We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Safe, Friendly Place to Stay in Positano”
Review of Residence Alcione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Alcione
Ranked #7 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I a headed back to Residence Alcione for my fourth 2-week visit. This family run establishment provides the same incredible views as the very expensive and famous hotel across the street - at 1/4 the price - with a larger terrace. Do opt for the wonderful large continental breakfast each day - and have it on your terrace. My large bed sitting room, large bathroom (equipped with a whirlpool tub), kitchenette, and very large terrace (with a full electric retractable awning) were kept spotless by the friendly, polite staff. The owners' shop Idillio has some of the most beautiful and well made clothes in Positano - I have 4 year old dresses that look new after many washes. The owners/managers speak English as does the staff in the shop downstairs. The mini fridge is plenty large enough for bottled water, fruit, cheese, olives and juice. After the large continental breakfast each day, I eat very light at lunch, and then go out to dinner. I bring my Kindle loaded with books and a small DVD player for amusement. The local bus is 50 steps from the front door. The walk to the beach takes about 10 minutes. Residence Alcione is perfectly located -- and well within walking distance to Positano's best restaurants. I am a solo traveler and always feel very safe here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyLovesPositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

I promised the wonderful people here I would write a review.... i hesitate as I fear I will never get in again :)
the most gracious, helpful people work here: every single one!
this was spectacular as a place to stay, to relax and to enjoy Positano.
fabulous in every way
the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtimes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We started for 4 nights in two apartments in early October and were absolutely thrilled!

We had organized a transfer from Naples train station which was easy, the drive took about an hour, and were dropped at the front door which is on Via C. Columbo (the main street through positano). As soon as the car stopped we were greeted by Fernando (or Angelo, we were never sure of the name) who greeted us very warmly and took us to the rooms. She works in the clothes boutique next door which we suspect owns the apartments.

We thought the view from the road Downstairs was great, but from the rooms even better still. We stayed in Sirena 3&4, two adjoining apartments, which were very large, had kitchens, large bathroom with jacuzzi bath, washing machines, but most importantly balconies for each with views over the spectacular town and coastline.

Apart from the very flash and expensive hotel we stayed at venice, this is probably the best place we stayed during the 5 weeks in italy. I would definitely recommend it. Simply superb.

Two more MUST DO's for Positano
Delicatessen Positano (www.delicatessenpositano.com) is the place to get all supplies. At first its a bit daunting but it will have everything - food, nibbles, washing powder etc. Best of all is the home cooked food. We bought food from here for dinner each night and is some of the best food we have eaten in italy. They cooked traditional Italian fare in the kitchen downstairs (the shop down around the corner with all the lemon....everything is theirs too), cooked by two very delightful and charming chefs. They also offer cooking classes which I only discovered the second last day in town. €50 for 4 hours with the chefs downstairs, neither spoke English but we seemed to get by just fine. It was just me in the kitchen with them, I helped them cooked prob 6-8 dishes, they kept offering samples and then prepared a plate for lunch with wine......far too much food to have eaten it all but if you have healthy appetite or are starving, you are set. They encourage you to write all the recipes down and also send you on you way with a big parcel of food for dinner! Amelia runs the deli upstairs and is an absolute gem! Thanks for such wonderful eating experiences in such simple settings!

Secondly - Positano Drivers (www.positanodrivers.com). This business is run by two lovely guys, Francesco and Guiseppe. They both speak excellent conversational english, with Guiseppe having lived in Australia for 6 months, so gets the sense of humor very well! We used these guys twice - firstly as an excursion to Pompeii as we couldn't organize anything easily from positano at the last minute. They charged €140 to drive there, wait then return to positano. Travelling companions had planned on finding a guide there but Guiseppe organized one on the way for €100 for a private tour which seems to be the standard price. They all had such fun that we invited them to lunch, they recommended a lovely place away from all the other tourists. We also used them to drive us to Naples airport which cost €95. great guys, definitely would recommend their service.

Room Tip: Ask for Sirena 3 or Sirena 4 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a suite with a fantastic view. Breakfast is served on your terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location in Positano. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

There is nothing wrong with these apartments.

On our three month trip around Europe, these apartments are our most expensive accommodation and were nowhere near the nicest. This is no doubt due to the location of the apartments, and the fact that Positano is a such a sought after destination.

The room was large, and clean, with typical Amalfi coast decoration. Air-con was functional. Bed was reasonably comfortable.
The balcony was also spacious, but as we were a lower room, we had our view of the sea blocked by a parking garage.

The breakfast served was nice, and it was good to be able to eat on our balcony.

Would look for other locations before booking this again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breol604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.5 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.0 km away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#9 of 38 in Positano
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Alcione? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Alcione

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 135, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: ₹ 10,732 - ₹ 30,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Alcione 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Alcione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing