We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
74
48
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
48
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min stroll farm house olive trees antonella chickens supermarket apartment town hosts tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2014

If you looking for relaxing,quiet,panoramic stay this is the place to stay.Only 2 miles from the Montepulciano center ,in a countryside road .The place is beautiful ,the owner Antonella is so helpful and so warm,she welcome us like we were family,and that is the way we feel .The house have 3 more little cottages each one with kitchen bathroom and bedroom.We love our night there so sad we could not spend another night there .Montepulciano, town is beautiful ,we really like to come back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosanamuscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thanks for your beautiful comment
We are very glad that you spent a nice time at our property Fontecastello
We hope to see you again we waitfor you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Booked 4 nights in Rome and the 4 Nights at Fontecastello in Montepulciano.

We hired a car from Rome airport and the drive was fairly easy and took just over 2 hours, we did cross a toll road on this route at a cost of €10.10 each way

On arrival we were met by Antoinella who presented us with a beautiful bungalow/maisonette type accommodation, we were over the moon - it was rustic, gorgeous and had everything which was needed for a wonderful stay.

We were even given a complimentary bottle of red wine from their vineyards.

To get to the old town or the shops nearby you do have to walk along a gravel dirt track, which takes approximately 5-8mins to reach the road, which is a hill up to the local supermarket or the old town. Be aware this is not lit at night and is completely pitch black, we however used torches on our phones and felt utterly safe even with our 1 year old in the buggy.

It took us around 20 mins to reach the walls of the old town (with a buggy) the lift wasn't working our entire stay so we walked up the hills which were steep, but the sights ans views made it all worthwhile and it felt good to get the heart pumping!

We used the pool which was chilly but certainly not cold, our daughter splashed around happily with us in the pool.

Eating out prices varied, there were some family style dining restaurants with courses from €3-4 and others were around €16-20 per course, wine was wonderful and very reasonable.

There is a lovely cafe bar on the Grande Piazza, its nice to sit and watch the world go by - be aware a beer will cost €6 here.

It took us approx 35 mins to reach Grande Piazza square from Fontecastello - its a very uphill walk but certainly worth it, we did it every single day.

The supermarket near Fontecastello stock everything needed, we tended to buy lots of salad, mozarella, fresh pasta and ham and eat at the apartment, then just have a meal out in the evening.

The owners were wonderful, although didn't speak English always waved, smiled and tried to make conversation especially with our daughter.

As mentioned in a previous review, Ticks the dog was around, he never came anywhere near us - he is very old and just slept most of the time - he never bothered anyone.

We would without a doubt return here, and probably stay longer next time so we can take in Sienna and more of the surrounding areas.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam20181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Many thanks for your beautiful comment!!!
We are very glad that you a had a nice experience in Tuscany and at our property
We hope to see you again in the future and we wait for you and all your family at Fontecastello
Thanks also for you positive note about our dog Ticks… unfortunately he died two weeks ago … he was very old!!!
A warm regards Antonella and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at the end of April for 2 nights. Had a lovely 1 bedroom apartment, ground floor with a big covered patio. Owner is friendly and helpful, good restaurant recommendations. Our unit had all the conveniences we required, the grounds were very well maintained. Location is great, close to town and the local Co-op store is on the way home for getting groceries. The wine of the casa was very good, purchased a couple bottles for our trip. It is a great base for touring the surrounding countryside. Highly recommend Fontecastello.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OgreYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your good opinion about our accomodation ... we hope to see you again at Fontecastello
A warm regard Fontecastello'family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first Agriturismo and it won’t be our last. The room was large and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the wine is delish make sure you get a bottle or 2 or 3. Sadly we were only there for one night as I made this a over for a trip back to Milan. If I were to do it again I would have made this a 3 day lay over to really get the feel of the farm and to get to know the owners better.

Room Tip: We had the option of any room and they offered us a very large room but we took the smaller one. In hindsite i should have good for the larger room for the fireplace.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haygar2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your review, we are very glad to had met you at Fontecastello. We wait for you next time for a longer stay!!!! A warm regard Fontecastello' family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for a week at Agriturismo Fontecastello with 3 children (7, 10, 11). Our chief complaint is the owner has a small dog that bites. One would think that if you operate a guesthouse and have a dog that bites, which you let roam freely, you would warn your guests to not approach the dog! It is completely unbelievable, but neither the mother nor daughter who run the agriturismo gave us any warning whatsoever about the dog, despite seeing that we have three young children!!! One of our children was bitten. When I reported the incident to the mother/owner & inquired about the dog's vaccinations (yes, it drew blood), she was rude and irritated with ME! Only later did she even ask if my child was alright.
Also, we chose this agriturismo because it said it was a 10 minute walk directly into town. That may be so, but that 10 minute walk is straight up - serious climbing and not for children, or anyone, on a hot day. We drove into town.
Outside of the misleading information on "an easy walk to Montepulciano" and the biting dog, our apartment was nice. The climate was perfect during our visit, so we did not require heating or cooling. It is impossible to give an "adequate" rating to a place that takes money from guests to stay, yet puts their children at risk of injury from a biting dog, with no warning. Ridiculous.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank WorldTravelerSara512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontecastello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Fontecastello, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello
We thanks a lot for your opinion about the apartment but we are really sorry to read your so hard words about your stay when speaking together you told me that everything was wonderful. We are sorry that you did not like your stay here but even say that our agritourism is not suitable for children is exaggerated and offensive. Fortunately we work with families with children of all ages during all the year and nobody has been bitten or involved in accidents.
We are very sorry about the little inconvenience with our dog but I want to specify to all the people who will read this review that we are speaking of a very small dog “a Juck Russel of 8 kg” as you can see in the photos above who has never bitten or harmed anybody, he is only very old and he doesn’t like to be stroked.
My mother was not offensive or irritate with you, she doesn’t speak English and she just verified that everything was ok and that the dog had not injured your daughter. When I came back at home I came to you and we spoke together, you told me “if you remember” that nothing was happen, it was just a little scratch and that was your daughter who went to the dog and not the contrary. I showed you all the vaccinations of the dog because he has all the vaccinations he is for us as a child … what I have to do to kill him because has become old? I don’t think that when someone becomes old has to be suppressed! Than the next day when you came back from the restaurant you delivered him a bone …. I considered that everything was passed! Why read this on internet instead of directly?
I had preferred your honesty to solve together the problem and not a so bad comment.
About the distance from the town centre we said the truth it is about 8-10 minutes maximum on foot (400 meters of land road to the elevator going to the centre) we are not in the mountains with a serious climbing and we are not to the sea where everything is flat, Montepulciano is an hilly town and the centre is up … so to go to the centre you have to do an uphill road and to come back you have to go down.
Best regards
Agriturismo Fontecastello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews