We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
36
41
46
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
41
46
26
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The hotel does not deserve four stars but three are okay. It is located in a silent side-road and has a pool. Food is okay, service is friendly. Rooms are small, beds are narrow, mattresses let you feel their spirals, doors are hard to close. There is a small balcony, bathroom is narrow and towels are excellent. Overall we felt well anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ortnekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Just returned from a week trip in Tuscany. Accomodation was in Montecatini Terme at hotel Royal Palace ( good location), predominant for groups I suppose, quoted with 4* in Italy Really it's a 3 - 3.5*.

Hotel is close enough ( walking 7 min) from the train station, train is the best way to visit Florence and the othe rinteresting small towns like Pistoia and Prato

Rooms: decent space, clean and tidy, most of them having balcony ( except 5th floor) but the furniture is dated ( matress and pillows awful)

Bath: clean but very small, no toiletries

We had half board and the food was tasty ( dinner) but repetitive ( breakfast, same things every morning)

Staff: friendly and supportive and pleasant ambiance

Recommend this hotel for a visiting trip in Tuscany

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danatel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Hotel clean ,tidy , nice staff ,except for one women who was in charge of dinning room ,like a Sargent major , evening meal not good at all .smash instead of real mash, dry veg ,salads OK ,deserts need up grading ,couldn't eat one of the dessert because it was too dry. Breakfast fine ,good choice .

Stayed: March 2017
Thank feb62017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davide B, Direttore at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Customer, Thank you for your comments, your suggestions will be very useful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The hotel is very clean but the choice of colours leaves an awful lot to be desired.
The swimming pool looks as if it would benefit from a good clean let alone a refurbishment.
Breakfasts are the very basic continental style and there is no toaster.
The evening meals in the restaurant, with tbe exception of the soup, are almost inedible, but, there are several nearby reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

we stayed here for 4 nights in october 2016 ,
for what we paid we didnt expect the Ritz but this is a 2 star hotel at best, I have no idea where the 4 star rating comes from
the plus sides were:-
the room was clean and towels changed regularly
we had a balcony
beds were comfortable
there is a lounge and bar area
it is very well located

the down sides:-
could only get wifi in the lounge, nothing at all in the room
the food was absolutely awful! although we had breakfast and 2 evening meals included we didnt bother with the evening meal and ate out after day one
there we 31 people in our group and 28 of us were ill with sickness and diarrhoea but I am NOT saying it was this hotel, could have been something else

this is not the sort of hotel I would normally stay in and there are several other 4 star hotels in the town that really are 4 star., dont get me wrong, I know I did not pay a 4 star price but the hotel should not advertise itself as 4 star when it is clearly not. The post box red paint with pink walls is unsettling, it would not take too much to make the rooms look reasonable in more pastel shades

If you want a basic, reasonably priced hotel that is clean and well located then this is fine if you eat out, so to sum up it is acceptable for the price paid, clean, well located but I advise eating out

Room Tip: try to get a balcony room
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davide B, Direttore at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Customer,

as the routine procedure we do not answer to negative reviews in order that our replies are not seen as an attempt to justify ourself, or as a lack of consideration towards the customer's judgements.
The opinions You expressed about the restaurant are the opposite to the many ones expressed favorably in other previous reviews, while Your aesthetic judgements are fully respected from us even if we do not share.
We are forced to write this to be precise about the number of people who had health disorders into Your group. Although they seem less to us, it is not the number of them that matters, but rather the fact that You can attribute the responsability to our hotel.
In the last weeks in all Italy, and expecially in Tuscany, there was a bug flu outbreak as it always happen in this period of the year. This time the virus's features are the duration of 2 days and a huge stomach ache with all the consequencies of that. Infact many italians are sick in this period and our medics are administering vaccines as our country's health procedure provides us. People who travel in group like You and spent more hours togheter ( in the same bus or into the same restaurant room), and go to other crowded places ( like the Museums of Florence or restaurants in which have food/drink tasting), are for these reasons more exposed to the contagion.
During the days you have had breakfasts and dinner with us, more than one hundred people have had right the same dishes you had every evening, since they are the same ones on the menu for groups. If something would have been imputed to our restaurant, not the 20% or 30% of the people in it would have had problems but the 90% for obvious reasons. And it luckily didn't happened.
Furthermore, for precise willingness of our hotel Direction, all the staff eat the same dishes and it must have the same menu which will be served to reserved customers that same day. In this way (even if the quality of our staff doesn't require such measures) the hotel is capable to prevent to the origin whatever possible distraction or improper practice in the processing of the food served, because that would surely twist the kitchen staff itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews