We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
113
44
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
44
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews molino di friendly place great place to stay watermill fireplace nella toys sandro lucca car towns hosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The Molino di Nelle, when you first see it, it takes you back hundreds of years into the heart of medieval Pistoia. A wonderful, tranquil, beautifully renovated old watermill. With two good (BIG!) bed rooms, two bath rooms and a friendly fireplace. The kitchen is simple, but cosy, and even though we missed a couple of small appliances, we started to appreciate it. The town is around a 20 minute curvy ride away and is a really nice alternative to all the more known touristic towns around, such as Lucca, Pisa and Florence.

The hosts are phenomenal. We were received with the warmest welcome, got the best goodbye with cookies and home-made gifts. Sandro is so friendly and helpful! We had a little hick-up with our car on the road near the molino and even though he was an hour away, he arranged for his parents to stop by with the big jeep (on a Saturday!) and within a few minutes we were on the road again.

I hope to be back with my complete family in the near future. Completely recommended for people who would like to take it easy, enjoy nature, an environment that breathes history and do not care about phone coverage, doing dishes or driving curvy roads!

Some minor improvements for our amazing hosts:
- some good sharp knives in the kitchen for fruit, meat etc.
- Sandro mentioned that he will take care there is more coverage for the phone in the house. That will be good for the feeling you can call someone in case...
- the wood was a bit humid still, so getting the fires started took me a while (luckily I had all the time in the world :-))
- a replacement for the laundry rack that had its best time
- a bit more outdoor activity toys or articles so we could play with the kids: soccer, tennis, etc. when they are not in the river or looking for lizzards.

but these are really minor things that can always be improved.

Grazie mille per tutti!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _marco_vanhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro O, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Agriturismo Barbicaio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Marco!!! Thanks a lot for your kind comment, it has been a pleasure reading it (and many thanks for the suggestions, it's really appreciated!!!) as it has been very nice to make your knowledge together with your sweety mum and very kind daughter. Hope to have all your family at the complete as you say and send you hugs from Tuscany! Sandro and Fam. Orlandini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Good beds, excellent view, up in the hills, independant but in contact with the owner family, nice pool and plenty of outdoor space for BBQ and dining. Enjoyable to see the results from working and "playing with" the wood in all possibile ways.

Convenient and friendly place, where you feel at home immediately.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank svendsenklausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro O, Responsabile reception at Agriturismo Barbicaio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks a lot, that's a really kind opinion as you've been really kind aswell to my and to my parents as you've been here. Warm regards, Sandro and Fam. Orlandini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Since a long time, every year we are looking forward so much to our holiday in the "mulino di nelle" and at the Agriturismo Barbicaio!! It's a travel to one of the most loveliest places! In the middle of a great and quiet nature, nearby Pistoia, the family Orlandini offers you a wonderful possibility to spend absolutely wellness-holidays.
Especially for families, it's a great experience with all those possibilities and the nature and quiet around. The family Orlandini is so heartful and helpful, that you don't feel like a guest but as a friend of the family. The check-in is very heartful and during all the time the family is concerned about the wellfare of all their guests. Within a few minutes you are in the lovely town of Pistoia, and all the other places like Lucca, Fierenze, Pisa, Vinci... are nearby to visit. From the family Orlandini you get a lot of helpful informations about the highlights around, the shoppingplaces, restaurants etc and you also get the possibility to get discount at a lot of places. We were allowed to be guests there a lot of times and it's really our personal highlight. For the family Orlandini we wish, that they will always get back from their guests the warm and heartly handling!
The mill and the appartements itself are wonderful, clean and have a wellbeing atmosphere! One absolute magical moment is to sit outside in a warm summernight with a glas of wine, listening to the silence and watch that million fireflies around in the air.....

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro O, Public Relations Manager at Agriturismo Barbicaio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thanks a lot!! It's SUCH a long time that you're our guests and every year that you come back it's like a feast for us. It's very nice as the kids are already grown up and since yesterday ee've got the GREAT! news that you'll come back here again next June. Thank you very much for everything and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2017!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is our 4th visit to Barbicaio and always happy to see the Orlandini family again. Apartments and facilities are great. Every year I spot some new home made furniture.

La Cascia is our favourite apartment, which is on the family's premised and closest to the swimming pool.

See you next time, Sandro!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Digical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandroorla, Responsabile reception at Agriturismo Barbicaio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Thanks a lot our dear friend! Many greetings to the guys too and hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We've spent a lovely week at Barbicaio. It's quite, peaceful and views from the pool are breathtaking. Our appartment was very clean, rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our girls loved playing with the turtoise and hiding in the wooden cabin. The hosts are ever so helpful and friendly. Great value!Thank you very much for everything!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandroorla, Responsabile reception at Agriturismo Barbicaio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear Barbara, thanks a lot for your kindest words and for your visit!
Hope to see you and your family here again! Sandro & Fam. Orlandini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews