We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home, with sun!”
other travellers have booked this property
The new heated pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The new heated pool.
Gite - ground floor light airy bedroom, extra-large double bed, south facing window gets all the sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The new heated pool.
Gite - ground floor light airy bedroom, extra-large double bed, south facing window gets all the sun
Gite - twin-bedded room, full of character, but watch out for the beams!
The gite, La Petite Maison, the back door and patio.(Automatic lighting over door and pathways.)
Sitting room area with outlook onto orchard
Gite - kitchen. Halogen hob, low-level oven, dishwasher, coffee machine, microwave, washing machine.
Relax in comfort while the kids play electronic darts or mini football etc
Under- cover table-tennis, table football, electronic darts and seating.
A bit of everything!
The fenced play area, trampoline, 2 sets of swings, sandpit, etc
Bottle feeding the baby goats, please help us in the spring, then training them to walk on a lead!
This is 'Silvery', a bantam Peking Frizzle hen, one of our favourites, always ready for a
The 'English' entry in the  Carelles village fete 2013 (always first Sunday in July, a fun
October Pumpkin festival- about 10 mins away in Les Jardins de Renaudie.
Looking from La Grande Salle Verte (on Left) towards Carelles village church.
Fougeres Chateau- about 25 mins away. (and a Land train, market and Aquatis pool.)
The giant elephant at Nantes - a great day out! See our blog at lagrandesalleverte.com
Gorron park- treetop walks and canoeing and low-level rope-walks.
Gorron park- about 15 mins away, treetop walks and canoeing and low-level rope-walks.
Pretty Ambrieres les Vallees- about 30 mins away.
Mediaeval town of Domfront- about 45 mins away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carelles, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Familyman...
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home, with sun!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

John, Angela and Selina made fantastic hosts making us feel very welcome. The gite had a lovely cottage feel and was a great base to explore the region. We arrived quite late but found a welcome hamper of essentials waiting for us which was shortly followed by a generous nightcap with our hosts. The gite was well equipped with lots of extras such as outdoor games, a pool and ... Not forgetting a corkscrew. John and Angela were always on hand to offer advice and guidance. Selena runs a well stocked shop of local produce. Our daughter enjoyed feeding the hens and goats. A great week and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Please do come back again, there are lots of places still to see!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth a visit, excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and i stayed here for a week but would like to have stayed longer. Our hosts Angela and John made our stay a pleasure to be in France, they welcomed us into their home as if we were part of their family. The cottage was very well equipped with everything we would ever need with extra special touches bottle of wine and a welcome pack with the necessary items needed for your arrival. Fresh eggs every day and the fact you can purchase homemade lunch or evening meals and puds to die for leaves you with no way of loosing weight, thank you very much for an enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
What lovely comments, thank you! It was a pleasure to meet you, and to hear about the big carp you caught in the nearby lake. Very pleased you enjoyed the 'apple betty' and peach meringue too. A shame you couldn't stay long enough to try the rhubarb and almond sponge! Perhaps next year?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY NO MATTER WHAT TIME OF YEAR”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our first Christmas away from home in over forty years! This is our second visit to the gite at La Grande Salle Vert. As on our previous visit it did not disappoint, the accommodation was as warm as the welcome with our every need looked after. As I am disabled the finding venues that can accommodate my needs can be difficult, this gite ticked all the boxes. We did an excursion visiting a number of villages at night to see the lights, this I managed without difficulty. Each village offering a theme in lights and the chance to purchase cups of hot spiced cider at 50 cents a cup! The Truman’s did all they could to ensure it would be a visit to repeat. La Grande Salle Vert never disappoints, is good value and is worth a visit at any time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Ferry crossing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments! It was lovely to see you again, and we are pleased you enjoyed the visits to the 'Illuminated villages'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeandau...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for families with young children and for the disabled”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Warm, welcoming, helpful hosts. Welcome package, plus a few glasses of wine on arrival. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable bedroom, and spacious shower/wet room. There is a well equipped playground for young children, including a large trampoline (good exercise routine for adults too!). There is a field adjacent with hens, ducks, goats, and rabbits. Children (my wife at 64 being one of them) would love feeding them, and watching their antics.The gite is specifically designed to be disabled friendly. Restaurants in the area provide good food at very reasonable prices, some including wine and the local cider.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility combined with helpful hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, do come back and see us again, (and not just because of the lovely wines you left as a present, thank you)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally P
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely welcome and surprise welcome pack. The gite was well equipped with everything that we needed and more. The bathroom was exceptionally modern and kitchen had absoloutely everything that we needed. Our two children loved their bedroom upstairs.
What shone out for us was the excellent facilities for our children. They have absolutely everything to keep the children entertained from excellent playground facilities to scooters, bikes, table tennis and so much more. The children were never bored and spent all the time when we were at the gite playing.
We felt so welcome and Angela made sure the boys had a chance to meet the animals and even walk the Goats!
Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We were so pleased to meet you, and that you had such a good time. We loved introducing the children to the animals, they were so enchanted to walk the goats, stroke the rabbits and hunt for eggs! Please come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing