We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning setting”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montepulciano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeborahD4...
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing and... bugs.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Firstly, I have to say, that the Borgo is in a beautiful setting, with lovely views. We chose this apartment, though we were only two, because of the lovely balcony. It is also off the beaten path and yet close to Montepulciano. However, we were quite disappointed when we arrived. The apartment is spacious and appears to be clean, but there were bugs in the kitchen; lots of bugs. Also the amenities were very basic, with limited additions. Everything there was basic and cheaply appointed. The wifi was also substandard. All in all, a disappointment. The caretakers were very nice, but didn't offer any solution to the bug problem. When we contacted the agency after leaving, they just gave us form answers of regret and said that we should have contacted them on site to rectify the situation. Unfortunately none of that was suggested at the time. We left early, forfeiting some of our costs (I cannot live with bugs!). A very commercial operation, with limited charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bugs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Hello Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. This is very important for us to improve our services and those of the owners of the properties that we represent.

We are glad to hear that you liked the place and the setting of the apartments and we couldn't be more surprised to receive a complaint for this property as we have had many satisfied clients there as you can see from the reviews other guests posted. Most important I would like to remark that everyone was more than happy about the cleanliness of the apartments.

We obviously checked what happened with Vanessa (the caretaker) and she told us that you informed her about these bugs which she said they were the green bugs which are common especially in this period of the year and easily enter inside the houses in the countryside locations but these are not dangerous for the man and are not due to a lack of cleanliness. The type of bug is called Palomena Prasina Common Green Shieldbug ( http://www.britishbugs.org.uk/heteroptera/Pentatomidae/palomena_prasina.html).

Vanessa also told us that the day you left (two days earlier than scheduled) there were extras to pay as per the contract and you paid everything without comments while if I were you and if I felt I wasn't completely satisfied with something I wouldn't have paid and would have called the agency which you never did.

We were informed about the issue only when we received an email from you upon your return with the refund request.

You informed Vanessa about a problem and as you are saying now that you left because of that it is obvious that Vanessa wasn't able to sort out the problem. Therefore you should have called us and we would have been there in a few minutes as our office is just 10 minutes away and in the voucher you have an emergency number which is our mobile personal telephone number. This way we could have verified the problem and decide with you how to fix it.

The options were to move to another apartment in the same property as there were others available, or we could have found another property same or higher level or if in the unlikely case that these options wouldn't suit your needs we would have come to an agreement about the refund.

You never gave us the possibility to help you with the green bugs issue as apparently you considered it so essential that it forced you to leave earlier.

When in your comment here you say that we were only able to say that we were sorry it is because you only informed us upon your return when it was too late to help you and there was nothing that we could do. We don't feel responsible for your choice to leave because, as we told you, there were several options to be considered if you had given us the opportunity to do something at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terryg517
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The property was as or better than described. Very comfortable and clean. Everything we needed for the time we stayed there. It was a very nice location to be able to take day trips to Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Orvieto on the way back to Rome. Such great views from Apt #2. We even saw deer in the evening and morning running through the fields below. Montepulciano is very close and you can be there in a matter of a few minutes to shop at the Conard or enjoy shopping and meals. We were able to stay 5 days and 4 nights in this lovely place. Once we found it. I am glad we got to the location during the day and not at night. You just really have to believe the directions and keep going. The signs are a bit small and I am glad everyone was looking for them. There are a lot of rules on lists provided to follow regarding trash, cleaning, linens, etc. We didn't see much of the caretakers as they had other jobs/work, a new baby, etc. But they were very pleasant and helpful if we needed anything. This is definitely a place we would go back to again. Please go eat at the 13 Gobbi in Montefollonico about 5-6 miles away on a hill top to the north. You will love it. And have their house wine, great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great views from apt 2
Liked least: wi-fi was a little speratic, had to go ask for toilet paper and trash liners
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay! We are really happy to hear you had a nice time there. We hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing