We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Excellent Ski Hotel”
Review of Hotel Hell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hell
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for 8 nights with a group of 8 family and friends. The Hotel has very clean and modern rooms with all the needed comforts, plenty of hooks to hang ski clothes, and comfortable beds with down comforters. The food was perfect for us: a European breakfast with meats, cheeses, breads,cereals, yogurts, and fruit plus eggs cooked to order and then a dinner with 4 choices in each category except dessert which was always delicious panna cotta, Italian style cheese cake, ice cream, etc. We had a lovely special Xmas eve seafood dinner followed by Xmas day of multi-course Italian food with a stuffed Turkey breast.
The hotel has a great spa area for after ski saunas, tubs, and steam room plus a huge pool next door at the community center with an indoor or outdoor pool. The ski room is really convenient and even has heating rods for your ski boots. The hotel owners were really helpful with trail maps and ideas for mountain restaurants plus their staff is fun and cheerful (from all over Europe). We would definitely go here again and even are thinking about a summer trip. Although some reviewers thought the bar was not open, we definitely did lots of bar time around the fire before dinner. Just a great stay overall and we highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We happened to have a room facing the pool which unfortunately also had a snow blower blowing snow a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for a week's skiing holiday with Crystal Holidays. The hotel has pluses and minuses.
Location- on the nursery slopes next to the children's mini club. The nursery slopes are NOT however connected to the main slopes. The Seiser Alm lift is about an uncomfortable 10 minute walk and the Seceda lift a good 20 minute walk. HOWEVER, the hotel offer a free minibus service to the lifts but this does finish at 5pm.
Welcome- the welcome was a little unfriendly and we were made to wait from 1.40pm to 2pm to check into our rooms. The hotel was by no means busy and the rooms were obviously ready but the hotel policy is no check in before 2pm.
Rooms- comfortable rooms with a view over the nursery slopes, a balcony, newly fitted bathroom etc. However the temperature is too hot at night and cannot be adjusted except by leaving the windows and doors open. There is also a notice on the fridge saying that if you use it for your own drinks, they charge 5 Euros per day!!! The wi fi is also expensive.
Food- Breakfast is good. A selection of cereals, some fruit, yoghurts. Bread, cakes, cheese, hams etc. You can order an omelette freshly made.
Dinner choices have to be made in the mornings and there is 4 for each course. Food was not of 4 star quality but acceptable. It got a bit boring by the end of the week and one night we chose to eat in town for a change. The salad buffet is good and cheese as well as dessert is offered. The desserts were not a strong point and icecream is the best alternative.
Boot Room- Excellent. Heated boot racks within the lockers, space to sit down to put gear on.
Bar- Very strange chairs and furniture. Almost no atmosphere and it never seemed to be open for a pre dinner drink. This was not a problem however as it meant that we were able to take a walk into town for a drink in one of the bars.
Staff- generally helpful and friendly. The owner, although not offering a particularly warm welcome did become more friendly as the week went on.
Swimming Pool- next door is a great swimming pool complex and the hotel give you a free ticket!
I do not think we would stay here again, we stayed in a really friendly place in Selva last year- the Ingram!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for a week over Christmas 2013 and were very pleased with this hotel.
To deal with that unusual name first: Hell is a family name which also happens to mean “bright” in German, which is widely spoken here in the South Tirol. It did cause some amusement amongst our friends when we told them where we would be spending Christmas, but we were delighted with the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
In fact we were the first guests of the winter season, but everything was ready for us when we arrived early in the afternoon. Our spacious room on the second floor overlooked the village nursery ski slopes. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom included a corner bath with shower.
Meals were good: breakfast was a typical selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, cold meats and pastries. For the evening meal there was a choice of first and second courses plus a salad buffet, a cheese course and desert. On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day a delicious set menu of six courses was served.
The hotel stands on the river promenade, close to the swimming pool. It is built in the modern chalet style: the public rooms are large and beautifully furnished in typical Tyrolean style. In the basement there is an extensive fitness centre.
A real asset, especially in winter, was the free hotel minibus service to the ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel in the late afternoon, easily arranged with a quick phone call.
The hotel owners and all their staff were friendly and welcoming: we have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Fantastic location for family next the ski school. All the facility's with in walking distance. Car is parked from the day we arrive to the day we leave.
Beautiful restaurants very close, family owned,very clean and comfortable every year we can't wait to come back we love it.
Well done hotel Hell

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gianni1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

very comfortable with beautiful rooms excellent food nice service,fitness room and jacuzi.nice grounds

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabriela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Rodes
Hotel Rodes
#37 of 45 in Ortisei
117 reviews
1.9 km away
Grien
Grien
#13 of 45 in Ortisei
240 reviews
0.5 km away
Alpenhotel Rainell
Alpenhotel Rainell
#23 of 45 in Ortisei
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.6 km away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#19 of 45 in Ortisei
251 reviews
0.7 km away
Chalet Hotel Hartmann - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hell

Address: Promenade 3, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Price Range: ₹ 8,512 - ₹ 19,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hell 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the splendid setting of Val Gardena, the city of Ortisei is home to the cozy 4-star Hotel Hell, your ideal Dolomites vacation hotel all year round. Offering top-quality comforts and services, Hotel Hell is ideally located downtown on the promenade to Piazza Sant’Antonio and between the two ski lifts to the snow-covered Siusi Alps. The blooming summer fields surrounding the hotel serve is the starting point for excursions and walks along the most breathtaking and enchanting itineraries in the Dolomites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing