We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
361
38
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
38
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool cooking class our honeymoon tuscan countryside beautiful grounds four courses wonderful restaurant breakfast and dinner wine tasting olive trees euros per person pasta short drive a wonderful place to stay cakes day trip yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Villa Cicolina is very much a family affair with the owner and his wife on hand for most of the day. The dwelling has a very authentic air and is the antithesis of brash modernity. The furnishings and decor are homely, comfortable and spotless. We were housed in a Junior Suite (Il Balcone) that cost us 222 euros per night for two including breakfast....the views from our balcony over the Orcia Valley were breathtaking.
The Villa is set about a mile outside Montepulciano so you need to have your own means of transport to get around. A simple table d'hote four course dinner is offered at the very reasonable price of 32 euros per person (before wine). If you want to take dinner then you must inform the chef before 4 pm that day. The restaurant mostly caters for residents.
We really liked the Villa particularly for its homely friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This Villa was the highlight of our Tuscan adventure. It oooozes romance!!! It was like visiting a painting from your best Tuscan dream. Every inch of the property is simply gorgeous and authentic. Our room was amazingly well appointed, the pool area was divine, a delicious and romantic dinner on the property - not to mention easily the very best breakfast in our entire trip - the staff were extremely kind and helpful. We simply floated on a cloud of romance, luxury and Tuscan charm the entire stay. Wish we could have stayed longer - it was so hard to leave Cicolina! We vow to return another day to savour the amazing delights this gem of a property offers to all of your senses.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarpeDiem011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed in the il Noce cottage a seperate building to the hotel with 2 bed 2 bathrooms.
It was not ideal for our stay as we requested somewhere with a good size lounge, this was our tour operator (simpsons travel) fault, but the hotel staff did everything to accomadate, including bringing in a settee, which made us snug and comfotable.
The hotel rooms are very nice although the better rooms (Montepulciano) at the top are a hike, as there is no lift.
The breakfasts were excellent (included) and the evening meals (extra cost) were very good value and an interesting 4 courses of which there was no choice. Danielle our waitier always made for amusing and knowledgable information.
The scenery is beautiful from the hotel however I believe there is more to do and see in the Chianti region than southern Tuscany.
Try the Osteria Acquacheta (in Montepulciano) for the best meat in town (booking required) simple but atmospheric with the tables pushed together.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Villa Cicolina at the beginning of May. Absolutely beautiful from the minute you see the villa. We had the Cortona room, and I could not have asked for anything better! The room was very roomy with a beautiful view across the pool. The only thing that we found tricky was the shower, but after a little practice, we got it down. The food at the restaurant was amazing as was the waiter there. He was so friendly and helpful. We spent a day in Montepulciano... great! There are so many places to taste wine and have great food. The people were all very friendly in the town, and there were some incredible views!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed in villa cicolina for a week during the Easter. The villa is in an ideal location just 5 minutes drive from Montepulciano. I cannot understand the problem of some visitors who mention the difficulty to locate it, since there are signs on the road indicating the entrance. Anyway. we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment outside the main building which is a lovely farmhouse with a yard of its own with very nice view. Although the place is just meters from the main road it looks like it is far away. The breakfast was nice, with the best chestnut honey i have ever tasted [5 types of honey] and lovely home made marmelades and jams. Capuccino was nice as everywhere in italy.
The piscine is located in a place with outstanding views over the tuscan countryside and the surrounding trees and nature is marvellous. If you have ever visited santorini and you have swam in a piscine on the caldera at the edge of the cliffs, here it is the same but instead of the see is the tuscan valleys and cliffs...
...and around the villa are the places to visit like pienza, arezzo, cortona, siena and of course san gimignano

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews