We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standout villa in Tuscany - this is what we were looking for”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Just a short review, because others have sung the praises of this wonderful villa. Truly an authentic feel to the villa which has been restored so beautifully and with great attention to details. It really was perfect little spot - with a lovely dining area, a snug little cottage to relax in, and a stunning pool area, complete with olive trees that were hundreds of years old. We stayed in several villas throughout Tuscany, many of which were of the same price range, but the service, experience and amazing finishes and quality made Villa Cicolina stand out head and shoulders above the rest - would recommend it unreservedly

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Villa Cicolina is very much a family affair with the owner and his wife on hand for most of the day. The dwelling has a very authentic air and is the antithesis of brash modernity. The furnishings and decor are homely, comfortable and spotless. We were housed in a Junior Suite (Il Balcone) that cost us 222 euros per night for two including breakfast....the views from our balcony over the Orcia Valley were breathtaking.
The Villa is set about a mile outside Montepulciano so you need to have your own means of transport to get around. A simple table d'hote four course dinner is offered at the very reasonable price of 32 euros per person (before wine). If you want to take dinner then you must inform the chef before 4 pm that day. The restaurant mostly caters for residents.
We really liked the Villa particularly for its homely friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This Villa was the highlight of our Tuscan adventure. It oooozes romance!!! It was like visiting a painting from your best Tuscan dream. Every inch of the property is simply gorgeous and authentic. Our room was amazingly well appointed, the pool area was divine, a delicious and romantic dinner on the property - not to mention easily the very best breakfast in our entire trip - the staff were extremely kind and helpful. We simply floated on a cloud of romance, luxury and Tuscan charm the entire stay. Wish we could have stayed longer - it was so hard to leave Cicolina! We vow to return another day to savour the amazing delights this gem of a property offers to all of your senses.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarpeDiem011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed in the il Noce cottage a seperate building to the hotel with 2 bed 2 bathrooms.
It was not ideal for our stay as we requested somewhere with a good size lounge, this was our tour operator (simpsons travel) fault, but the hotel staff did everything to accomadate, including bringing in a settee, which made us snug and comfotable.
The hotel rooms are very nice although the better rooms (Montepulciano) at the top are a hike, as there is no lift.
The breakfasts were excellent (included) and the evening meals (extra cost) were very good value and an interesting 4 courses of which there was no choice. Danielle our waitier always made for amusing and knowledgable information.
The scenery is beautiful from the hotel however I believe there is more to do and see in the Chianti region than southern Tuscany.
Try the Osteria Acquacheta (in Montepulciano) for the best meat in town (booking required) simple but atmospheric with the tables pushed together.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Villa Cicolina at the beginning of May. Absolutely beautiful from the minute you see the villa. We had the Cortona room, and I could not have asked for anything better! The room was very roomy with a beautiful view across the pool. The only thing that we found tricky was the shower, but after a little practice, we got it down. The food at the restaurant was amazing as was the waiter there. He was so friendly and helpful. We spent a day in Montepulciano... great! There are so many places to taste wine and have great food. The people were all very friendly in the town, and there were some incredible views!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
4.6 km away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
2.1 km away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
291 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
485 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
804 reviews
2.7 km away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#10 of 28 in Montepulciano
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: ₹ 11,630 - ₹ 21,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing