We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value, great location but lacks charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonna Pevero Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good value, great location but lacks charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I stayed at Colonna Pevero with my wife in August 2010 during a short trip to Sardinia. The hotel is located about 10 minutes away from Porto Cervo and has a great location that is within walking distance of a very nice beach. The hotel is very new and is finished in a relatively traditional style with modern accents. Rooms are relatively small but have all the modern conveniences. The hotel has a great pool that is set up on multiple terraces and is very large. It is, however, not heated and was surprisingly cool. Breakfast was very good and served in a restaurant overlooking the pool. Service was generally good but at times seemed disorganized. Our one critisicm is that the hotel lacks a sense of charm and warmth that you expect when you visit Italy. Although expensive, the hotel offers very good value for money in one of the most expensive areas in Europe. We have stayed at Le Ginestre in the past and visited the Grand Hotel, compared to those hotels Colonna Pevero is superior based on its location, amenities and finish. If we were to visit Porto Cervo again we would stay at Colonna Pevero.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    35
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
106
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We originally booked a two week stay at the hotel, looking forward to a relaxing holiday at a 5-star resort. The hotel is beautifully set in the hills surrounding Porto Cervo, and has great swimming pool facilities and a small beach only a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet is very good, and the waiters friendly. That is pretty much where our positive experience ended.

The rooms of the hotel are very small, we could hardly fit our baby's pram next to our bed for him to sleep in. The balcony was also small, and had very uncomfortable chairs (I did see that some of the other rooms had better outdoor furniture). The decor of the room was old fashioned, and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. We let the reception staff know that we wanted a top mattress for the bed, but even if they assured us it would be fixed that never happened.

Food at the hotel was OK, but horribly over priced. A regular club sandwich at the beach bar will cost you 22 euros, lunch and supper at the restaurants were also very expensive, and not corresponding with the quality of the food served.

The service we received from reception staff was very varied, a couple of the guys were friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and other things, but most of them were not very helpful or friendly at all. An incident made us have to talk to the manager on duty on the day we checked out, and I have to say I have never met a less customer-oriented person at a hotel anywhere! We have tried to contact the hotel and the iti-hotels chain on numerous occations after leaving, but have not received replies to any e-mails or been able to contact them on the phone.

All in all I would say that even if this hotel is set in stunning surroundings and has nice swimming pool facilities it comes nowhere near being a 5-star resort. There are many hotels in the area that are nicer (with equally great views), and (at least when I checked) more reasonably priced. The horrendous service we received from some of the reception staff and the manager does not belong in hospitality anywhere.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank LineRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is well designed, modern and comfortable, but would agree that given its 5 star billing it should offer more luxury, particularly as far as the rooms are concerned, which are fine but just not 5 star. The service is good and staff friendly and mostly efficient, however, prices are sky high, particularly for drinks, soft and alcoholic. It has a great location and wonderful setting (near both beach and port), but you do need a car if you're staying for more than a couple of days, but the enjoyment factor is diluted a little by the super crazy prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent four nights at the Colonna Pevero, mostly on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. This hotel is not a five star and is certainly not worth the exorbitant prices it demands.

On the plus side, the staff are quite friendly. The five pools are nice and the location, close to the town of Porto Cervo, is a big plus.

On the negative side: the rooms are VERY small. The lighting in the rooms is poor and the amenities are sparse - more like a upclass motel than a 5 star hotel that charges over $500++ a night. The food and drinks at the hotel are super expensive. Be prepared for EUR 20 cocktails and EUR40 lunches per person on average.

Though the service was mostly good, our wake-up call on the last day rang 30 minutes before schedule which was quite annoying. Most troubling of all was the fact that they checked us into the room and the engineer walked in 10 minutes later to say that our bed was broken. We had to complain about it several times before they replaced it.

All in all, an okay experience but certainly not one would expect for this kind of money and for a hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

The hotel is beautiful, very modern decor and spacious room and bathroom.
The pool is very nice a lot of space and sunbeds.
The breakfast is great, lot of options but not as big as an american buffet.
The staff is very kind.
But the highest point is location, location and location.
The hotel is very close to the best ( and most expensive) hotels in Sardegna and Porto Cervo, the luxury center of Sardegna.
Close to the best beaches in North Sardegna.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
4.5 km away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 22 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.5 km away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 22 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
6.6 km away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Pevero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Pevero Hotel

Property: Colonna Pevero Hotel
Address: Loc. Golfo del Pevero, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,641 - ₹ 59,477
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Pevero Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, equipped with the latest technologies, are designed to meet any need or wish.The Hotel features 102 guest rooms & suites, two restaurants, three bars, five swimming pools, conference rooms, business centre, fitness centre, Wellness & Beauty centre, private helicopter pad, independent car parks. The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf.The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf. All the rooms feature a private bathroom with bath or shower, direct telephone line (including in the bathroom), satellite TV, pay-per-view cable TV service and wire radio (including in the bathroom), mini bar, lockbox, internet connection, hair dryer, air conditioning, veranda or terrace. Room categories: • Classic room: double room, veranda • Superior Room: double room with a sea view, veranda • Deluxe room: double room with a sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Executive Suite: double room, living room, sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Royal Suite: double room, living room, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace • Presidential Suite: double room, living room, dining room with bar area, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Colonna Pevero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonna Pevero
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing