We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real disaster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonna Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Rosario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We are very disappointed with this resort.
Not really a five star resort.
1-Our room was in the middle two quarters with babies crying, an error of the person performing the Cheq in
2-We made the reservation and use the credit card as guarantee but the webpage of the hotel debit the total amount when we made the first reservation.
3-The rooms are very normal not five star resort.
4-The breakfast is normaly and full of persons
I am very disapointed......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pleamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort

I'm very sorry to read your negative review on our hotel,
seems to read things related to another hotel,
because is so far from those that usually the others guests, sending to us.

I'd like to have the details of your stay, to better understand,
also I'm very sorry to have your discontent, only now,
because I wanted to have the opportunity to remedy any way, for try to make a better stay for you.

Every days, We strive to improve service and meet more and more, the expectations of our Dear Guest. Thank you, however, for your indications, because we will use these in a constructive mode, to better monitor our services .

Best regards.


Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    145
    79
    29
    27
See reviews for
123
310
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

nice location... really 5star hotel, only bad signal and internet access

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordsvarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I can take this opportunity to send the
thanks for have dedicated your time to write a nice review about your stay at Colonna Resort, and for the compliments that you've turned to our hotel and all the Staff.

I send you a special thanks from all the staff, which has been honored to serve you during your stay with us.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in all sense.

We hope to give you again Welcome to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I would like to send you Best Regards.


Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort , 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I'm French but, as usual for a hotel abroad, I'll write in English.
I just came back from this hotel and, having read TA reviews before, I've got to say: do not believe some people, permanently unsatisifed of nearly everything: this hotel is very nice!
It is built on a large park next to Porto Cervo, in the area of Cala Granu and Capo Faro. It is a large edifice but with several buildings.
The rooms are quite big (we had a large terrace with two sunbeds, a table and two amchairs) and nicely furnished in Sardinian style (a large bed - very comfortable - a wardrobe and a desk, a small chest of drawers and a small table with two chairs) and well equiped (hairdryer, flat TV sat, mini-bar, slippers, bathrobes, magnifying mirror and one of the best-regulate airconditionning I have found). In fact, I have not found any iron (though i thought I had read about one on a website) but it did not bother me. Two little regrets: the bathroom was very small (very different from the website one) with only one washbasin (I had to struggle to put on make-up!) and dark (beautiful lamps but not very useful!) + though the room was always very clean, our bedsheets have not been changed once in a week...And not prepared at night, as done in other 5 stars.
The rest of the place is marvellous and my special award goes to the swimming-pool area...Incredible! I had the chance to go in some great hotels (relais&chateaux, leading hotelsoftheworld) and I had never seen such a pool area! (I'm probably not the only one: all day long, I could see from my sunbed people stopping their cars to take photos of it!). I've got to say that, most of the time, I try to avoid sea-water pools but these ones are fantastic (not rusted, as I read in TA but very clean with everything well tidy around). In fact, the beach is very small and rocky but the pool area largely makes up for it: I'm not a swimming-pool addict during my holidays but, there, I totally forgot about the sea (and the sea-water concept is thus here very witty). The bar next to the reception is also nice and the lobby is refined.
The restaurant, now: I did not try the beach bar (except for nice smoothies), so I can't comment. For the breakfast: great! Cheese, scrambled eggs, juices, fresh fruits, delicatessen, smoked salmon...everything! (that's why I did not have the opportunity to taste lunch!); a little regret: If you want to get it in your room, you have to pay (in many others, you don't). I tried the diner restaurant once: nice with a good choice (of course, for my opinion and taste, it's not as refined as in some French high gastronomy hotel restaurant - without chauvinism - but it's nicely cooked).
The staff is very amiable and helpful and, no doubt, they offer a 5-star service, from the porter to the pool staff (i.e. Abdou) or the waiters and waitresses at the restaurant (i.e. Pedro) or the barman at the swimming-pool, or the reception staff (even if more formal and inhibited for me).
Spa and fitness center: fitness center looks very small (but i'm not sporty at all, so no pb for me); I did not try the spa.
In my week there, the only real bad point was...The noise! Unfortunately, my room was maybe ill-situated (over the reception) or badly soundproofed but i could not sleep before 2 in the morning, most of the time (and with ear-plugs!)...The reception phone was ringing all night long and the two young women next to my room were doing a lot of fuss with high heels clacking, phone ringing and doors slamming all night long...Dreadful. As I don't like complaining, I did not say anything and eventually decided to sleep...At the pool, during the day (far calmer!).
Yet, I may come another time to Colonna Resort (but I'll ask for another room this time!).
N.B: for quality/price rate: my mark is high because I had the chance to find a good deal, otherwise it's, of course, not really affordable in peak season but probably better in september or in june.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isabrit05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I can take this opportunity to send the
thanks for have dedicated your time to write a nice review about your stay at Colonna Resort, and for the compliments that you've turned to our hotel and all the Staff.

I send you a special thanks from all the staff (in particular from Abdou and Pietro), which has been honored to serve you during your stay with us.

I regret reading the not cleaning in the evening, and bedsheets didn't changed.
We change the bedsheets and towels everyday 2 times a day.
Maybe you have forgot the card "not to disturb" on the room-door, sometimes.
And about the noise of the room, I had wanted to change the room for not to suffer the noise and for allow to you to sleep better.
Now we will check this room for this defect of the noise, to avoid the same problem with other guests.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment.

We hope to give you again Welcome to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

Thank you and Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort , 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was the best holiday I have ever been :-)! Beautiful hotel and view, helpful staff, absolutely delicious foods. I will come back to Colonna Beach Resort ! Thank you everything! Aranka & Jozsef

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I can take this opportunity to send the
thanks for have dedicated your time to write a nice review about your stay at Colonna Resort, and for the compliments that you've turned to our hotel and all the Staff.

I send you a special thanks from all the staff, which has been honored to serve you during your stay with us.

We hope to have again as dear guest, to try to give you an even better treatment, in all mode.

We hope to give you again Welcome to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I would like to send you Best Regards.


Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort , 5*****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Hotel has a pleasant pool complex and is reasonably nicely decorated. However, the consistently poor customer service and overpriced food mean that I definitely wouldn't return.

Customer service:

- Really bizarre and unpleasant experience in the indoor pool/ spa complex downstairs. I asked the girl on the spa reception if the indoor pool was open. She then showed me to it and left. Looking for a changing room, I then walked towards a door at the back of the room, and was then quite rudely approached by her and her colleague, who told me I couldn't enter, and that there wasn't one. I then spent about 5 minutes sitting in the indoor pool/ jacuzzi, got cold, and got out and started toweling off. The first receptionist then approached me again and asked to see my 'free card'. I told her that I didn't know what this was, and she told me that to use the indoor pool, sauna, etc, you were expected to pay a supplement of €30. I asked her why she didn't tell me this when I came in - she didn't answer and her colleague sneered at me. The first woman then walked off and came back with a brochure detailing the supplement and treatments available. I told her again that they should have made this clear, and left.

- Witnessed two of the waiting staff at breakfast having an argument and swearing at each other

- Reception staff were generally abrupt, both on check in and in response to questions during stay (e.g re. shuttle bus)

- Used the ironing service before dinner for 2 shirts and 2 small dresses, asked for immediate return, this took well over an hour, no apology from reception staff. If you're wondering why they don't have an iron in the room, this service cost about 30€, so I think that's your answer...

- General standard of English quite poor among hotel staff

Food:

- Evening meal overpriced (around €70 per head for the set menu, more a la carte). Food was largely edible, if bland, but low points included a seafood salad that was 3 limp prawns on a bed of lettuce, and a melted ice-cream.

- Lunch time food in the beach restaurant incredibly overpriced, and service slow/ forgetful even when there were few customers. It took them over 45 minutes to bring my boyfriend a lemon sorbet.

- Breakfast selection was good, table service quite quick for coffees etc.

Location/ Other

- Liked the pool complex - it was quiet and pleasant. Clifftop location means you get a nice breeze

- Private beach is extremely small, and largely made up of wooden decking next to the water - would recommend hiring a car and going further afield

- Ditto for going to Porto Cervo - there is no return shuttle bus in the evening, and they only run approx 3 times per day, so hire a car

- Hotel was unusually quiet for early August, so if you're looking for a buzzing atmosphere, avoid it

In summary, I won't return and I wouldn't recommend it. Ironically, I'd read comments on tripadvisor before I went about customer service, and had put the negative comments down to people not speaking Italian, or having overly high expectations. Trust me - they're justified..

Room Tip: Check not above reception - ours was a couple of floors up, and we could hear the phones ringing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,
as Manager of Colonna Resort ,

I am very sorry to read your negative review to our hotel, so far from those that usually we have, that I think to read things related to another hotel.

I'd like to get the details of your stay, to better understand what might have happened and when,

because:

The prices don't are those charged by us, the misunderstandings, like what you do not have rye and habitual behavior and courtesy of employees and their English normally receive many compliments, as well as kitchen and restaurant, as you can see also on other TripAdvisor reviews.

I'm very Sorry to receive only now this news that you have suffered, because I wanted to have the opportunity to remedy some way.

It seems very strange Your consideration referring to the comments on TripAdvisor, because when you submit the review of this hotel is ranked 1°in Porto Cervo, for the reviews on TripAdvisor, also if it is true that there are also negative, but especially in recent years, the level of customer satisfaction has increased greatly, and we continually look to improve and enhance the services for the guests.

Hoping to give you a warm welcome back to Porto Cervo, and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

Thank you and Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort 5 *****
Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
2.1 km away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.0 km away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.3 km away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
225.6 km away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
23.6 km away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
246.3 km away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Resort

Property: Colonna Resort
Address: Loc. Cala Granu | Via Capo Ferro KM 1.8, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,796 - ₹ 35,036
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first time visitor of COLONNA RESORT, which is about 2 Km from Marina of Porto Cervo, is struck by the orderliness, by the streets, by the villas, the lawns, the rocks, the perfume of the wild vegetation, by the view of the entrance way of the old port of Porto Cervo, that harbors, in the medium and high season, the most beautiful and exclusive boats in the world. THE HOTEL The COLONNA RESORT extends in an area of about 60.000 m², near of the "Cala Granu" beach, in the north of Porto Cervo. The Resort, with sober lines typical of Mediterranean architectural style, it's surrounded by a 50'000 m² park spotted with strawberry trees, myrtle plants and junipers, where the sea, the hills and the surrounding green are the natural frame of this exclusive dwelling, dominated, often, by granite of its confinement walls. Building, sea and nature fuse in perfection, in a unique scenery of rare beauty. THE ROOMS The Resort includes 250 rooms, with numerous deluxe and Suites, almost all of them with balconies or terraces with sea view, luxuriously furnished with every comfort. All the rooms are reachable through various central lifts from a grand hallway situated in the entrance of the Resort. THE RESOURCES 2 restaurants and 2 bars, open spaces for meeting or congress till 650 persons seated, complete the structure. The Resort also offers a Tennis Club with numerous courts and a practice field for Golf, in addition to various boutiques, wellness centre, private garages some of which covered, heliport, a hotel at the beach with the necessary solariums in wood, and coves cut out of the Northern Sardinia rocks. Other services include the choice of different field trips, by boat or with private cars, in addition to the renting of cars, motorbikes and chartering of speed boats. THE SWIMMING POOLS The pools of sea water with solariums, waterfalls, islands and hydro massage corners, are located on different levels and from the rooms reach out to sea, often with extraordinary waterfalls. The solarium and the pool have a surface area of about 8500 m2 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Colonna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing