We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sporting Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“wonderful view”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the royal sporting hotel for a few nights recently, knowing the reviews were saying the hotel was dated and need of a face lift! I guess l would need to agree, however, the position was fabulous and the staff very helpful. We had a balcony room with sea view which was wonderful, however, the balcony wasn't private by any means so if your looking for something a little intamte perhaps this may not be the place for you! Out of the hotel to the right are plenty of restuarants, cafes etc. Also, you must walk to the end of the street to the small chapel with its magnificent views over the ocean and beyond. What a picturesque place. On the way back from the chapel head to the laft and you will find the small narrow streets of restaurants and shops of all kinds to linger around. All in all a beautiful place to spend your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol1136458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    110
    80
    49
    17
See reviews for
51
159
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

To me, a 4 star rating is to have accommodations that are luxurious and service that is excellent. The Royal Sporting Hotel has a 4 star view of the mediterranean, all other aspects of the hotel barely rank a 2 star hotel. Our room was medium in size, two twin beds, a desk , small T.V. on a wall stand. We did not have a view, but our friends had a balcony and a lovely view of the sea.

The beds were very hard, sheets were not of a high thread count and the bedspread was thin and like something my grandma had on her beds. The pillows were very hard and flat, I had to ask for extra pillows because they were so uncomfortable.

The bathroom was very small and two people could not stand at the sink at the same time. It was however very clean.

If you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed. The hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating in my book. The food was good, room was clean and the service was average.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view with a balcony. Don't expect the Taj-Mahal it is more like a motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Friendly service, good breakfast, very nice swimmingpool. We had a room with seaview, the room was clean an comfortable but a bit dark and outdatet. Walking distance to the boats to Cinque Terre. Considering the standard,the hotel is a overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HegeKTrondheim_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The Hotel looks smart from the outside but like too many of the italian riviera hotels it is a bitt outdated an run down. Sure the view from the terrace and the swimming pool area is breathtaking, but the rooms are not up to standard. Considering the cost, I would say that the hotel is not worth the price. But the location is excellent and the potential is there. Portovenere is a true gem, and we absolutely fell in love with the place. One word of warning though, everything is expensive here. We ended up paying 32 Euro for two sun beds at the beach. The small harbor area is fantastic with many good restaurants to choose from, and these are not to pricey. The breakfast was very good. Being a scandinavian I am not used to eating cookies for breakfast, and the range to choose from was very good. The Fitness center was a laugh!!!! If you plan to end up as Arnold Schwartzenegger this is not the hotel for you, unless you start lifting the furniture in your room. I still to this day can not comprehend how the could call this a fitness center!!! The car park will sett you back 20 Euros pr night!!!!!! Par it in the street. Perfectly safe and free of charge

Room Tip: Get a room up front for a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were mystified how this hotel claims 4 stars. It is old and tired, with staff who appear disinterested and not very friendly. The room had a nice view, but the furniture and fittings were sparse, old, and not comfortable. The bathroom is very small, and also "vintage". We had no complaints about the cleanliness.

Sound proofing between rooms is terrible. The balcony has no privacy, and its furniture is uncomfortable.

The hotel's pool area is unpleasant. The pool had far too much chlorine in it, and the attendant was brusque and overbearing.

Breakfast was ok.

This hotel is one of the furthest from the harbour area and the parking is expensive - which they don't tell you about unless you ask.

Neither royal nor sporting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Venere hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
413 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
291 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
166 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
154 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Property: Royal Sporting Hotel
Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,227 - ₹ 28,030
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing