotel manager to House maid.
The views from our room balcony (Room 18, superior double room in new part of hotel) was fantastic. Restaurant courtyard below us, gorgeous in the evening with glowing candlelights.

The location is ideal for the town. At the bottom of the hill behind the Church. I believe the hotels further up the hillsides are cheaper due to this fact.

Breakfast is served between 8am and 11am. All you can eat continental buffet. Waiters willing to top up your tea or bring you fresh Cappucino's.

Food in the restaurant is a delight though on the expensive side. But you soon realise that Positano is a very expensive place, definately not the place to visti on a tight budget.

Hotel Palazzo Murat is a beautiful hotel in glorious lemon grove gardens and courtyards, a very romantic setting. Especially in the evening. I had intended to propose to my girlfriend in Positano, maybe on one of the hillside vista's, beach, church square or one of the many terraced restaurants. Though as soon as i saw the Hotel Palazzo Murat's courtyard garden and old steps - I knew this was the place to do it!!

We fully recommend this hotel for a romantic break. Service is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We arrived in Positano for our Honeymoon & selected Murat and it did not let us down. We stayed in the rooms above reception which are the original and amazing. When arriving on a bus be sure to take the last stop in Positano and just walk down the hill/ stairs. Position of the hotel is great. Elevated enough for a view and close enough to the restaurants in town. Our favourite was the hotel's own restaurant! Breakfast outside in the morning was fantastic and staff very friendly. Overall it was and amazing experience.

Room Tip: Select the rooms nearest reception for an authentic Palazzo experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.6 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,124 - ₹ 38,951
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing