We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Cicolina(Montepulciano)
US$ 221
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agriturismo Cognanello(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Terrazza di Montepulciano(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel I Due Cigni(Sant'Albino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 96
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Ambra(Sant'Albino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Poggiano(Montepulciano)
US$ 291
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere Le Manzinaie(Montepulciano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montorio(Montepulciano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Ardene(Montepulciano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
73
48
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
48
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin strollfarm houseolive treesantonellachickenssupermarketapartmenttownhoststuscany
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2014

This Agriturismo was a dream place for us! We do not drive, so it is a bit hard for us to travel around Italy. But Fontecastello is just 10 minutes walk from the center, and 5 minutes walk from the bus terminal. It is easy to catch a bus from Chusi-cantiano terme train station to the bus terminal and it takes about 45 minutes. (The view from the bus is also very nice!) But still, the Agriturismo is surrounded by beautiful nature and the view from our apartment was unforgettable. The apartment we stayed, La Scala, was huge, enough sunny and very comfortable. It has nice kitchen. Wifi is sometimes unstable, but fine enough for our work. And the host family is also great. We really appreciate Marina and her husband, who organized bicycle rental tour for us and we had very good time. (And for our exhausted bodies after cycling, they prepared a jacuzzi bath for us!) Do not forget to see stars at night. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koala-san-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thanks a lot for your comment
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here
Each guest is for us special and we try to do all our best to fulfill its wishes
I hope to see you again and we wait for you at Fontecastello
Marina and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Antonella and her family are gracious hosts.The room was incredible and the location is the best! We had an incredible relaxing time here! The town of Montepulciano is a wonderful place and is a great place to explore to the Tuscan countryside. Great food and shopping in the town! I will return here again to explore the wonderful Tuscan towns and history! Thanks for a great experience! Ciao!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbhuff44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Ciao and Thanks a lot for your beautiful review
We are very glad that you liked your stay here and enjoyed your trip in Tuscany
We hope to see you again and we wait for you at Fonntecastello
Warm regards
Marina and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

If you looking for relaxing,quiet,panoramic stay this is the place to stay.Only 2 miles from the Montepulciano center ,in a countryside road .The place is beautiful ,the owner Antonella is so helpful and so warm,she welcome us like we were family,and that is the way we feel .The house have 3 more little cottages each one with kitchen bathroom and bedroom.We love our night there so sad we could not spend another night there .Montepulciano, town is beautiful ,we really like to come back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosanamuscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thanks for your beautiful comment
We are very glad that you spent a nice time at our property Fontecastello
We hope to see you again we waitfor you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Booked 4 nights in Rome and the 4 Nights at Fontecastello in Montepulciano.

We hired a car from Rome airport and the drive was fairly easy and took just over 2 hours, we did cross a toll road on this route at a cost of €10.10 each way

On arrival we were met by Antoinella who presented us with a beautiful bungalow/maisonette type accommodation, we were over the moon - it was rustic, gorgeous and had everything which was needed for a wonderful stay.

We were even given a complimentary bottle of red wine from their vineyards.

To get to the old town or the shops nearby you do have to walk along a gravel dirt track, which takes approximately 5-8mins to reach the road, which is a hill up to the local supermarket or the old town. Be aware this is not lit at night and is completely pitch black, we however used torches on our phones and felt utterly safe even with our 1 year old in the buggy.

It took us around 20 mins to reach the walls of the old town (with a buggy) the lift wasn't working our entire stay so we walked up the hills which were steep, but the sights ans views made it all worthwhile and it felt good to get the heart pumping!

We used the pool which was chilly but certainly not cold, our daughter splashed around happily with us in the pool.

Eating out prices varied, there were some family style dining restaurants with courses from €3-4 and others were around €16-20 per course, wine was wonderful and very reasonable.

There is a lovely cafe bar on the Grande Piazza, its nice to sit and watch the world go by - be aware a beer will cost €6 here.

It took us approx 35 mins to reach Grande Piazza square from Fontecastello - its a very uphill walk but certainly worth it, we did it every single day.

The supermarket near Fontecastello stock everything needed, we tended to buy lots of salad, mozarella, fresh pasta and ham and eat at the apartment, then just have a meal out in the evening.

The owners were wonderful, although didn't speak English always waved, smiled and tried to make conversation especially with our daughter.

As mentioned in a previous review, Ticks the dog was around, he never came anywhere near us - he is very old and just slept most of the time - he never bothered anyone.

We would without a doubt return here, and probably stay longer next time so we can take in Sienna and more of the surrounding areas.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam20181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Many thanks for your beautiful comment!!!
We are very glad that you a had a nice experience in Tuscany and at our property
We hope to see you again in the future and we wait for you and all your family at Fontecastello
Thanks also for you positive note about our dog Ticks… unfortunately he died two weeks ago … he was very old!!!
A warm regards Antonella and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at the end of April for 2 nights. Had a lovely 1 bedroom apartment, ground floor with a big covered patio. Owner is friendly and helpful, good restaurant recommendations. Our unit had all the conveniences we required, the grounds were very well maintained. Location is great, close to town and the local Co-op store is on the way home for getting groceries. The wine of the casa was very good, purchased a couple bottles for our trip. It is a great base for touring the surrounding countryside. Highly recommend Fontecastello.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OgreYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your good opinion about our accomodation ... we hope to see you again at Fontecastello
A warm regard Fontecastello'family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews