We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
157
111
42
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
111
42
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool attendant half board private beach golf buggy lovely hotel car hire nouvelle cuisine pine trees bar prices costa smeralda cheapest bottle of wine cleaning ladies pool and surrounding area bottled beer organised trip expensive euros five minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Well maintained and clean hotel with comfortable room and king bed. Rooms are serviced every day with all bedding and towels routinely changed. We had a standard ground floor room next to the tennis court with a private seating area. In our opinion this was a lucky allocation since the room was cool enough each night to avoid the need to use air conditioning.

Breakfast was buffet choices with a good range on offer from cereals, cakes & croissants, fruit, yoghurt through to cooked breakfasts. Help yourself tea and coffee are available but fresh coffee is also served if asked - we weren't aware of that for first couple of days.

Dinner was four course and very Italian but some may find it unusual as each course is stand alone so, for example, if you had beef it would be served alone and without accompanying vegetables. That being said we did feel amply fed each evening after all four courses were finished.

The pool is clean and of a good size with ample sun loungers / shades and free towels, although we spent most of our time on the private beach. That too has loungers, shades and towels on what is a lovely little bay.

Both pool and beach have full time life-guards. The guard at the beach works very hard to keep it very clean and presentable too.

Any downside ? Mainly the isolation of the hotel so anyone visiting may want to hire a car for at least part of their stay unless they seek a very static and relaxing holiday. Porto Cervo is only 15 minutes walk away but via the main road (part avoided via beach and path). Whilst no issue for me, my wife was less confident to 'brave' the local traffic. The hotel runs free shuttles 4 times a day though. Porto Cervo is a purpose created rich folks play town so if you want to see how the top 2% pamper themselves then this is a good place to visit. Coffee in the main square is relatively well priced with lots of people watching available.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fred_5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MktGiovanni G, Direttore at Hotel Le Ginestre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear customers,
Thanks for your review and for giving us 5 stars!, but Le Ginestre hotel is ranked 4 stars and not 5, and this makes us proud of the service offered.
We are pleased that you have still loved the rooms and the service received in general,
I am sorry about the windy time you had during your stay, for that reason you were unable to fully enjoy our garden, in fact during the month of May some days can be very hot in the morning and cold in the evening.
At the restaurant we have been working to improve the catering service and to satisfy the customers with natural and simple flavors. Concerning sauces, are always available oil, salt and vineger for free use to meet the habits of each client.
We are pleased that you have noticed that other customers were happy with our food, we regret not having been informed about your requirements on site, in order to be able to satisfy your expectations immediately.
We are pleased to report that this year the hotel has provided customers a shuttle service 4 times a day to reach the center of Porto Cervo comfortably without using a car.
We thanking for time spent with us and we hope to welcome you again at Le Ginestre in Porto Cervo.
Best regards
Giovanni Greco


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Idyllic location , charming traditional exterior and genuinely helpful staff greet the delighted guests ....Once comfortably lodged in the luxurious bedrooms you can enjoy the stunning sea view from your own cosy balcony ...stroll down to the bar where Toto or Luna will pour your favourite cocktail which you can gently enjoy sitting in the large tropical garden that surrounds the pool .Claudio the lifeguard greets you with his willing smile and towels or you can take the golf buggy down to the secret private beach barely 100metres from Hotel Le Ginestre where Luca welcomes you to astunning jewel of a beach ...In the evening we are treated to a crescendo of gastronomic delghts by the most polite and attentive staff who fluently explain any little details you may like to know about the most beautifully presented yet traditional and locally sourced 4course meal....pure genius fron the young chef Ivan whose inspired cuisine had the guests literally gasping with praise ...Giovanni is the most kind and attentive Manager who expertly shepherds his large team of multi lingual staff and he kindly laid on a frequent shuttle service to the nearby Porto Cervo...always punctual .A truly relaxing and affordable experience l will treasure for ever and one l can genuinely recommend to the discerning !

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FabioMuratori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were disappointed with this hotel, I feel it is not 5 star, although I accept this will depend on the room you have.
HIRE A CAR BEFORE YOU LEAVE UK, UNLESS YOU INTEND TO SIT BY THE POOL ALL DAY, YOU WILL NEED IT.
Positives:
Staff were very polite and helpful.
Room very clean, good sheets and towels, bathroom looks refurbished , shower very good.
Grounds and pool very clean and nice.
All public areas nicely decorated and clean.
Food was nicely presented and of good quality.
Nice private beach.

Room 162 is very dark and we found it cold!!! First time I have been to a Mediterranean country and been cold in the room.(this was specific to this room other guests were complaining about the air conditioning not working and it being too hot!!!)
The outside space for this room was Ok but right by the footpath and only got the sun for an hour first thing in the morning, too cold to sit out in the afternoon. It may be useful at the height of the season when it is very hot.
This room is away from the main building of the hotel and as you turn the corner ,even on calm days was like a wind tunnel.
Main problem was with evening meal.
4 courses, starters/appetisers fine, pasta or soup course Ok.
Main course very poor. We had a 2 inch square cube of pork stuck on an enormous plate, nothing else. This would have fitted on a saucer and looked small. All main was just a piece of meat or fish, occasionally had a smear of sauce and twice we had very small amount of potato/chips- these were both at the end of the week so perhaps will improve for future guests.
This set the scene for most of the week. the first three days the service was appalling , not the fault of the waitresses but organisation , meant that waiting staff had no idea what food had been ordered by which table, took 2 1/2 hours to complete our first meal.
No coffee - you have to go to the bar and order.
Guests were so fed up with service , they made suggestions to improve and it did improve towards the end of the week.
We got very excited when we had a couple of rocket salad leaves with our last main meal. During the week the only vegetables we saw were crunchy vegetables as a starter , which consisted of grated carrot and what I assume was white cabbage, it was so plain , everyone was asking for olive oil, lemon and pepper to try to make appetising.
I have stayed in some very nice hotels over the last 5 years, all in Europe , mostly Mediterranean but this was not of the same standard.
We did not complain about the food, perhaps we should have but older guests seem to be happy.
Position of hotel means you need a car, can walk to Porto Cervo but on a road with no footpath. Porto Cervo very up market , fine if you want to shop at Prada or Cartier, mainly aimed at very rich wealthy people coming in on yachts.

Room Tip: Hire a car before you leave Uk
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The hotel nestles into the side of a hill, on a split level site with some 70 rooms. From the outside the hotel has a rustic feel but inside it is modern and comfortable. We had a superior room, with a balcony overlooking the pool and with sea views. The room was reasonably spacious with a good sized modern shower room. Rooms are cleaned every day and are kept scrupulously clean The pool is of a good size and there is a shallow children's pool adjacent. The pools are surrounded by a split level terrace with sunbeds and parasols. The hotel has a small, private beach (with sunbeds and a lifeguard) some 400m away, accessible through a lightly wooded area. There is also a tennis court.
There is a buffet breakfast with continental and hot options although the coffee was decidedly average and we reverted to tea by day 3. Dinner is served late (8 to 10) and you need to allow at least an hour. There are 4 courses - anti pasta, pasta, main course and pudding all served at table, with generally two choices for each course. The food is very Italian and we enjoyed a great variety of fish, seafood, meat and pasta. Main courses however were small and other than roast potatoes on one day, the only vegetables we saw all week were pureed and were either dotted or smeared on the plate. The presentation was great but most people were desperate for some hardcore vegetables by the end of the week. Service was a bit random but most people were happy to accept it as part of the "charm" of the hotel The extensive wine choices were almost exclusively Sardinian (and rather good) but pricey at 29 euros a bottle and bar prices in the lounge were also on the high side but this location is an expensive part of Sardinia.
The nearest town Porto Cervo is a 25 minute walk away and the route is mainly on the road. Taxis on this 3 minute journey are 20 euros each way! There are no buses but the hotel runs a free minibus service into Porto Cervo 4 times a day. Unless you are happy to spend the week by the pool you really do need a car, not least because there are so many places to visit within a 50k radius, including many lovely beaches.
Staff are great -helpful and friendly. This is a comfortable relaxed hotel which is Italian in style and atmosphere and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markCriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I stayed there for 7 days in 3bed room. Rooms are great, with nice view, comfortable. I guess all of them have little balcony. Beach is very close by and you can go kayaking. Not far away from the shops, maybe 20 minute walk. Very complaisant personnel. Very good cleaning ladies, very good food.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sonjav41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews