We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
307
111
33
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
307
111
33
9
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Grand Hotel Molveno and it did not disappoint!
Molveno is the most beautiful place we have ever been.. Stunning views at every turn and plenty to see and do in nearby areas.
On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who shared local information and the things we needed to know with regards to meals etc at the hotel. We were a little disappointed we couldn't eat there on our arrival at lunchtime but Molveno village is a short 10-15 minute walk along the lake with local eateries. Be aware if you visit out of season as we did that many shops close between 12-4pm!
Rooms have recenctly been refurbished giving them a clean and spacious look. We had a beautiful lake view from our room which was stunning. Our bathroom was a little dated but this didn't effect its purpose.
The breakfast was a good continental breakfast, all self service and pleasant. Evening meals were pre chosen from a different menu each day - we enjoyed our meals but are not fussy eaters at all. All meals were traditional Italian meals which we found interesting, particularly the Sunday set menu meal.
All in all we had a fabulous stay and we would like to thank Alessandro and the team for their kind hospitality and hard work. Mr and Mrs Johnson x

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ljohnson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I stayed in this stunning and hotel in May half term with my 9 year old son and was absolutely delighted with every aspect of the stay. We had travelled to Molveno to take part in the yearly cycling event around the lake on electric mountain bikes, which was incredible fun. The Grand Hotel Molveno is situated in an idyllic, peaceful setting right on the lake's shore and is perfect for walkers and nature lovers. The views are absolutely to die for everywhere you look and easily surpass Como and Garda. We had breakfast on the hotel's terrace each morning with an utterly breathtaking mountain backdrop and we swam in the stunning pool, again with the same views. There is also easy access into the crystal clear lake waters from the steps by the pool which was a welcome surprise we hadn't expected. The hotel service was impeccable and food superb throughout our stay. I loved the contemporary furnishings throughout the hotel albeit still with a genuine homely family run feel. We stayed in a sumptous large room at the rear of the hotel with an enormous comfy bed, huge bathroom and walk in dressing room. It was perfect for us and surpassed any other 3 star hotel in Italy I have stayed in. My son loved Molveno so much that he said he'd like to live there one day! I will be returning and hope to spend more time relaxing on the naturally fine shell beach around the lake and dipping my toes into the clearest of waters! He wishes to come back in the winter and take the cable car up again into the mountains but for skiing this time! Thank you sincerely to the Grand Hotel for welcoming us so warmly and for making our stay really special. We will be back.

Room tip: Lake if possible but rear rooms (as ours) was excellent
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trip702184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This traditional lakeside hotel is beautifully situated above the lake and enjoys spectacular views. For summer visitors there is a small sheltered beach with day beds and the pool is great for kids. The owners had taken trouble to re-invest and renew, yet somehow the hotel seemed to us strangely lacking in comfort out-of-doors.

Molveno and nearby Andalo are extremely busy resorts both summer and winter, catering strongly for children and families (and parking is as difficult as around the large lakes). Many guests return year on year so you should be aware that as people book all the best rooms a year in advance, you may not get what you expect. Of course, most hotels have rooms which they find very difficult to sell and only utilise in peak season.

Accordingly, though our booking bore a request for a lake-view it was made as late as March for an August break, so our room in a dark corner up under the roof at the rear, had instead spectacular views of the carpark and garages. The opposing walls amplified the sound so the peace was constantly broken by heated discussions on the bar terrace below and out of control children running in screaming circuits around the cars late into the night - but mainly by merry guests arriving and leaving late, the sliding doors of the delivery vans in the early hours and the shouts of the 6.00am dog walkers breaking up dog-fights (for, as these bedrooms have no a/c, open windows are a necessity in summer). Although we requested a change of room, it was explained that the lake-side rooms were already taken by local and returning guests.

The busy restaurant's bright acoustic was reminiscent of a motorway services after a coachload had arrived - although the food wasn't quite up to motorway standards; more like the canteen of a school in special measures. As it only operates for one hour in the evening, the queue can tend to descend on the buffet at 7.30pm like the first day of the sales and frequently by the time those used to more relaxed meals gained access, only the less popular remains were to be had - but in fairness, as the manager pointed out, "It is only 3 star hotel".

The important thing which (if you are English) you may not be told is that you order tomorrow's food at the end of each meal: the menu on the table is tomorrow's, not today's. The exception is the 'Special Saturday Meal' which is more of a set meal. Here the main course (following a starter of boiled barley with stuffing balls) was Osso bucco a traditional Milanese dish - but in this case a giant slice of hard bone with bits of gristle attached around the outside and a stuffing ball (see photo). The table next to us sent theirs back. We should have done so but I believe we were suffering from shock.

You should also note that because of the tight time slot, 7.30pm to 8.30pm, you may well have small children on either side of you, complaining about the food throughout the meal with ear piercing shrieks. However, the head waiter is both efficient and attentive and the manageress is friendly and obliging. They did their very best given the poor resources. The restaurant is perhaps best suited for large family groups - be they boisterous hill walkers or mountain bikers, but if you want a relaxed, palatable meal, we recommend eating in the nearby towns where the food seemed generally good.

On the plus side, the car park is free (often not the case in the smarter lakeside hotels around Garda, Como and Maggiore). Some of the staff were friendly. The rooms seem clean, recently decorated and the en-suite was perfectly adequate with a good shower. The WiFi (which like many these days is terribly overloaded, so painfully slow) is also free. Breakfast on the lakeside terrace is very pleasant and is adequate for a three-star hotel. It is a very child friendly hotel and many of the guests brought dogs.

Nevertheless, although we had paid for 7 nights, half board, we felt we simply had to leave early and purchased superb rooms in a wonderful hotel near Lake Iseo, called 'I Due Roccoli'.

Room tip: Book at least a year in advance (and preferably out of peak season)
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmolveno, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Molveno, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Mr Michael S.

We were so disappointed to read your review and feel sorry that your experience was different to all our other guests, many whom you mention, have been returning to us for successive years. You stayed with us at our utmost busiest time of the year which is, ‘Ferragosto', an Italian national holiday and for this reason there were extra 'smaller guests' staying with us enjoying family time.

Regarding your room, you were aware on booking that you had booked a standard room and there was no guarantee of a lake room. We understood you were disappointed with your room so made sure you had a beautiful lake view table in our dining room. As you pointed out, our dining room has one long sitting. The restaurant as mentioned was particularly busy in those days but we take pride in the fact that it is normally an entirely relaxing experience for our guests accompanied by the most breathtaking of lake views. The 'Osso Bucco’ dish you mentioned is a traditional Italian specialitiy comprising a cross-cut veal shank and thus often has a higher proportion of bone to meat. It is very slowly cooked so the meat falls off the bone. It is accompanied by braised vegetables and normally delights our guests. We are sorry that it wasn’t to your liking. We receive a multitude of compliments from our guests regarding their dining experience at the Grand Hotel Molveno so are naturally disappointed to read your comments.
In any case, as a suggestion, you mentioned few times that you have travelled the world and in many occasion you have been staying in 5 stars hotel. It has to be clear that we are a 3 star hotel. From your words it is easy to understand a little bit of frustration, part of it due to the room without a lake view, part of it becasue you were disappointed about rented car and about the long travel to get here. You can understand that it wasn't our fall about this 2 issues.
Last thing a little suggestion: at the check out it was not possible to speak diretly to you because you went away without walking through the reception. I spoke with you wife and sayed to her that I was sorry you didn'thave the holiday you were hoping for....she didn't answear anything. I would have liked to hear directly from you about this problems, not only reading such a discrediting and unlikely review.

The Grand Hotel Molveno is a family run hotel and we take immense pride in our historically excellent ratings on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We arrived late to a warm welcome from Alessandro the owner of this family run hotel. It was dark when we went to our room so we were totally unprepared for the breathtaking view in the morning of Lake Molveno and the mountains right outside the window. The hotel is light and airy and spacious, our room was lovely and the food superb. And the staff are all super-friendly.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I have just returned from a week here and what a fabulous time we have had.
The hotel is out of the main town but near enough to walk which we did every day. The views are stunning as you face the mountain range that surrounds the lake. The hotel has rooms which face the lake and some which face the car park. We had a lake view. There is a terrace overlooking the lake and weather permitting breakfast can be taken on the terrace.
The hotel is lovely and clean everywhere and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We stayed half board and the food was very good by and large. The breakfast was standard continental with but there was plenty of choice with pastries, rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, bread, cereal, tea, coffee juice. There were also a few choices of hot food including bacon, egg, sausage and beans or tomato.
The evening meal was usually three courses picked the day before from a choice of three dishes each course. All were lovely and varied. Service was efficient and friendly. Drinks can be ordered at the table and unused wine or water is kept for the following day.
The room was spotlessly clean and whilst nothing out of the ordinary had a very comfortable bed, wardrobe and drawers and very handy mini fridge. As with most European hotels there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room so take your own if, like me you enjoy a cuppa.
The pool was another bonus the hotel offered. It was always tranquil and there were plenty of beds and chairs. The pool could be a bit chilly on a cooler day but was fine in the sun.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews